We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Restaurant Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Save Saved
You added Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino to your Saves list
38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Special Free Meal
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Restaurant Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We go to reno several times a year and always try to find new restaurants to try. The Cal Neva had a hidden Gem called Copper Ledge. Great meal, great service for a reasonable price. The last time we went we couldn't find it but found out they moved it to the Steak and Pasta. We were thrilled. My husband's favorite is the fetticine with Lobster. I always get the filet mignon. We have never had a bad meal there.

We also love the chili cheese fries and the breakfast sandwiches at the Casino Grill. Awesome!

Heather & Greg F

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    32
    8
    23
See reviews for
21
45
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were gambling at one of our favorite casinos, Cal Neva, and were getting hungry.
We pulled our winnings and ourselves away from the tables and tried the "Top Deck Restaurant" on the 2nd floor. We didn't expect much from a restaurant that sells $5.99 prime rib dinner specials! Arriving at the restaurant the hostess was friendly and seated us promptly.
The waiter was not just an "order taker" and was very nice and seems to care about the
customer and his job. Very professional, and we felt we were in a 5 star restaurant!
The food arrived and we were also surprised how tasty the prime rib was. It matched the service.
We will visit the Top Deck Restaurant again on our next trip to Reno.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My friend and I drove up to Reno from San Francisco. We spent the night at the Club Cal Neva. Saturday night, Ocotober 27th we ate at the Steak and Pasta house in the casino. The customer service through our waitress and the acting supervisor was above and beyond. The food was delicious too. This restaurant is very reasonable, many restaurants will charge more for what is on the menu. It's a good find. If your in the area I suggest taking the time to check it out. The Club Cal Neva has been around for many years. I hope it stays around for many more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped by with my family for memorial day weekend and the dinner prices were what pulled us in. But after dining we felt it was a place we would come back to and we did! Two more times in that stay alone!! Great service and great food! we even went back two weeks later with more family and had a great experience again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I found the slots to be loose compared to other casinos. The Steak and Eggs Special (upstairs) was a real deal! The waitress and staff were very friendly and competent service. The downtown location and garage are very handy.
I did not stay in a room here.

Room Tip: I understand rooms on the higher floors offer exceptional views of Reno and the surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Sorry for my last review I had some spelling errors I ment to say nats instead of bats. Mentioning that when I stayed I believe they were under construction in some parts of the hotel. At least after the construction is complete I believe some of the hotels amentties will be improved. When I was talking about how there restaurant wasn't all that great and then the Hyatt regency Lake Tahoe restaurant well, there food was Afordable and tasted amazing. You can go and eat wherever you want this was just my preference. I hope this review helps you out during your stay in Lake Tahoe!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stopped here for a night on our coast-to-coast road trip. It was extremely reasonably priced. All we wanted was a clean room with air conditioning. This hotel definitely met this requirement. The elevator was the slowest I've ever experienced, but the room was very clean and on the 16th floor we had some great views. The staff at the hotel were friendly and courteous. The hotel itself was fine. One caution: do NOT eat at the Topdeck Restaurant in the casino. The meal was apalling. I had prime rib, my husband had fish and chips - these should be taken off the menu. There was nothing redeeming about our meals at all. The meal was cheap, but we've eaten meals at the same price at a much higher standard in other places. I wish we'd eaten off site, and should we ever return that's exactly what we'll do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E. Second Street, Reno, NV 89505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.