We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East Sixth Street, Reno, NV 89512   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #32 of 65 hotels in Reno
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a really nasty hotel. I stayed here before burning man and, to be perfectly frank, I felt more comfortable in a tent in the desert than I did in this place.
The hotel is shabby, the casino is very very sleazy, the rooms are dirty, the staff are unfriendly, the location is rubbish.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    104
    138
    88
    52
See reviews for
115
115
62
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Ramada in a double private. The Ramada was our first proper hotel for sometime and it felt quite grand. Our room was well equipped with a TV with oodles of channels airing rubbish, air con, a fridge and even a microwave. The hotel wasn't in a great location for the train station but as hotel prices rise dramatically on Friday and Saturday nights we decided against paying through the nose for one of the hotels on the 'strip'. The 20 minute walk wouldn't have been too bad but it did take you past large areas of the city that are inhabited by people down on their luck, not too bad during the day but not the nicest of walks at night. The hotel did have its own casino, restaurants and bars which were all reasonable value for money. All in all not a bad stay but one of the more centrally located hotels would have been more convenient.

Find out more about our big adventure and where we are going next at chipofftheoldblog.com

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The receptionist who checked us in was nice. Because they didn't have any quiet rooms in our category, she upgraded us to a king room on the 8th floor. Room was a nice size. That's why this review gets two stars instead of one.

Nonsmoking room smelled like smoke. After a day here, my throat is burning and I feel sick. Checking out first thing in the morning. Lobby is dirty. Stepped into the casino for a second and came right back out. Super-thin walls. Our German neighbors had a very fun night, keeping me up until 2 a.m.

Tried to check out earlier and get a partial refund, and they refused. Extremely unprofessional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Got a great last-minute deal on this place through a "blind" bidding Website for a Friday and Saturday night. As usual I went right over to TA to check out the reviews, which weren't encouraging. Thankfully my experience was fine, though. Check-in was fast and efficient and the room, while tired, didn't have any unnerving standout characteristics there (no OMG! moments). Maybe the non-smoking ones are better maintained or I was just lucky.

The low price was likely a function of: a) The outdoor pool being just closed for the season, and b) road construction nearby that made access to/from I-80 a pain. Locationwise it works much better to have a car...4th street can get you either downtown or to Sparks, but it has "color" reminscent of East Fremont St. in Vegas or Colfax Ave, in Denver, and that's not the kind of thing that throws off an inviting vibe for walking anywhere. When I was there the lot on the east side was brightly lit but for some reason the one on the west side was barely lit, so obviously you know where to park (Just don't do it in the few spaces under the trees, or you're likely to see your car covered in bird poop the next morning!).

The place could use a renovation, but then the same could be said for a number of other places locally. The gaming business and the economy had hit rough times in Reno even before the great recession, and unless the area can get its mojo back and get more air service, it's stuck in this loop where the tourist dollars aren't supporting the expansion and upgrades.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino

Address: 1000 East Sixth Street, Reno, NV 89512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, the Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino surrounds you with the unique sights and sounds of one of America's most dynamic cities. You'll experience a great night's sleep in spacious guest rooms or suites with spectacular views of downtown Reno and the Sierra Mountains. The hotel features a health and fitness center and a heated outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Reno Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.