We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place we stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn South Reno

Quality Inn South Reno
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn South Reno to your Saves list
Quality Inn South Reno
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1885 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Reno
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only place we stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We travel to Reno once or twice a year to visit family and discovered this place several years ago. While it's not luxurious, it is clean, comfortable and very close to shopping, casinos, freeways and just about any restaurant you can imagine. We always get the second floor king bed room which is very roomy with a large outdoor balcony, refridgerator, table & chairs as well as a recliner chair. Our room just had brand new carpeting put in and it looks like they're still working on it in other areas. The swimming pool here is great, heated (in season) and 3 - 10 feet deep. There are many trees and flowers on the property especially in the courtyard area which makes you forget that your right in the middle of central Reno! The complimentary buffet style breakfast is in the onsite restaurant and is I think a step up from most small hotels - sausage, hard boiled eggs, bagels, waffles, yogurt, juice etc. My only disappointment this trip was that the family of cats who had lived outdoors on the property for years and were very guest friendly had been removed by new management. Sorry to see them go.

Room Tip: We prefer the upstairs king bedded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    19
    11
    15
See reviews for
17
31
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our second stay at this motel. It is an older motel, but the room was clean and we spent a quiet night. It cost $71.18 for a non-smoking, queen bed. They served an average breakfast, but the room had no table or chairs for eating. We set at a table outside the door. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barneveld, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is an older property but very well kept up and very clean. The room we had was on the second floor and we had a nice balcony that overlooked the pool. Breakfast was included some hot items as well as pasterys and cold cerial.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I found this inn on-line and booked it. Got there about 10 pm. Check-in was easy. The room was decent for the price. The WIFI was relatively fast.

However:

The A/C didn't work but I was too tired to change rooms. Since the fan was functioning it kept the room at a just tolerable temperature. There was a cigarette burn in the one of the bedspreads about the size of a quarter. The screen to the outdoor terrace kept sliding off its track and had to be re-set each time it was opened.

I told the person at the front desk about the A/C at checkout. He told me the system was old and needed to be replaced. Not really the response one would expect. This inn has potential but the staff need to be more responsive to the operational condition of the basic items mentioned above.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Overall my experience was very good. When I checked in the people at the desk were nice, my room was clean, larger than I thought it would be and only cost $85 in season with tax. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Friendly staff, rooms were OK but the whole place was very dated. The courtyard and swimming pool area was a mess. The breakfast was OK.
I had a very cool shower. That was the "straw that broke the camels back" for me.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and no noise from anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel off and on for the past 30 years. It is nice old hotel that is centrally located. The rooms are large with lots of room to move around. It is always very quiet and its in a nice setting. The hotel is getting a little old and worn and perhaps they will renovate it sometime. The rooms can be a little stuffy and some of them have that old smell.
However, I think its a good value for your money place and I will continue to stay there when I need a room away from the downtown area.

Room Tip: I like a top room witha balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
1.8 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#20 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 66 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
1.6 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#9 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn South Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn South Reno

Address: 1885 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn South Reno 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn South Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn South Reno Hotel Reno
Quality Inn Reno
Reno Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn South Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.