We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of a dump” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Reno

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Reno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Reno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6855 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #17 of 65 hotels in Reno
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Kind of a dump”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I don't understand how this place gets so many good reviews. This place is desperately in need of a renovation. The rooms are outdated and shabby, the mattresses and linens are terrible, and the lobby is completely unappealing, with cold, industrial lighting. I'll never go back to this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
13
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Not too easy to find even though its address is on the major street, the hotel is located behind buildings facing the main street. However, hotel itself was clean and relatively quiet. It had a business center for hotel guests with computers and printers. Room was also clean and the carpet and bath area were also well kept. Adequate TV channels. Bed comfort was very good. No micro or mini fridge, which seem to be the norm for CY's. No complimentary breakfast, however, snack bar on site has limited offerings. If you want to stay away from the downtown area, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Forest, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were lost trying to find the Courtyard and the desk staff stayed with us to get us in. We also were able to catch some quick food from Starbucks before it closed. Much needed TLC abounds there.

Room Tip: Rely on the desk staff - they will steer you right
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

First time in a Courtyard. Very good experience overall. Nice and friendly staff. Superb rooms, beds, pillows. Very clean. Highly recomendable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

As per expectations, good quality hotel which offers breakfast (optional)

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Creek, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our family stayed here for one night after flying in to Reno, before heading to Lake Tahoe. We had (2) King rooms each with a sofa bed, for our family of 6 (two adult couples and two children). The hotel is newly renovated and feels fresh and new. The rooms were an average size, well appointed, and very clean. Our beds were comfortable, and the in room amenities were great! The kids were not impressed with the sofa bed, but we don't believe that any really are!

The spacious lobby has plenty of room to gather as well as a bistro where you can purchase lunch or dinner. We spent several hours playing games and visiting in the lobby area and were never bothered. It also serves as seating for the bistro, so we made sure to clear out before meal time.

We ate breakfast, and the food was delicious. You can tell that it's a new concept for the hotel, but the staff was very pleasant and the service more than made up for the fact that they were still getting their bearings with the new bistro.

We didn't have a car, and our only complaint was that the hotel does not offer a shuttle as most others in the city do. It wasn't bad cab fare, but we did have to return to the airport to get our car the next day (we came in a day early and weren't able to get the car early), which was inconvenient. The front desk did take care of calling a cab for us and they arrived exactly on time.

We don't care for the gambling/casino scene, and there was none of that in site. It was in a pleasant, neighborhood, close to several restaurants and even a Target. Try the italian restaurant next door -- it was fantastic!

The hotel was a great option for our purposes, and we would return again. I can't say enough about how pleasant the staff was and how much we enjoyed our short stay. If you had a bad experience during construction, give this hotel another shot. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Construction workers will wake you up bright and early, hammering on the wall next door. The manager will then tell you that it is your problem because his staff has no way of knowing where the contractors will be working on any given morning when rooms are assigned to guests. Take your business elsewhere where the management knows what is going on in their hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Reno, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
The hotel renovation project is now complete! Our guests can now enjoy our newly updated guest rooms and public space without any disruption related to work being conducted at the hotel. The hotel management and staff made every effort to minimize the effect of the construction on our guests. Now that the project is done, we encourage anyone coming to Reno to stop by and see the newly opened Courtyard Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Reno

Address: 6855 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Reno 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Reno Hotel Reno
Courtyard Reno
Reno Courtyard
Reno Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.