We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location! Great service for small business meeting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
De Soto, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location! Great service for small business meeting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Held a 2 day meeting at the Siena for a small group. Teresa (planning and reserving) and Mary Lou (while onsite) were very attentive and the meeting was successful. Stayed at the hotel for a week and loved the convenient location. Although the casino itself was smoky, the odor did not impact the rest of the hotel. Loved that the gym was open 24/7. The room was very comfortable. This was my first trip to Reno and will recommend this hotel to others. The price was great, close walking to great restaurants, and a couple of good ones onsite! The complimentary shuttle service to/from airport was also a big plus.

Room Tip: Have room look over the Truckee River and select room with extra security above 4th floor (need room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    157
    55
    17
    15
See reviews for
76
199
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delano, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel. From the moment we pulled into the valet parking section we were greeted with friendly, attentive staff in a very attractive environment. The hotel is small in our experience of casino hotels which we discovered is an asset that we appreciated.
Throughout of stay we were impressed by staff. They were alert to our needs and seemed always available. When we discovered a broken window lock and mentioned it to the Bell Man he immediately called for a repair person who arrived before we had finished unpacking.
Our room was attractive, comfortable and well layed out. It felt some what small and the window was a light source only , but did include a refrigerator. We paid a reasonable price for the room and might upgrade next time if we wished a view.
We ate several meals at the River View Cafe where we enjoyed watching the Truckee River flowing past. The food exceeded our expectations of cafe style food both in quality and creativity. The wait staff were all friendly, engaging and efficient.
We ate 2 dinners at the Da Vinci restaurant.The service, while more formal than in the cafe was again excellent and definitely enhanced our experience. A staff person suggested the prime rib. My husband pronounced it as good as any he had ever eaten and he often orders prime rib. I had the ahi one night and a special halibut with blood orange sauce on another. The sauces were lovely and interesting. One meal was accompanied with a delicious risotto and another with an equally good pilaf. The lobster bisque was almost beyond description and beautifully served. Each dinner was proceeded by an amuse-bouche.
The casino was another very pleasant surprise. We were concerned that we would not find enough variety in the machines to keep us interested, but we found a very fun variety of machines and had not managed to try all we wished during our stay. I was interested to find uniformed casino hosts who roved the aisles and were readily available to answer questions as they checked to see if we needed anything. When I mistook our hostess for a bar waitress she immediately responded that she would get us a waitress. The waitresses seemed more often available than we have experienced previously.

Room Tip: Some rooms have windows that are translucent, allowing light, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have been going to the Siena since it was opened years ago. They are under new management as of a couple of years ago and have recently refurbished the property. In my opinion, the Siena is the nicest hotel in Reno. Just across the Truckee River from downtown is a great location - Riverwalk, ice skating / roller skating ring a block away. Restaurants are really good and the casino is relatively small and smoke free unless someone fires up right next to you. We are in Reno at least monthly and the Siena is always our first choice.

Room Tip: Higher up on the river side for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor-wa
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

They sent me a "2 year aniversay promotion" , however the siena has been open I think around 10 years, they said it's because they were purchased by new owners two years ago.

they are trying really hard, good service, good rooms as long as you face the river (the other side rooms are noisy overlooking the casino's roof ac units)

the food is very good, especilly the sushi bar, some of the best sushi and service I"ve had

Room Tip: facing the river, the backside rooms have ac noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stay at this hotel on every trip to Reno. Love the fact that it's away from the Reno "strip" yet close enough to walk there if we want to do so. Spent a relaxing weekend here in March, ate at DaVinci and it was excellent as well. Casino is small but not smoky and really friendly as is the staff at the hotel. Planning to go back again in April!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Our beds had visible bed bags, my sister was bitten over ten times! The hotel staff seemed very familiar with bed bugs but apparently did not see the bugs and feces when changing the sheets. The bathrobes were stained. The cleaning staff gave us free soap and shampoo from the spa.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave K, Director of Operations at Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Melanie,
Rest assured the Siena Hotel Spa Casino does not have a problem with bed bugs. You may be aware there is a nationwide issue with these pests, as they are transported in guest luggage, on guests, in and amongst guest clothing, etc. The Siena is very proactive with inspections after any guest leaves our property to insure we never develop the serious issues so many properties across the nation have developed. We pride ourselves in the extra steps we take to insure our guest's comfort from the time they arrive at valet to the time they check out and at all points in between.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAGLE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

In a town that has more than it's fair share of seedy properties, the Siena is a great place to stay. Clean, calm and fair prices - and the food at Sushi Saga is excellent. King rooms on the north side (overlooking the river) are especially nice.

Room Tip: King rooms on the north side (overlooking the river) are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino

Address: 1 South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena Hotel, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.