We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly employees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppermill Resort Spa Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peppermill Resort Spa Casino to your Saves list
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2707 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Willows, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly employees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

We were only there briefly but the employees that we dealt with were very fridndly and helpful, they seemed to enjoy what they were doing. This means a lot to us to have people respond this way (even if they don't feel that way) they were very helpful

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,985
    1,008
    249
    142
    143
See reviews for
957
1,846
253
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Our 25th wedding anniversary (really). Peppermill wanted to put us in a room with 2 smaller beds instead of a king. No chance of getting the view we wanted. Extra charges to just ask. This place is heartless: if they cared so little for us, how will they handle your wedding, anniversary or just a special visit? Mean people are in charge of this place. Don't go here.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

We checked in to a beautiful room with a bar, cool looking lights, fridge, and Jacuzzi! Listen to the other travellers like I did, and make sure you go to the Information Desk in the casino for the $600 in coupons. It ended up saving us like $80.00!
Me and my partner ordered room service 3 times, and let me tell you the food here is outstanding! It came quick, with a room service crew that were pros. Their nightclub, the Edge is AMAZING! The DJ, setup, dancers, beautiful crowd...we had a blast! On our 2nd night to the club, the bouncers compted us and our 2 additonal friends, saving us another $80!
The lights, decor, casino, oh, and THE BEST SPORTSBOOK EVER!!!!! Football fan heaven! Yes its big, but it's amazing! I've stayed at many hotels in Reno and NOTHING comes close! Kudos to Peppermill!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I really just have one word to describe my experience at the Peppermill...Gross.

I had a few moments of good service at the front desk and over the phone with the operator who helped answer a billing question for me. That aside, the overall condition and cleanliness of the property is extremely poor. As a frequent business traveller who stays at both luxury and limited service hotels about 300 nights a year, I can be comfortable just about anywhere as long as it is CLEAN. This hotel is NOT. It is tattered, worn down and really dirty.

I was placed in a room by an elevator that wasn't working. In between that elevator and my room was the staircase. I listened to people go up and down stairs all night. While I realize that these things happen, and hotels can't always control putting someone in a room by a noisy elevator or stairs hotels CAN control it when the hotel is not at 100% occupancy. In the case of having options, the hotel could have done a much better job of using that noisy room as a last resort. Mine was a one night stay which actually allows the hotel much more flexibility, but clearly management is not forward thinking enough to ensure guest comfort.

I ate at a Chinese restaurant off the casino. The service was very attentive and friendly but the brocoli in my dish tasted rotten, as though it had been frozen more than once.

The worst part of the evening was yet to come. I decided to have desert in the Coffee Shop restaurant. As I was travelling alone I sat at the counter. Again, the service was quick and very friendly. Unfortunately I had a bird's eye view of what was happening "behind the line." There to my right was a floor covered in trash and rotten food with cooks and waitstaff trudging through it. As I was thinking of biting into my bread pudding, I watched a cook pull a clean towel out of a drawer, accidentally drop it into the trash on the floor, pick it up, give it a once over, and begin to wipe clean plates with it. Now I think we all would be appalled if we knew regular practices that go on behind the scenes at restaurants, but the Peppermill puts their's right out for diners to see. I promptly paid my bill ($10), did not touch my desert and went to bed.

The TV's in the rooms were the best feature. The bed smelled bad and after my previous experiences, I wondered just how clean it was. I assume it wasn't.

