We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD, BEST VALUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Save Saved
You added Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino to your Saves list
38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Special Free Meal
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Reno
1 review
“GREAT FOOD, BEST VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The day that I visited, the restaurant was very busy. The kitchen staff easily handled the rush. The menu has a great variety of dishes and a ton of great values. This is the best overall place for great food at terrific value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    32
    8
    23
See reviews for
21
45
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Five of us went to Reno to attend a family wedding so we had a few days to explore the area and decided to eat at the Cal-Neva Pasta Steakhouse Restaurant. It was a really good decision. The menu offered an excellent choice with the prices in the budget range and the quality and service of the food at the four-star level. Our server Alicia knew the menu and was great with her attention to detail. Super experience!!

Room Tip: we had no experience with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been to Reno before but for whatever reason just never happened upon the Cal Neva casino. My wife and I were out for a walk and decided to try Cal Neva for breakfast, it was amazing, the food, service and value were great. We made sure we ate there the rest of our vacation. We had fun in there casino as well! Arvid

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I come here almost every weekend and I always get the $4.99 Steak and Eggs. It's phenomenal and the service is the best I've received out of all the casinos in Reno. I strongly recommend the Top Deck Restaurant for any great meal and great service for THE best price in Reno. I will continue to eat here and it is a great way to cap off a night of going out on the weekends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

EAT HERE! If you don't go to enjoy the table games the big verity of slots or the great sports book you must go check out the the great food DEALS. We enjoyed the steak & eggs in a nice clean enviroment the service was quick,friendly and helpfull. we played keno while we ate. We stayed here 7 years ago when we first started dating we go back often for the great food options and remember great times,

Room Tip: I like staying in a corner sweet so i can see the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Was my first time in Reno...had a great time Cal-Neva is the place to stay...all the staff was very friendly and helpful...the food is great...the bed was soo comfy like sleeping on a cloud....would drfenitely go back and would reccommend to my friends and family...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We did not feel safe even in the casino during the day let alone after dark. Many undesireables approached us begging inside the casino. They were also drinking from the left over cocktail glasses and beer bottles that had been left sitting around. Also witnessed them picking up left over cigarette butts out of the ashtrays at the slot machines. Needless to say, my husband and myself have not been back downtown for at least 5 Years. If you want a nice place to stay and enjoy yourself without having to look over your shoulder constantly, I would reccomend the Atlantis or the Peppermill

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.