We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD EATS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GOOD EATS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was drawn to the Top Deck restaurant because of the huge sign I saw from the street advertising what appeared to be some incredible values of 3 different beef main dishes for breakfast , lunch or dinner. I settled in for the prime rib & fries. My wife/ Japanese was not so excited by the 3 choice, but ordered an Asia/ won ton soup. It was more than she expected in portion size & flavor. She really liked it. Mine was a B minus & also would like to try one of the other specials. We also found the waiter very friendly and he also commented he often ate the soup we we ordered it. Other items on the menu looked worth a try considering the good items we enjoyed.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    35
    9
    23
See reviews for
21
48
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
2,091 reviews 2,091 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 422 cities Reviews in 422 cities
1,219 helpful votes 1,219 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Cal Neva has several restaurants with inexpensive eats. It has a steak and pasta, house; a top deck restaurant, bars and on the casino floor Casino Grill. It has a lively pool table and beer pong area. The casino floor has slots and table games. There are low minimums on table games.

For a casino, it feels a bit "rough around the edges" but has a following. It is in the downtown Reno area, across the street from Harrahs, so its easy to stop by and see it.

Staff is very nice here.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We were happy to get a reservation the night of New Years Eve. We expected to pay more then regular rates due to the holiday. The location is fabulous, you were right in the heart of town across from Harrahs and a block away from other casinos. The casino is outdated and smoky but does have low minimums on tables which I enjoyed. The room was outdated, we even had an old big boxed TV, The bedspread needed to be updated and we only got 2 pillows (housekeeping did bring me up 2 more). The bed was surprisingly comfy. We did not have working heat in our room, the vents blew out cold air so we froze during the night. The elevator was right outside our door and sounded like a loud drill every time it ran. We complained about that because it was LOUD. The front desk said they would shut that one down after 10pm because it is waiting for repair (which is why its so loud). We paid allot for the room (&170) which was expected due to it being New Years eve but if we were forced to stay here again, compared to the other casinos, I wouldn't pay more then $35-$40 to stay here as far as value goes.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Hotel rooms were clean and staff was friendly. Be advised, there is no room service and you will have to leave the building and cross the street for food. Food there, however is cheap and good, best price in town as a matter of fact. Drinks are super cheap but the casino is thick with smoke. Beware of the elevator it is scary slow. All in all we slept well, got out exercise walking and saved money on the room and the food. Oh parking is free too.

Room Tip: don't get a room by the elevator is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We were staying across the street at Harrah's, but the dining specials beckoned us. Had spaghetti and meatballs, Thanksgiving dinner, all for bargain prices. The Thanksgiving dinner was only $8.00, include turkey,stuffing, roll, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, gravy, pumpkin pie. I'm staying there next time in Reno. They have free wifi in the rooms. Harrah's charges from $13.00 to $22.00 a day,depending on speed. Slots are loose. Felt like retro Reno or Vegas, take care of the customer, don't grind them with fees and high price casino fare food. I'm a downtown Reno or Glitter Gulch Vegas low-roller. Cal-Neva's the place to be

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I did not stay in the hotel. I had a room down the street however the hotel did not have a restaurant with a dinner menu so I was forced to find one outside. I was craving Prime Rib and the outside signs pulled me in to have prime rib here. It wasn't the greatest but it was good for the price.

I did feel a little unsafe inside the casino so I decided not to stick around

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

ate there a few times the 5.99 specials are really good
its just as good or better then the popular casinos and the
waiter/waitress are very good too
if your in reno check out cal neva daily specials
its just across from harrahs

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.