We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a short family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1790 East Plumb Lane, Reno, NV 89502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #6 of 65 hotels in Reno
Fallon, NV
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a short family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our family of six stayed in one of the suites at this hotel for one night. The price was great. The room and beds were comfortable and clean. The staff was professional and personable. We enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi, and exercise room. I worried at first that being right across the street from the airport it might be noisy but it is not in the flight path so it was fine. The kids loved watching the planes landing and taking off. Breakfast was also very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena N, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to review Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport. Even though we are an airport property hotel there is very little noise. We also offer some great amenities from an outside jacuzzi, indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center, and a complimentary hot breakfast every morning just to name a few.

We hope you continue to stay with us here at Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    48
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
26
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Hyatt Place located within a two-minute or less drive of the Reno-Tahoe International Airport offers a friendly and professional front desk staff, an inviting lobby area and rooms with a very comfortable bed and a large seating area in front of a big flat screen TV. However, it has two deficiencies -- one operational and one structural. As to the first, the hotel appears to want to distinguish itself from the Express-level properties of other national brands by offering a more extensive complimentary breakfast. In addition to the standard cold cereal, hot oatmeal, juices and high quality coffee, the choices include two hot sandwiches, pastries and breads. These latter three items, however, are not up to the Hyatt standard of quality. The hot sandwiches are dried out and tasteless. They appear to have been purchased in a large quantity in a frozen form. As needed, they are microwaved and put out under heat lamps. The pastries, standard boxed donuts and small sweet rolls, suffer from the same dried out and stale taste. The structural defect is that the bathroom fan and the light are on the same switch and the fan is loud. While I can undertand the need for a bathroom fan to remove moisture from the shower, cutting construction costs by wiring both the fan and light together result in creating a situation where there is no way to quietly go to the bathroom during the night without risking waking either a traveling companion or children who may be sleeping in the same room. The hotel was a clean and comfortable place for an overnight stay but not quite what I had expected given that Hyatt had put its name on the door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middleton wi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent the night prior to a early departure to return home. The front desk staff was very professional, however, upon entering the room, there was a musty smell....... Was only there to catch at least 6 hours sleep prior to our depature, but the young ladies next to us were having a slumber party and were quite loud.

Would not stay here again, as a good nights sleep is very important to me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena N, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I wanted to thank you for letting us know how your stay here at Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport was. We take all comment very seriously.

If you choose to stay with us again and we hope you will, you can always call down and let us know and we will immediately address any issues. We do not tolerate guest disturbances.

Again, we hope you will give our hotel another chance the next time you travel to Reno.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed here several times now while in Reno on business. I like that it is darn near in the airport it is so close, the most convenient hotel by far in that regard. It is away from the downtown area, the casinos and the typical traffic and hassles that come with that, but right next to the highway so it is easy to get anywhere quickly. The hotel is very clean and well run as far as I can tell. It doesn't have a ton of amenities, and I wish the a/c units were centralized, but honestly I forgot all about it once I got settled in. No airplane noise ever!! Not sure how they did that? Free breakfast and free wifi included make this a nice value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena N, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the great comments! Even though we are an airport property hotel there is very little noise and we are centrally located in Reno.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We hope you continue to stay with us here at Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here on a sat night, extremely affordable for the amenities provided. The rooms are beautifully laid out and we loved how new everything was. From check in to check out we enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly the entire stay. When checking in, they matched an online price, which was great for a sat night! They were very nice and answered every question, even the million my six year old asked. Thank you Armando and Matt, you were very accommodating. I even heard poor Eric on the phone with a crazy person arguing with him about reserving a room without a credit or debit card. I wanted to take the phone and tell her she was crazy and this poor man had more important things to deal with! He was still very nice and courteous dealing with her irrationality.

Right when we walked into the room, we were blown away with how nicely decorated and spacious the room was. We immediately heard a whistling sound from the heater. We called down and Eric immediately came to our room with keys to a new room for us to move. Thank you Eric for your help! My daughter enjoys swimming everywhere we go, and this was no different. She loved the pool and how warm it was. The pool is indoors and and the hot tub is outside, kind of a cool layout. We loved the continental breakfast provided, lots of variety for a 3 star hotel.

We will stay here again. This is the perfect place if you don't want the casino stay and all the smoke. Beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena N, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We really appreciate the wonderful review! Our staff takes pride in what they do and try to accommodate each and every guest the best we can. I will pass on your comment and let our staff know they are doing a great job!

Thank you again, and we hope that you continue to stay with Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport whenever you are in town.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
/las /vegas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Very similar to Hampton Suites but more expensive and not 100% guaranteed. The room had a very strong musty smell which was almost unbearable. I was given an air freshener which did not help at all. Since we arrived quite late, my daughter was asleep so we were not able to change rooms. I complained again at checkout and was just offered 50% off.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena N, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfactory. We have advised our housekeeping staff and we take your comments very seriously. We hope that you will try our hotel again in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Unbelievably stressful time for my family,Hyatt made the Reno trip much easier and they were very friendly. Our reservations changed on a day to day basis, never knowing if we were staying or going. They adjusted the reservation, honored the original rate and offered us anything that we needed. The room was large enough for the 4 of us, and we did not crowd each other. Plenty of space for computers and food. Pool was open late and the water was warm. Beds are very comfortable, large sofa in separate seating room as well as a desk, small refrigerator, and a dry bar area. There is a kiosk for check in/check out if don't want to have the human touch. You just might altogether miss the registration desk as it blends in with the coffee/snack area. The pool was great for the kids, no one there but us!
It was nice to not have to worry about rates changing or being asked to move to a different room. We will stay here whenever we visit Reno. Seriously did not know that people this nice were still out there working at a big city hotel. Well done, Hyatt!

Room Tip: Airport side was rather quiet, not a lot of planes in the middle of the night. If you end up parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport

Address: 1790 East Plumb Lane, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Reno
#5 Family Hotel in Reno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.