We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naan & Kabab

Naan & Kabab
2740 S. Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89502
775 825-3113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 784 Restaurants in Reno
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This excellent Mediterranean restaurant is truly unique . The menu offers an excellent variety of choices and there are several daily specials. The food was well seasoned and delicious. The service was excellent and very attentive. The chef personally visited each table. A very nice touch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    37
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Center, Washington, United States
1 review
“Excellent Vegetarian Options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stumbled on this restaurant by accident and are so glad we did. The service was friendly and the atmosphere warm and relaxed. The food was amazing. I had the vegetable kebabs paired with a smooth imported Greek beer. The server made sure we were happy with our choices, and the chef personally visited our table to "get his report card" and share a recipe for tabouli with me..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We love Mediterranean food, and some of ours here was quite good. We had a few new items, perhaps Persian/Iranian. There were standard Greek favorites as well. I would return and try other items, trusting they would be at least as good as we had.
The hummus sampler was great. Cilatro jalopeno especially.
Tabouli salad very tasty.
Gyros and kababs were good, both lamb. I tried the ground Persian kebabs, and was ok with them, but wished I had stuck to chicken... they tasted mostly of ground beef, not lamb as the combo implied. But, I will return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Delicious food and very friendly head chef. Nice quiet place for dinner. Highly recommend when in Reno.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Most of the time, Mediterranean just means Greek but NOT here. This place offers Mediterranean in terms of the Middle East more than anything else. The ambience is understated Middle East with just décor slanted to the food. NO belly dancers here. Service is very courteous and prompt. Even the owner / head chef came out to talk to us about our meal.

We ordered the Manzel Dinner for two which included THREE Kababs as well as Bazmati Rice and roasted vegetables. They also throw in one small basket of Naan and Torshi. We got the Filet, Double Lamb Chops and Prawns. We thought the prawns were either overdone or frozen cause they were a trifle soft but the 2 meats were Top Notch. The seasoning was NOT hot, just right spicy. There was more than enough for two people. We also got a bottle of pacific northwest Cabernet and coffee. We split the Awesome Dudette desert of RICH Chocolate Layered Cake topped with Akbar Mashdi ice cream (vanilla-saffron ice cream, pistachios, rose water and frozen heavy cream). Bill was $80 with tax. Pretty reasonable for the amount of food.

Several Eastern people who ate there remarked that THEY thought some of the food was NOT authentic in that there was NOT enough or real saffron and the Torshi wasn't accurate. Some thought the Bazmati Rice wasn't authentic either. Personally, I thought the food was very good and worth the trip as well as the cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Naan & Kabab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naan & Kabab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.