A terrible experience. Management can do better.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppermillFeedback, Manager at Peppermill Resort Spa Casino, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
On behalf of the entire Peppermill staff, I would like to apologize for your less than satisfactory stay. I have addressed your food and beverage concerns with our Director of Food and Beverage. Believe me when I say the incident you stated you saw in the Coffee Shop would not be tolerated by our Management team. At the Peppermill we take pride in having the best hotel, the best restaurants and the best staff in Reno. I hope you consider giving us another chance. Please contact me at feedback@peppermillreno.com if you would like to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We stayed here for a week in July 2009. As mentioned, the hotel has had a major remodeling and it is more like a Vegas style hotel. The nice thing is that there are still rooms at different price levels. We stayed in the Montego Bay wing, which is the motor lodge. The rooms cost considerably less than the main hotel. You can park right next to the building, which beats having to deal with valet parking. We could come and go as we pleased. The room was large, flat screen tv, updated bathroom. It was a little strange that the down comforter had no cover. In fact, I asked the maid whether she forgot to put on the duvet. Not a big deal though. We come to Reno every other month and we don't mind staying in this wing again for the price and convenience.

The pool area is awesome. We ordered food while we were poolside and service was quick and the food was tasty. We had an excellent dinner at Oceano, the seafood restaurant on the property. We often eat at the Island Buffet and the 24hr restaurant even when we are staying elsewhere.

I did complain about the internet, though. Supposedly there is free internet as part of the resort fee. But you must obtain the password first. Funny they don't mention that in the room itself. You would think they would put a small sign on the desk telling you this. Instead, you get duped into using the cables and being charged. I objected to the fee when we checked out. The clerk said the most she could refund was two days worth of charges. We were still stuck with the other five days. Why tout your complimentary internet if you really aren't going to offer it?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Californi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We booked a room over the phone, and asked for 2bd NS, when we arrived we were told all that was left was a smoking room with one bed. I stated that we had a reservation and they said that was actually just a "request" and not a guarantee of the room. It only guaranteed us a room in the hotel, not what we asked for. They said we would have needed to pay a fee if we wanted a specific type of room! The room's bedspread also had a big brown stain on it. We were treated awful by the front desk staff. It was expensive and not even close to being worth the money. Total rip off with terrible policies and attempts to get more money out of us!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppermillFeedback, Manager at Peppermill Resort Spa Casino, responded to this review, November 12, 2009
On behalf of the Peppermill I would like to apologize to you for your unsatisfactory stay at our property. We pride ourselves in offering a very clean and hospitable property. Sometimes we do get into situations where we are not always able to accommodate guest requestes, especially when the hotel is sold out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Husband & I wanted to go to Reno so stayed at the Peppermill. Everything was perfect. Absolutely beautiful place, very clean, very peaceful compared to Vegas. Took a day tour with Bay Line bus tours to Lake Tahoe one day, did a walking tour one day of downtown Reno. Gambling at Peppermill was not too bad until 10 minutes before I was needing to call it quits so I could go upstairs and pack for our 6:30 am flight home the next morning. With 10 minutes left on my self-imposed curfew, I hit the jackpot of $6000 on a dollar machine playing the max ($5.00). OMG! Thank God I had to leave the floor and go pack. I actually had no time to do anything else but take it home! Stuff like this never happens to me. It did at the Peppermill. I still can't believe it. We'd had a wonderful time and then lightening struck in a very great way to put the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppermill Resort Spa Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermill Resort Spa Casino

Address: 2707 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#2 Family Hotel in Reno
#2 Business Hotel in Reno
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#2 Casino Hotel in Reno
#2 Spa Hotel in Reno
#2 Green Hotel in Reno
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppermill Resort Spa Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1635
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the prestigious AAA Four Diamond rating for hospitality industry excellence, the Peppermill Resort Spa Casino in Reno, Nevada offers a first-class experience as well as upscale amenities that create an unforgettable stay. Peppermill offers 1635 guest rooms, including 600 lavishly appointed suites, 10 award-winning restaurants, 15 bars and lounges, two geothermally heated resort pools, the three-story Spa Toscana, and free live entertainment or dancing until the wee hours in Reno's hottest nightspot, EDGE. Custom-made, double pillow-top mattresses, 42" high-definition LCD TVs and media hubs are all featured in our guest rooms, and complimentary premium Wi-Fi is available for all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppermill Resort Spa Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppermill Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppermill Resort Spa Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.