We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reno of OLD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Reno of OLD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We recently spent one night in Reno since being there decades ago. Sad to see that Reno has not re-invented itself as Las Vegas so successfully done. Still some fun there and the gambling is good. We found $3 craps for the night and plenty of older slots no longer seen in LV.

We stayed at this property and found it more of a Motel type operation than a Hotel. Reception, Parking and house-keeping staff were friendy and helpfull, The Hotel is run-down and in need of serious upgrading. We both awakend with plugged noses and scratchy throats, we suspected the HVAC system is also poorly maintained. Only one of two elevators was in service and the one working was also not it good operation.

The room had a coffe maker and small refridgerator and at only $54 USD was an inexpensive night stay.

We only stayed the one night

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to be quieter. As I recall there was about 15 floors (+-).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    34
    36
    9
    23
See reviews for
21
48
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colfax, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I have been traveling to Reno for many years and have always enjoyed the Sportsbook area for "a dog and brew", but the Steak and Pasta House has really continued to shine. It first opened as a Pasta House and was an immediate hit with good food, reasonably priced and a wonderful house wine, served by people who took pride in their work. The ship I served in during VietNam had two mini-reunions in Reno and both times the Pasta House hosted a dinner for over 30 people with the food and service being excellent. Now as a Steak and Pasta House, my wife and I continue to enjoy excellent food and service and special thanks to Cathy for her attention to detail, trained staff and efforts of the cooks in preparing eye appealing dishes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We go to reno several times a year and always try to find new restaurants to try. The Cal Neva had a hidden Gem called Copper Ledge. Great meal, great service for a reasonable price. The last time we went we couldn't find it but found out they moved it to the Steak and Pasta. We were thrilled. My husband's favorite is the fetticine with Lobster. I always get the filet mignon. We have never had a bad meal there.

We also love the chili cheese fries and the breakfast sandwiches at the Casino Grill. Awesome!

Heather & Greg F

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were gambling at one of our favorite casinos, Cal Neva, and were getting hungry.
We pulled our winnings and ourselves away from the tables and tried the "Top Deck Restaurant" on the 2nd floor. We didn't expect much from a restaurant that sells $5.99 prime rib dinner specials! Arriving at the restaurant the hostess was friendly and seated us promptly.
The waiter was not just an "order taker" and was very nice and seems to care about the
customer and his job. Very professional, and we felt we were in a 5 star restaurant!
The food arrived and we were also surprised how tasty the prime rib was. It matched the service.
We will visit the Top Deck Restaurant again on our next trip to Reno.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My friend and I drove up to Reno from San Francisco. We spent the night at the Club Cal Neva. Saturday night, Ocotober 27th we ate at the Steak and Pasta house in the casino. The customer service through our waitress and the acting supervisor was above and beyond. The food was delicious too. This restaurant is very reasonable, many restaurants will charge more for what is on the menu. It's a good find. If your in the area I suggest taking the time to check it out. The Club Cal Neva has been around for many years. I hope it stays around for many more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped by with my family for memorial day weekend and the dinner prices were what pulled us in. But after dining we felt it was a place we would come back to and we did! Two more times in that stay alone!! Great service and great food! we even went back two weeks later with more family and had a great experience again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I found the slots to be loose compared to other casinos. The Steak and Eggs Special (upstairs) was a real deal! The waitress and staff were very friendly and competent service. The downtown location and garage are very handy.
I did not stay in a room here.

Room Tip: I understand rooms on the higher floors offer exceptional views of Reno and the surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.