We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, decent restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppermill Resort Spa Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peppermill Resort Spa Casino to your Saves list
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2707 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice room, decent restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was actually in Reno on a business trip but someone recommended this place to me. I got a King Suite (good price) and the room was AWESOME. The bathtub was so big I could actually float in it (admittedly I am short but STILL!!) and the bathtub was in the main room so I could watch a movie while soaking and sipping wine. That was quite heavenly after a busy work day. the bed was big and comfortable, the amenities in general were very nice. The shower stall in the bathroom was incredibly loud - it was big and doubled as a steam room (I did not try this) and the water echoed in there so much when I was done my ears were ringing... but it was a nice shower otherwise. I could hear people in the hallways but except for one man trying to apparently wake up someone who locked him out, it wasn't a problem.

This place in general is quite nice. The pool area looked beautiful (I was not able to take advantage of it). All staff I interacted with were very friendly. The casino had plenty to offer and was quite large. It could be a little bit like a maze though, I had to consult the map a few times. I ate in the seafood restaurant (Oceana I think?) that had a whimsical decor and decent food. I've had better seafood but this was a good meal. Breakfast upstairs (forget the name of that restaurant) was not bad. My first day I was very hungry and between meal times and just went to the pub for fish and chips - a bit greasy but typical pub grub I guess.

My only complaint is that everywhere the lighting very dim - so much so I found it difficult to read. I understand they do that in casino's but it was REALLY dim. I have been in others that were not quite so bad!! Also it was really smoky but that is a casino thing - there IS a non-smoking gambling room.
I recommend this place - it has everything you need in one stop - casino, restaurants, pool, spa, great room and great price!!!

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but if you get a suite with a whirlpool tub you will not be disappo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,897
    967
    237
    142
    140
See reviews for
922
1,791
245
576
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our stay was in the regular tower rooms. We have also stayed in the Tuscany
suites. The main difference is the bathroom. The Tuscany is larger and has a separate water closet. The restaurants were outstanding. Have not had a bad meal at the Peppermill yet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city, ut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in the main tower (a little more expensive than the north tower but the TA reviews scared me off). Comfortable. I had my son with me. We weren't there to gamble, so I can't comment on the casino. The pool was nice. We ate at one of the onsite restaurants. Food wasn't that great. Probably not my best choice for a family stop over. Be aware there is a 'resort fee' that is tacked on to your bill.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We got a good rate in the North Tower at the Peppermill, and I know why. There was a 15min. confusing walk from our car to our room, and we did that hike over and over again! Our room was somewhat cramped and smelled of an ashtray the entire 5 nights (casino hotel, I guess). (I think all the positive reviews are from people who stayed in the NEW Tuscany Towers!) On a positive note, the pool area was very nice, and we liked the restaurants and pleasant service. However, the service at 'All you can Eat Sushi' at Oceania was TERRIBLE! It was tasty, the sushi just took a looooong time getting to us (NOT a good thing w.a hungry teenage boy!). If you go to there, sit at the sushi bar!! Most likely we won't be returning to Reno, Vegas is much better~

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_Peppermill, Guest Relations Manager at Peppermill Resort Spa Casino, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit. Thank you for staying at the Peppermill during your trip to Reno. We are sorry to hear that your trip was less than perfect.

Also, our apologies that your room was not up to your expectation. In the future, I would love for you to experience the rooms in our Peppermill or Tuscany tower. These rooms are extremely luxurious. Usually the North tower rooms are geared towards more economical pricing or if guests would like the ease of having their cars parked in close proximity to the room. With the North tower rooms, there is parking very close to the rooms so the guests do not need to utilize Valet or the parking garage if they would like to be near their cars.

If possible, I would like to speak with you regarding your Oceano experience. We take feedback to heart at the Peppermill so we can continually improve our operation. We want all our guests to leave the Peppermill with the feeling of complete enjoyment during their visit. I have sent you a personal message through Trip Advisor with my contact information. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best regards,

Scott Evans
Executive Director of Service Excellence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our room in the Tuscany Towers was absolutely delightful. The décor was eye-popping (in a good way) and the bathroom was big enough for a small cocktail party. The first impression is a little overwhelming - crowded lobby and some confusing signage. Things got better as soon as we got to the room. We opted for cocktails at the Terrace Lounge and ate at Café Biscotti one night and the Island Buffet the second night. The more formal dining venues looked wonderful but we went the much more casual route. The casino was OK. I've liked others better and found some of the areas way too dark but I did get decent play. The hotel was recommended to us by friends to stay here exclusively when in Reno a number of times each year and I can understand why.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our stay was very pleasant and enjoyed ourselves. The room was very clean and compfortable. Service within the casino and hotel was very good. The apperance of the casino and the hotel was inviting and would recommend to friends and family. This is a beautiful place to stay. The food was exellent and employees were pleasant .

Room Tip: five dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in the Tuscany Tower. Paid a little more than the 2 older towers but would highly advise spending the extra money...well worth it. Room was beautiful with an extra large soaking jetted tub and huge beautiful walk-in shower with 2 shower heads. When you come out of the elevator, there is a large bar and the swimming pools are right there...no walking through casino in swimsuits! Outside bar with servers at the pool. When we checked in, the line was very long. There was a separate checkin for the Tuscany Tower that only took a few minutes...we were treated like VIP guests the whole stay. All employees were well trained on customer service and were great. Highly recommend staying if you just want to lay around the pool and relax or if you want to play games. There are so many eating options that we never left the resort. Great restaurants and fun games.

Room Tip: Stay in Tuscany Tower. Were on 6th floor...very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_Peppermill, Guest Relations Manager at Peppermill Resort Spa Casino, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to the Peppermill. We take great pride in the quality of our property. Also, we believe we have the friendliest employees in Reno working on our team.

I will make sure to pass along your comments to our leadership. We are glad you enjoyed the Tuscany Tower. These rooms are extremely popular with our guests. Also, thank you for sharing your photos. Our numerous pools and hot tubs are the best place in Reno to spend a summer afternoon.

Thanks again for your excellent feedback and hope you can join us again at the Peppermill in the near future.

Scott Evans
Executive Director of Service Excellence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppermill Resort Spa Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermill Resort Spa Casino

Address: 2707 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#2 Spa Hotel in Reno
#2 Family Hotel in Reno
#2 Casino Hotel in Reno
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#2 Business Hotel in Reno
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppermill Resort Spa Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1635
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the prestigious AAA Four Diamond rating for hospitality industry excellence, the Peppermill Resort Spa Casino in Reno, Nevada offers a first-class experience as well as upscale amenities that create an unforgettable stay. Peppermill offers 1635 guest rooms, including 600 lavishly appointed suites, 10 award-winning restaurants, 15 bars and lounges, two geothermally heated resort pools, the three-story Spa Toscana, and free live entertainment or dancing until the wee hours in Reno's hottest nightspot, EDGE. Custom-made, double pillow-top mattresses, 42" high-definition LCD TVs and media hubs are all featured in our guest rooms, and complimentary premium Wi-Fi is available for all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppermill Resort Spa Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppermill Hotel Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppermill Resort Spa Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.