We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an enjoyable way to spend a few hours!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Automobile Museum

National Automobile Museum
10 S Lake St, Reno, NV 89501
775 333 9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 Attractions in Reno
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering more than 224 vehicles on display, this museum contains one of the greatest car collections anywhere.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What an enjoyable way to spend a few hours!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Harrahs collection is so interesting. They have a huge collection and some beautiful, fascinating cars.

As a history lover, I appreciated seeing JFK's Lincoln, Elvis's Cadillac, John Wayne's Corvette, and literally the hundreds of other cars that have stood the test of time.

Make sure you pick up the audio set to educate yourself on the tour!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    116
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sublimity, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The History of the Automobile made Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I truly enjoyed wandering through this museum. It is laid out in an easy, pleasant way. Each area is done up in the time period of the cars which makes it even more fun. The clothing and hat pins collected by Harrah are an interesting addition to the museum.
It is a fascinating place to view the history of the automobile (I wish they'd had some new cars--that would have made it exceptional!).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“BEST EVER CAR MUSEUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This has to be the best car museum we have ever experienced. We were a group of 50 seniors visiting so some of the cars were their "first" cars. Lots of memories to share. Our docent led us through the entire facility -- not only was he knowledgeable, but his enthusiasm was contagious. The presentation of the cars, the period clothing, the layout are all fantastic. The cars are in mint condition and set in a logical order by year. There are many different areas to see. There are street scenes with appropriate vehicles in the settings. I personally don't get real excited when I know we are visiting a car museum, but I came away happy I was part of the group. We all talked about it for a long time throughout the rest of our trip. Since we are a group of mostly photographers, this was paradise. I would highly recommend the museum for car lovers or for someone like me who enjoyed it all. I understand this is one of the largest auto museums of its type and all the cars were donated by Mr. Harrah of the Harrah's Casinos.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Auto Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great collection of mostly pristine american cars from the late 1800's up to the 1930's. A great way to spend a couple of hours to see how automobiles have developed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to spend a morning or a whole day. They have lots of great cars and the museum is really nice, clean and well put together. The people that work there are really nice and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Automobile Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.