We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean, noisy, smokey smell everywhere, minimum 'extras'” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9795 Gateway Drive, Reno, NV 89511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Monterey, California
1 review
“Not clean, noisy, smokey smell everywhere, minimum 'extras'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Title says it all. Want a cheap room, this is it. If you don't care and are used to a dorm room then you'll be comfortable here. Bed not comfortable, no toiletries except cheap soap, one ply scratchy toilet paper. Initial a zillion things to say you'll treat the place well, but suffer the nasty leftovers from past guests. Long back hairs on more than one surface in the room. UCK.

Room Tip: No fitness room at all...which was a desire of ours. Pretty disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that the front desk did not offer you the additional toiletries we have when you checked in. I also apologize that your room was not cleaned to our standard. I am meeting with my staff to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at rsm@extendedstay.com.

We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    8
    11
    2
See reviews for
9
6
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a few months back and had a blast. For the price you can't do better. Its right by to the strip and tons of places to eat. The staff was super nice and very helpful with directions and other questions I had. My room was very clean and the bed was even comfortable. I can guarantee I will stay at extended stay next time I'm in Reno.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I was so pleased to hear that you had a great time while with us in Reno! I'm glad to hear the location and amenities were so convenient for you.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was not pleasant and I would not stay there again. The hallway walls are scuffed up and the carpets were worn and spotted. As for the room? It seemed clean but it needed a fresh coat of paint. The bathroom seemed to have been recently remodeled. And there is a small kitchenette. The noise level was terrible. Every morning it started around 5 AM. The people above us were up and pounding back and forth across the floors. Then the people next to us got up early and were opening and closing the kitchen cupboards, running water. There seems to be no sound barriers between the walls. The refrigerator in our room ran off and on through the night with an unusually loud hum. The black out curtains are not large enough to block out light all around the outer edges so we had a corona of light from the parking lot. As for friendly service? There was seldom anyone at the front desk when we left or returned. We needed an extra blanket as their were no extras in the room? Called the desk and they had one full sized left. I had to go downstairs and get it. They do not provide hairdryers in the rooms (kInd of unheard of these days). Called the front desk, I had to go down and get it. Want ice? No ice machines in the hotel. Only ice from the two ice trays in the refrigerator in the room. They only clean/make-up the rooms every 7 days, unless you want to pay 10.00 extra. Need another towel? That's 5 dollars extra according to the sign in the bathroom. I thought the hot water was out in the shower until I discovered the hot cold was reversed. Phew. We were in town to see relatives for Thanksgiving so we spent very minimal time in the room. That made it bearable. We also had a cheap rate through Expedia. There seems to be several chain hotels right in the same area of town. Of course I will try another hotel next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay over Thanksgiving. I apologize that you were able to hear noises from other rooms and can understand how being woken up multiple times can put a damper on your stay. I also wanted to apologize that our services and amenities were not explained to you at check-in. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I will be meeting my with front desk staff to ensure that they are communicating everything at check-in. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at rsm@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have stayed at the Extended Stay America, South Meadows location a number of times on business, and this Hotel has consistently proven to be clean, quiet, and comfortable.

Especially like the convenience of a kitchenette and laundry facility as these benefits help make for a hassle-free stay.

Pam and the front desk crew are so accomidating and friendly... after a while they become like Family. Nice crew !

The rates are also reasonable, and they offer long term stay agreements if your business has you temporarily re-locating to a job site.

JohnK

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America Reno - South Meadows. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I booked this hotel through Hotwire. Pros: Rooms are very clean with new carpet, paint, etc.. Cons: I have been in the hotel for about 4 hours and thinking about not staying the 2nd night. First, on arrival, I had to pay an extra $5 per night to get a non-smoking room. Second, I've been here for about 4 hours and for the last 2 I've been listening to a BOOMING TV next door. Walls are paper thin. I get up every 10-15 minutes to switch the heater on from high hot to high cool to drowned out some of the noise. It's bad. And the mattresses... as mentioned in other reviews, they are rock hard. When I first sat on the bed I was surprised, it was like sitting on a wooden chair, they really are rock hard. Also,the TV, believe it or not it's a 24" to 26" TV -- I didn't know they made TVs that small. Strange....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ExtendedStay America Reno - South Meadows. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel was clean and modern, a great choice for the convenience of fully equipped kitchen facilities and location. I liked being out of the bustle of downtown and close to more suburban shopping choices for groceries and restaurants. The room was updated and clean with nice bedding, a Signature Queen studio, but not spacious. No breakfast provided, but that is why you have your own kitchen and refrigerator! We stayed only one night, so their policy of one $4.99 payment for internet access per stay was not to our advantage, I wish they would give one nighters a break on that. The room price was a very good one for the Reno area on the date we stayed, we would have had to go to Carson City to get as good a deal as here. The space was ok for two people, if we were really doing an extended stay it may have been cramped. Good choice for one person in town for business, though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Just a really friendly well priced Hotel with excellent Hotel Rooms for the traveller who likes a self contained style room.

Nothing was a problem, The Hotel is close to a number of bars, dining and shopping facilities. Less than an hours drive to Tahoe/Squaw valley it remains a much more affordable stay even when you take into account petrol to get to the snow. Tahoe was near $300/night and that doesn't include any ski tow fees.

You get 30% off your ski tow fees as a special offer. It makes sense , why spend more money when you don't have to - and you stay in a place that is like home and you feel part of the family. I will be recommending this Hotel to my travel agent!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows

Address: 9795 Gateway Drive, Reno, NV 89511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extendedstay America Reno-South Meadows Hotel Reno
Extended Stay America Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.