We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accomodations...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Reno

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Reno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Reno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6855 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 65 hotels in Reno
Burlingame, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Adequate accomodations...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Typical Courtyard. Rooms are a little small but adequate. Bistro serves a decent breakfast. One issue I have with the hotel, and all Courtyards for that matter, is the lack of central heating/air. This means that if you want the heater or air conditioner on you have to use on of those old machines that are installed in each room. You cannot set an exact temperature and the they tend to be noisy as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
11
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a nice, quiet property for a long weekend in late October... We arrived late on a Thursday night and checked out on Monday noon. Never any noise in the halls and the pool area was mostly deserted. Our room was spacious and kept clean daily by the staff. My husband went to the pool area each day before 7 am and never meet another guest there so he always had the hot tub to himself. However because of the addition to the lobby of a Starbucks area, the free coffee was always gone by 8 am and not replenished. And we did have to ask for the staff to restock towels in the pool area.
Front desk staff was friendly and always spoke when we entered or exited the hotel. This hotel is convenient to all Reno attractions as well as restaurants and casinos. A very nice place to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Typical four story Courtyard by Marriott. Rooms and Lobby have all been redecorated to the new Courtyard scheme. Bistro and bar are in the lobby. Bistro serves breakfast as well as dinner. Very convenient location with lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The staff was great, and the hotel itself was adequate. But they don't enforce the nonsmoking policy, which is specifically why I chose this hotel. The first room I was assigned (on the fourth floor) reeked of cigarette smoke. The second room (on the same floor) was better, but the clothes I put in the closet absorbed smoke from somewhere and also ended up reeking of cigarette smoke. To add insult to injury, they'd jacked up the rates considerably because of the Reno balloon races. So I paid $150/night for my smoky room.

During a previous stay, my room was on the second floor (and only about $90/night). I didn't notice smoke there. So maybe they just stick smokers on the fourth floor and hope no one complains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway. A lower floor may be better if you're trying t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I don't understand how this place gets so many good reviews. This place is desperately in need of a renovation. The rooms are outdated and shabby, the mattresses and linens are terrible, and the lobby is completely unappealing, with cold, industrial lighting. I'll never go back to this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Not too easy to find even though its address is on the major street, the hotel is located behind buildings facing the main street. However, hotel itself was clean and relatively quiet. It had a business center for hotel guests with computers and printers. Room was also clean and the carpet and bath area were also well kept. Adequate TV channels. Bed comfort was very good. No micro or mini fridge, which seem to be the norm for CY's. No complimentary breakfast, however, snack bar on site has limited offerings. If you want to stay away from the downtown area, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Forest, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were lost trying to find the Courtyard and the desk staff stayed with us to get us in. We also were able to catch some quick food from Starbucks before it closed. Much needed TLC abounds there.

Room Tip: Rely on the desk staff - they will steer you right
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Reno

Address: 6855 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Reno 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Reno Hotel Reno
Courtyard Reno
Reno Courtyard
Reno Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.