We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay For The Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Airport to your Saves list
Days Inn Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5851 S. Virginia Street No.101, Reno, NV 89502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay For The Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Not the most modern hotel but for the money it is a fantastic choice. Our room is very clean. The 2 beds are only doubles and not queens which is a bummer, but at least they are comfy. The shower head was so low it only went up to my 6 foot tall husband's chin or neck. Not sure if they are all like that, but at least we got a good laugh so that was good. The pool is huge, deep, and heated. Really nice. I would stay here again just for the pool. We had a bad experience with reserving through the main Days Inn 800 number where we were told one rate and charged another but that has nothing to do with this facility itself. I would stay here again for sure , but never use the 800 number as clearly their jobs depend on sales and they'll say anything to get them. The gentleman at the front desk has been very pleasant and helpful. There is a Thai restaurant on the property that is very good. It was a real pleasant surprise to be able to just walk down to such a wonderful restaurant in our hotel. We love Thai food and the Bangkok South here at the hotel is as good as our most favorite place at home in Santa Cruz.. Next time we find ourselves in Reno we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
15
5
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Meadville, PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this motel for 5 nights when my son was playing in a volleyball tournament and the price was right and the service was excellent. It is a no frills place with a meager breakfast but for the price it was better than expected. For $10 more per night you can rent a fridge. It is also in walking distance from the casinos and the river walk. It's about a mile- to me, that's walking distance. The staff was very responsive to our needs and were quite friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

When waiting for the check-in, a customer was complaining at the front desk about the heating system. Guess we shouldn't have ignored that... Apparently the motel has a central heating system, which heats or cools every room at the same time. You will find an explanation about this in your room, next to the central heating button which won't work. The explanation reads that this system works well in summer and winter, but isn't working "optimal" in spring and fall. Best part of all is that there are no extra blankets in the room, while there is just a sheet and a small cover on the bed. This means that you will wake in the middle of the night because of the cold and there is nothing you can do about it. Other customers have tried to cover the bed with bath towels, without success. A hot shower would help, but unfortunately it has a moderate beam so it won't warm you up and you will start your day freezing.

Also, the motel advertised about the High Speed Internet Access, but we had NO connection at all in our room or even at the corridor outside (our room was on the 2nd floor at the back). Funny that during check-out the desk clerk didn't ask about our stay (first motel where they didn't ask), maybe he wasn't all too confident about that either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed for several nights. The room was very basic. The outdoor pool is well maintained and not overly chlorinated (like many hotel pools). The breakfast buffet was very basic - no waffle maker.. the coffee was watery and was often empty. The front desk was helpful and cheerful. The mall is across the street, many food choices around, and 15 mins from the airport make it a great location. All-in-all it was a good value.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor to avoid climbing the stairs with our stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

After leaving one of the Mid Town Reno disgusting motels that reeked of cigarette smoke day and night, I looked for a different option for my last week in Reno. This property is a tad better than the one in Hayward, CA (Days Inn & Suites). The Wi-Fi is a bit slow at times, but the rooms and pool are very clean. A micro and 'fridge allows me to prepare the meals required for my strict diet. The funny experiences were the bugs: I saw a cricket for the first time in years, and a spider in the bathroom; both were tossed outside where they belong. Culture told me not to kill either. I neither saw bugs in the bed, nor do I wake up itching.

Next door, is a 99 cents store that sells school supplies, boxed foods, and produce. Trader Joe's, Big Lots, CVS, Target, Barnes & Noble, and Whole Foods are within 3 blocks. Meadowood Mall is across the street, Bank of America next door, and many restaurants within 3 blocks-the location is great. There is also a Vietnamese restaurant on premise. The only problem I have here is the bed is too soft-I'm Papa Bear. LOL

Keep in mind that some hotels in many cities add the word, "Airport" to their name, even when far from the airport like tis hotel is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Keep in mind, it's not the Hilton. I was looking for clean, safe, quite, comfort and value. I got it. Very good customer service. Even on a hectic Friday Night Check-in, the front desk people made the extra effort to accommodate me and get me the room that I wanted. Free parking just a few steps away from the room. Compare that to the Grand Sierra where it takes 10 min. to get to the car. The Days-Inn is the same facility as the Super 8, same staff, same breakfast, and I think same prices. It's an older building, but remodeled well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Not even close to the airport. We booked thinking it would be easy in and out from the aiport, but we shoulda checked the map. I guess it was a bad assumption to think the Airport in their name means it was close to the airport.
Rooms looked nice but had mold in the bathroom. Our sheets had holes in them. Staff was friendly. For the money we spent, it really wasn't worth it. The Thai restaurant was pretty good tho'.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Airport

Address: 5851 S. Virginia Street No.101, Reno, NV 89502
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.