We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic menu, misses the mark.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bowl

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bowl
148 West Street, Reno, NV 89501
775-327-4443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 804 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lake Tahoe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Eclectic menu, misses the mark.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ive been here twice. The food is interesting, but thats not always good. $14 for ONE quail on a bed of bland spinach isnt my idea of dinner. The decor makes you feel like you're in a shed with some artwork and the service has been inefficient in both cases. Its like an overpriced quick service place masquerading as a sit down restaurant.

The quality of food was good and fresh, and that was about it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Is this a restaurant?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hippies took over and Bowl is the answer to what is a restaurant. I usually don't stand in line to order my food- but here you do. Should I tip myself? Slow, slower, slowest. Ecelectic means it has no sense of continuity in style. The food is pedestrian, good -not great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Don't Let My Rating Deter You.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It's funky and eclectic. This is not your 5 star restaurant. The just serve good food and serve it in bowls. The menu is chalk drawn on a blackboard or you can get one typed on plain blue paper. No frills. I love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good. Will return soon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Met with my wife's cousin for dinner. Great meal. Great service. Relaxed atmosphere.

We had the falafel with a kale salad, jerk chicken with beans & rice, and duck confit on polenta. All were good, and nothing was left. The falafel was tasty, and the kale salad had shaved fennel and a nice vinaigrette. The jerk chicken was spicy, but moist and tender. The duck confit was also moist and tender.

My only drawback to dinner was the duck dish. The thigh portion of the leg was probably not completely submerged in the oil when cooked, because a small portion of the thigh was dried out and tough. The polenta, while tasty and a good complement to the duck leg, was lumpy. That was surprising, and disappointing. All in all, though, a really good meal at a reasonable price. I will return the next time I'm in Reno.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

They serve meals in a bowl. Lamb, Morrocan meatballs, vegetarian dishes etc. Food is fresh, well spiced, and properly prepared and presented. The food is prepared right in the dining area and you can sit at a bar looking out on west street. You can also eat in a common area inside. Friends can get food/drinks from a variety of places surrounding the center court. (The wines at the wine bar are excellent - if expensive).

This is fine dining on the cheap

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.