We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak and Pasta House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Save Saved
You added Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 65 hotels in Reno
San Ramon, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Steak and Pasta House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Recently my wife and I were in Reno and we decided to try Cal Neva's Steak and Pasta House restaurant for the second time. Our first visit was surprisingly good. I'm happy to report that the second visit was just as good. The food was excellent for the price. We started off with a mix green salad that was fresh and good. We each had a different entree and they were both tasty. We complimented our meal with the house Chianti, which was above average. The portions were big enough that we didn't have room for dessert. Next time! To top it off the service was friendly and professional. All in all it was a good experience and a good valve for the money. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    30
    8
    23
See reviews for
18
44
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I travel from Placerville, CA to Reno 5, 6 or 7 times a year. The prices and food at the Top Deck Restaurant can't be beat. BUT, the Steak and Pasta House is splendid. We do eat there often. On Thanksgiving, a few weeks ago, we were in downtown Reno looking for a good Thanksgiving dinner. The other casino's had lines of people lined up to pay $30 or more each for their buffets. Probably over a half hour or more in line, we kept walkin'. The Cal Neva had a Thanksgiving dinner for under $10 each. Turkey or Ham. Including drinks AND desert! The food was great, the service was very friendly, and the food was plentiful. All we could comfortably eat. Unlike a buffet--they bought the food and drinks to us. We were VERY happy with our dining experience at the Club Cal Neva!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We've recently made several trips to the Reno area and the best meal at the best price can easily be found at Cal Neva!! They have attentive and friendly staff with good food, 24 hour Keno and a comfortable atmosphere. We most heartily encourage you to give it a try!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I drove up to Reno from Los Banos, CA. It was my 50th birthday. We ate at the Steak and Pasta house in the casino. The customer service through our waitress and the acting supervisor was above and beyond. The food was delicious too. This restaurant is very reasonable, many restaurants will charge more for what is on the menu. It's a good find. If your in the area I suggest taking the time to check it out. The Club Cal Neva has been around for many years. I hope it stays around for many more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We recently spent one night in Reno since being there decades ago. Sad to see that Reno has not re-invented itself as Las Vegas so successfully done. Still some fun there and the gambling is good. We found $3 craps for the night and plenty of older slots no longer seen in LV.

We stayed at this property and found it more of a Motel type operation than a Hotel. Reception, Parking and house-keeping staff were friendy and helpfull, The Hotel is run-down and in need of serious upgrading. We both awakend with plugged noses and scratchy throats, we suspected the HVAC system is also poorly maintained. Only one of two elevators was in service and the one working was also not it good operation.

The room had a coffe maker and small refridgerator and at only $54 USD was an inexpensive night stay.

We only stayed the one night

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to be quieter. As I recall there was about 15 floors (+-).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I have been traveling to Reno for many years and have always enjoyed the Sportsbook area for "a dog and brew", but the Steak and Pasta House has really continued to shine. It first opened as a Pasta House and was an immediate hit with good food, reasonably priced and a wonderful house wine, served by people who took pride in their work. The ship I served in during VietNam had two mini-reunions in Reno and both times the Pasta House hosted a dinner for over 30 people with the food and service being excellent. Now as a Steak and Pasta House, my wife and I continue to enjoy excellent food and service and special thanks to Cathy for her attention to detail, trained staff and efforts of the cooks in preparing eye appealing dishes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We go to reno several times a year and always try to find new restaurants to try. The Cal Neva had a hidden Gem called Copper Ledge. Great meal, great service for a reasonable price. The last time we went we couldn't find it but found out they moved it to the Steak and Pasta. We were thrilled. My husband's favorite is the fetticine with Lobster. I always get the filet mignon. We have never had a bad meal there.

We also love the chili cheese fries and the breakfast sandwiches at the Casino Grill. Awesome!

Heather & Greg F

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.