We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short business trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Reno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Reno to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Reno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6855 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for short business trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently visited this hotel for a business trip and stayed for two nights. It I ideal for a short trip where you are staying minimal time in the hotel as there are few amenities and the room is not luxurious by any stretch! Having said that the people were lovely and there was a starbucks across the street which was ideal but morning coffee.

LOCATION - it is situation in a very small complex with a big carpark and a few surrounding shops such as a starbucks and some clothes shops. If you wanted to go to downtown Reno it would require a taxi but perfect location if going to nearby business parks like I was - an easy stroll with starbucks on route! Nice view of the mountains!

QUALITY OF SLEEP - Very good sleep...I was in a single room but had a large double bed that was very comfortable so could not fault it in any way. My room looked over the car-park but it was really quiet.

FACILITIES - There are not a lot of facilities here... not a hotel you would be going to on your holidays! There is a small café areas where I believe breakfast is served - it is right in the middle of the entrance to the hotel...we opted for starbucks across the road but it looked cozy and there is a lovely fire place and couches to sit in the lobby.

STAFF - the staff were so lovely and accommodating.

THE ROOM - Room was a bit dated and not somewhere I would like to stay for too long other than to sleep!

Hint - Visit Lake Tahoe if going to Reno and dine in the Hyatt restaurant at the lake - so worth it!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Depending on why you are in Reno, this can be a good choice. We were just passing through. It's right off the main highway, there are plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel is clean, the staff is efficient, it's a typical Marriott Courtyard with the buffet breakfast. My only complaint was the smoke from California fires which apparently is common in the late summer and fall. It's pretty intense but that is certainly not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Have stayed at this location many times - and used to be there once a month. Returned after a couple of years and the whole vibe of the hotel had changed. The lobby coffee urns are gone, the cookies at check in are gone, and the gentleman checking us in seemed to be more interesting in everything else but our checkin.

Went from a very good Marriott to a "ehh at least it isn't a casino" Marriott. Will stay elsewhere in the future where perhaps the front desk folks care if you are there.

Btw - I'm a Marriott Platinum member.

Room Tip: Get a higher numbered room - rooms in ranging from 100-110 are by the interstate which you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardrenogm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Reno, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
MSGTP;

Thanks for your business and comments. Please know that both are sincerely appreciated!

The lobby coffee and cookies still come out on special occasions. However, Courtyard implemented the new Bistro concept which allows you to get expanded offerings in the lobby instead of just regular coffee. Thus, many items from a Pumpkin Spice Latte with a toasted bagel and lox is now available if desired, or simply a good cup of dark roast Starbuck's, if that is more to your taste. Of note, Starbucks is now free in all guestrooms as opposed to the generic coffee served before in room.

We also added free Wi-Fi up to 3 meg speed as well as seating through out the lobby with flat panel monitors you can watch TV on or hook up your lap to for a small meeting. You'll find charging outlets everywhere through the lobby as well.

We want to be considered more than an average hotel, thus the expanded offerings and focus on service. Hopefully, you will come back and take advantage of what we can offer you!

Best of Success!

B Duskin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Nice hotel with no gaming. Like many courtyards has a great lobby area that encompasses a large area with many seating areas and a cafe. Very pleasant and a great hang out spot. Room was standard hotel room - nothing special. I paid extra for faster internet speed and it was very slow (about 2.5 mbps) so I can't imagine what the basic speed was like. Easy & free parking. Starbucks is a two minute walk. I ordered breakfast at the lobby cafe (sit down) and it was quick, pleasant and reasonably price (coffee plus bagel & cream chess was $5).

Room Tip: Rooms facing north will have less highway noise but windows have adequate sound insultation so it sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardrenogm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Reno, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
John;

First...Go Giants! Just as important, please know we appreciate your business and comments regarding your recent stay.

You noted the speed of the free internet as an issue. Good news! As of 10/21 the speed for free to guests is now 3 meg with paid internet now set at 9 meg. Thus, for e-mails and basic use, the basic speed is plenty fast and if streaming is needed or wanted, 9 meg is available for a small fee.

Hopefully you will come back and give us another shot at scoring 5/5 for your stay. Until then...

Best of success,

B Duskin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This was a nice property. Clean and safe - standard Courtyard fare. But my room did not have the comfortable Marriott memory foam bed that I had in my last Courtyard visit. The location is also difficult to find, tucked behind a restaurant, hidden by trees, and no signs on the main street.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardrenogm, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Reno, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Jeshultz;

Thank you very much for the great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have spacious and comfortable rooms and a team of dedicated customer service professionals who are truly passionate about customer service. Next time in the area we encourage you to inquire about staying in one of our Jacuzzi or balcony room which offers a spectacular mountain view. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experience while locating our property. Our Senior Management team is currently working on improving signage of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you among our guests soon.

Kindly,

B. Duskin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Several people from my company stayed one night here after a conference in the South Lake Tahoe area before flying out of the Reno Airport. Since it was only one night we didn't get to use much of the hotel. The front desk staff was nice. Check-in was efficient. The front desk personnel were able to answer questions about the area.

There are a few quick service restaurants around the hotel. We were unable to find anything within easy walking distance that was a little better then quick service.

The front desk person told us that the Atlantis Hotel and Casino has a free shuttle. There was some type of mis-communication with the shuttle but when it finally did show up it was a stretch limo.

No problems with check-out, there is no airport shuttle. Taxi to the airport was about $16.00.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardrenogm, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Reno, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear marauder40;

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay in one of our clean and comfortable rooms. Our hotel is conveniently located only four miles from airport and is situated next to some great shops and restaurants. During your next stay we encourage you to try one of our signature items in the Bistro or have a relaxing evening by our cozy fireplace. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you as one of our guests soon.

Kindly,
B. Duskin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, id
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed Thursday, October 2nd and had a great room on the top floor as requested. Front desk and breakfast staff were great, including the cook. Upon returning on Sunday, October 5th, I felt like we were at a different hotel. The beds were squeaky and uncomfortable. The front desk staff on Sunday wasn't friendly, but he wasn't rude either. We did check in at 10:30 at night. We were given a room on the 2nd floor. I inquired about a room on the 4 th floor and was told he could get me a room on the 3rd floor, but it would be close to the freeway. Even the air conditioner/heater room was older on the 2nd floor vs. the 4th floor. After gathering our bags from the car and entering the building, there were about 6 people checking in at 10:40 at night! Not sure if we will stay there again. If we were given the 4th floor room again, I would. The silver legacy's beds are better than the 2nd floor beds we had. We decided to spend a little more on this trip to avoid the smoky casinos. We stay in Reno 3-4 times a year and I was hopeful the courtyard would be our new to go to spot.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
totall4mst, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Reno, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
JenJJ;

Thank you so much for your stay and your comments on it. Please know both are appreciated. The bed and AC unit have been inspected and addressed. Thank you for letting us know about the issue.

Frankly, I too avoid smoky casinos and appreciate a clean hotel and a good night sleep. Hopefully, you will come back and visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

B Duskin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Reno

Address: 6855 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89511
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Reno 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Reno Hotel Reno
Courtyard Reno
Reno Courtyard
Reno Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.