We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot in this big little city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Save Saved
You added Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 65 hotels in Reno
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great little spot in this big little city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Found this place purely by chance after checking out of Circus Circus and searching for somewhere cheap to grab a bite to eat before we headed out for the day. We found it to be a little treasure nestled amongst the bigger behemoths of this cool little city.

The staff here were all in my experience extremely friendly and helpful. We started off our morning with a ridiculously cheap and very substantial meal at the Top Deck Restaurant. For a mere five dollars we both ate very well. I had a Spanish Omelet, which came with hash brown and toast. The Omelette was very good and they didn't skimp on the ingredients (it was packed full of peppers, beans and many other nice things). My boyfriend has the Steak & Eggs and was likewise impressed. He doubts he'll even find a similar quality steak for the same price. We also enjoyed being able to play Keno with our meal (the Keno person comes around to your table asking if you'd like to have a punt). Furthermore our waitress was lovely.

We then headed to the pokies (otherwise known as slots) to try out luck. I asked one of the floor staff where the ATM's were and he took me there himself, chatting all the way. Very friendly staff are to be found here in my experience. Also luck abounds (though, in that, I cannot promise you'll find the same).

While gambling we also partook of the amazing yard stick margaritas (at only $4.99 a pop and $3.99 for refills). They were strong, tasty and (after having indulged in the exact same thing in Vegas for four times the price) an absolute steal. Furthermore both bartenders we encountered were super friendly and up for a chat.

Overall a nice casino with a laidback feel and bargains aplenty. A great way to spend a day in this gambler's paradise without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    30
    8
    23
See reviews for
18
44
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa CA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

One of the beds in our room had a slope to it along with a sunken area. The curtains had a couple of tears. We were told they're getting to things as afforded. Our room was comped both nights soooooo...... Staff is friendly. Casino is really one of our favorite places to play for that very reason. Big breakfasts that one wouldn't dare eat everyday, but are sure a treat a couple of mornings. Still recommend.

Room Tip: We always ask to be away from the elevator so we won't hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you want a perfect atmosphere, play a little keno, super fast service, and have a big breakfast for a super cheap price, go here. We stayed at Harrah's but came over here every more for the breakfast. Food was great!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you're a late sleeper beware. The roof is being renovated. We were sleeping in and the noise sounded like construction work was taking place next door. When I complained about everyone in the room not being able to sleep they offered us a room on another floor. They said we would have to leave the hotel if we wanted a full refund. They also made clear the work would not stop while guests were sleeping. They offered a lower floor but addmitted that the noise would be heard there too. At the end the best we got was a 20% refund.

Room Tip: if you must stay get a first floor room. Don't stay unless you're comfortable with earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have spent thousands of dollars all over Reno. Cal-Neva has the best slots around. I win almost every time I stay there. The rooms are cheap and affordable. I can spend my money in the casino and not on the room. Its not the fanciest place in downtown Reno but it sure knows how to treat a customer. I never feel felt out when I stay here. The casino staff know me by name. The Cal-Neva is the place to play!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stopped out of interest to game here and were shocked at the "casino". It was truly pitiful with the entire facility not well maintained, incredibly limited number of slots, tables, etc. Would not recommend this casino to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmar, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is dated but the low cost of everything from the room rates, to the restaurant prices, to the low limit table games makes up for it. I've paid a lot more for a room and gotten the same thing or worse. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable and we didn't hear any noise from the surrounding rooms. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food at the restaurants was good and very inexpensive. The gambling is fun here. All of the dealers were super friendly and it was never hard to find a spot at any of the tables. They are beyond generous with the complimentary cocktails. If you're looking for an inexpensive way to get away to Reno, this is a great option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.