We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Save Saved
You added Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 65 hotels in Reno
Truckee, California
1 review
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

WOW, I am really impressed with the service they provide. The Hotel service was great, the atmosphere was awesome, and the food was great. I would reccomend this place to anyone who loves penny machines and good times. It's in a great location down town right by the river and street festivals. Definately the best bang for your buck!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    30
    8
    23
See reviews for
18
44
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cal Neva is by far the best deal in Reno. The hotel rates are reasonable, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is the most friendly that I have encountered anywhere. The casino also have great value, with liberal slot machines, $3 blackjack, $4.95 Steak and Fries, and staff that will go out of their way to help. This is a must play location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Neva is everything I expected! A great place to gamble, eat (best bang for your buck in Reno is the Top Deck Rest. and the hidden gem is the Steak and Pasta Shoppe), drink, sing (yes they have karaoke),stay, bet sports, weekend beer pong tournaments, anything you could ask...Yes the Neva is a older property but if you looking for value and fun, the Neva cant be matched! if you head tor Reno you gotta stop by the Neva, guaranteed great time!! GO NEVA..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really don't care what anyone else says. This place rocked!

First of all, the hotel was reasonably priced. The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. John - presumably the hotel manager - was very helpful and accessible all weekend long.

The casino though was the best reason for staying here. $1 beers and $3 blackjack? I think I was at the blackjack table for about 6 hours while my wife pounded the penny slots. She finally had to drag me out of there at 3 a.m. because she was hungry.

The Top Deck Restaurant has great deals when you're trying to soak up all the $1 beers at 3 a.m. They have a value menu that has $5.99 Prime Rib and Fries and a $3.99 Night Owl menu that you can't beat. But I recommend the prime rib. Just as good as anywhere else and costs about 2/3 less.

You can usually find great deals anywhere you go, but rarely do you find a place that has great value and the kind of excellent service you find at the Cal Neva. From the hotel to the casino to the restaurants, a lot of the staff remembered our names and were always friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this place to any of my friends. By staying here, we were able to get the most out of trip and won't soon forget it. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great price, clean rooms. In the heart of Downtown Reno. Food in Casino was VALUE $5.99 Prime Rib. $3 Blackjack and lots and lots of Penny machines. Dealers were awesome. John in Hotel was very helpful and Valet was quick. Great stay and 100% Value. Also Free WIFI.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looks shady....yes. Interesting characters in the casino....yes. A bit run down....absolutely. Yet this place was the hidden gem in the Reno area. Right across the street from Harrahs, this casino has the best beer price in town! $1 gets you a tall boy budlight. Thats right a $1! The slots are pretty loose too. I didn't win big, but I didn't go home broke. I would recommend for a good time if you like a whole in the wall hangout!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Take a 50s hotel, throw in a ton of smoke and dirt, mix in the worst of the worst that Reno has to offer and you have Cal Neva. This place is so nasty and the service is lacking. Restrooms are in terrible shape. There is no possible way that these guys pass any inspection. Stay as far away as possible.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
Restaurant, Bud...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#24 of 65 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
8.2 mi away
Boomtown Hotel & Casino
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.