We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal if you're looking for budget accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Hilmar, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A good deal if you're looking for budget accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is dated but the low cost of everything from the room rates, to the restaurant prices, to the low limit table games makes up for it. I've paid a lot more for a room and gotten the same thing or worse. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable and we didn't hear any noise from the surrounding rooms. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food at the restaurants was good and very inexpensive. The gambling is fun here. All of the dealers were super friendly and it was never hard to find a spot at any of the tables. They are beyond generous with the complimentary cocktails. If you're looking for an inexpensive way to get away to Reno, this is a great option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    37
    9
    24
See reviews for
22
48
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Casino is more run down than others, did not stay in hotel, don't think I ever would, but we did have good luck in the casino on the slots and especially the roulette table! Dealers were very laid back and friendly, and drink service was plenty!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I used to play a lot at this casino a few years back, the slots were loose, blackjack is $3 a hand and there were great food/drink deals/atmosphere in the sportsbook.
Well, the only thing going for this place now is the $3 blackjack, this place badly needs a renovation, it attracts a lot of deadbeats, in the sportsbook, i overheard a conversation between a couple of bettors comparing the hardest stretch in prison they had.
Anyway, the reason for this review is I booked a night at the hotel which is opposite the casino itself on the other side of the street,not that you would know that and I had to ask some a casino dealer.
The rate was very cheap so you shouldnt expect much but I will never go back again. What would have been nice even with a cheap rate would be some sort of comps to use in the casino or a continental breakfast, no.
My room was on the 15th floor and the room itself was adequate, clean, all the facilities worked, the TV was a big box and there was no menu for additional features.
Later that night my "Adventure" here started.
I got into the rickety old elevator to get to the 15th floor and It was making some creaking, odd noises and then stopped suddenly on the 7th floor. This was an old machine, there was no safety certificate on display and so at half past midnight, I was stuck in there.
To give credit to the hotel staff, they were very helpful, I was able to call down to the lobby and they tried to reset the elevator and then called the elevator company to get someone out to fix this. And a very nice security guard called Les came up to the floor I was on and chit-chatted with me until the elevator company man came.
After about an hour, I was freed from my 12 by 6 "cell" and just wanted to go to sleep but the guy next door had his TV on full volume. The guy would not open his door with security pounding on it, around 30 mins later, they barged their way in and i heard the guy say he was sleeping thru all of this.
Maybe I was a bit unlucky with these couple of incidents but I would only stay here as a last resort, there are much better low budget alternatives in the downtown area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I spent the night on the 15th floor of the Cal Neva Hotel in Reno. For $35 it was fine, clean, quiet, comfortable. I couldn't access the internet in my room or the lobby which was frustrating. The shuttle doesn't run to the airport any earlier the 8am, so be mindful of that. The front desk was friendly and the hot bath pleasant.
The hotel is across th

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson Island, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Reno as a whole seems to be so interested in making money now that they don`t update or even properly maintain their assets. Room felt dirty, mattress and furniture was beyond gently used into "yardsale" level. Paneling on ceiling to patch who knows what. Overall sad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was at the Cal-Neva for some slot play. Had to go to the only working ATM like machine. Used my card then went to the cashier for the 50. bucks. After all the paper work she said she needed my fingerprint. For real!! I told her that I had never been asked for fingerprints in my life (except for my Passport) and said no. She told me that the transaction had already gone through and this was for "my protection." Well the fee was $4.50, and there was never any mention or sign of being finger printed. I gave my print....but was real pissed. Got bothered by some pan handlers, no security people on the floor. Real bad experience, never going back....Used to be one of my favorite places...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cws253@live.com
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was my first stay at the Cal-Neva after many stays in Reno. I will look at staying here next time. The staff was friendly and helpful. My room was clean and quiet. But, don't be in a hurry because the elevators are the slowest. The shuttle service to the airport was something that I didn't think was available, but it was. If possible, eat at the Cal-Neva Top Deck restaurant when it opens up at 6:30 in the morning. After walking from the hotel, you will have flashed back to the Reno and Vegas of the 70's when casinos and restaurants were both fun and interesting. This stay reminded me why Reno is the best gambling city versus Vegas which has lost its identity by replacing casinos with personalities with mega buildings that all have the same sterile lack of atmosphere. Stayed and ate here, took in the shows and ate at the other casinos, watched the Aces play. Made for a great stay and Cal-Neva was my home base while we were here. Thanks

Room Tip: As you get higher up the view gets even better. The mountains in the morning and the lights of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.1 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#23 of 66 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#9 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#14 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.