We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Siena Hotel to your Saves list
Siena Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Took my mom to Reno for a quick weekend trip, and happened to be during the big car show Hot August Nights. One thing I did love about this hotel, free shuttle service to and from airport. Staff is awesome and SUPER nice. Pool is a bit small, but the bartender Steven is awesome!! Smaller and quieter casino, but I dont gamble so didn't matter. Right on the river and two blocks from anywhere. If you want a big vegas type casino - go to El Dorado.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Siena. Most guests don't realize our shuttle service from the airport is a Lincoln town car unless it's a large party so I'm happy to hear you enjoyed this complimentary amenity. We're very proud of our excellent staff and we will certainly recognize Steven our bartender for going above and beyond. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you back at the Siena on your next visit to Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    174
    69
    24
    27
See reviews for
107
225
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was the third time we have stayed at the Siena for Hot August Nights. The rooms are gorgeous and clean. We had a bit of check in frustration, room not ready on time. You can't beat the location and I have only one complaint. The smoke. We had a non smoking room and still, we could smell the smoke, the casino reeked as well. Sure wish they would improve that.

Room Tip: Better view higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
It's always nice to hear from our guest and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. Taking advantage of our convenient location within walking distance of the other downtown resorts and the Truckee river is just another great reason to stay at the Siena. Good air circulation and the high ceilings inside the casino usually minimize the smell of smoke but we will certainly review to make sure all is working properly. We appreciate your business and hope to see you at the Siena again the next time you visit Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is an excellent hotel to stay at. The staff is extra friendly and surpass the customer service level you would get at any of the other hotel casinos in reno. I've stayed in all of them and would never stay anywhere else but the Siena, I have all my business visitors that come to town booked here and they all agree with me that this is the best hotel to stay at.

It's hard for a hotel to keep everyone happy and some of the negative comments I read below are very unjust, to many people pick at very small mishaps or details and as a world traveler like myself, who has stayed in several hundred hotels the Siena is doing their job right. There's always room for improvements at any establishment regardless of it's a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel but Siena has done a magnificent job with their staff in every department and the overall facility is clean and peaceful.

I've stayed here more times than I can count and have never been disappointed!!!

A special thanks to Tim Downy and all the pit supervisors on all shifts for making the table area fun, comfortable and friendly. Five stars

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Seriously, I did not write this review but I was overjoyed when I read it. From a world traveler and frequent guest to tell us how much you enjoy the Siena just made my day. We have many wonderful employees at the property and Tim Downey is certainly one of them. Thank you for such an outstanding review and I thank the Siena employees for doing such an outstanding job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights during Hot August Nights, so expected crowds, but wait to check in was not bad.. Valet service was great., We had a deluxe King non smoking room, but nothing to compare it to in hotel since our first stay.. Bathroom was a little small, prefer sinks outside of shower area, but lived with it.
The ONLY larger complaint was the dated heating & A/C unit.. Although kept room cool, the fan on LOW was VERY noisy, so had to turn it off to sleep... Excellent black out shades.. Only view we had was the back of the Siena sign on the 3rd floor over Johnny Rockets, but we were not in room much anyway.... The casino was VERY WELL ventilated, so cool & not a lot of smoke.. Johnny Rockets was very cute..
The restaurant on the River for breakfast was EXCELLENT & great prices .. We did not use any of the other amenities because we were to busy with friends & family at the car show.
Siena is not the Ritz but comfortable & clean.. Thank you for the refrigerator & coffee in room !! Very friendly staff throughout ...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review regarding your recent stay during Hot August Nights. It's always nice to hear about our friendly staff and how the property was clean and comfortable. Johnny Rockets has been a great addition to the property and the brunch on the river at the Whitewater restaurant has been well received.I've heard from numerous guest about the black out curtains in the rooms and have also personally experienced their ability to keep the room dark even in the middle of the day. We appreciate your business and hope you stay at the Siena again the next time you are in Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Low rates are great - and so is the hotel, but get hit with many fees

$2 "Reno capital project" fee
$9 resort fee (pool was closer when we got there, the said it includes valet we didn't use)
$14 to switch to double beds (we prepaid, which I guess is our fault for assuming the hotel would allow this as every other has for free)

Ended up $28 higher than actual prepaid booking.

It's a nice hotel, just don't expect to pay what's advertised.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Siena. I'm happy to hear you thought the hotel was great and the rate was great as well. Every hotel has the $2 Reno Capital project fee and the majority of hotels have a resort fee which vary in price. The $9 fee at the Siena is primarily for the use of car service to and from the airport, free Wi-Fi, and use of the pool and the exercise room. Our lowest rates are for a standard room with a king size bed and any upgrades are charged according to what the upgrade includes such as bed types, views, suites, etc. We appreciate your business and we hope you visit the Siena again the next time you're in Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful. The casino was disappointing as it was very small and had a lot of old slots. Food and service at Johnny Rockets was good. Room was disappointing. Very small and view of roof. Biggest disappointment was that for a hotel that is supposed to be a boutique hotel, they couldn't manage to get sheets to fit. We had a king size bed and the bottom sheet was not fitted. They used a flat sheet so that the last foot of the bed had no sheet covering it.

Room Tip: ask for an upper level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Johnny Rockets has been a great addition to the property with a fun atmosphere and the best milk shakes in town. Thank you for bringing to our attention the situation with the sheets as this is not our standard. It's great to hear you felt we had a nice property and we hope you visit us again the next time you are in Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great location and nice casino promotion. Had a wonderful time here. The check in time was a little longer than we expected but the experience was pleasant overall. Rooms were extremely clean. I was definitely impressed by this little casino.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. It's always nice to hear when our guests take advantage of our wonderful casino promotions. We're very proud of the cleanliness of the property and I'm glad you were impressed with our little casino and enjoyed the great location as well. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.5 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#9 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#21 of 66 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Hotel

Address: 1 South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Siena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Siena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.