We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite downtown casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Resort Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eldorado Resort Casino to your Saves list
Eldorado Resort Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   345 North Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Blowout
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Favorite downtown casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We haven't been to Reno in years but were passing through en route to Tahoe. I've stayed at a few different downtown locations, but this was my first time staying at the ElDorado. We loved this hotele & it exceeded my expectations! The rooms were clean & updated, the casino was good to gamble & they did a good job controlling the cig smoke, which is often an issue for me. We even won some $$! They do charge a "resort fee", but it is modest compared to other places I've stayed, & they offer free valet parking, which makes up for it in my book.
The only small negatives I noticed were 1) the carpet in the room tower hallway was nasty & really needs replaced. 2) the ceilings in the bathroom are low as are the shower heads, so if you are tall, beware. Unless you are 5'5" or under, you will be ducking to take a shower. As a previous reviewer wrote, they did a great job with a 30+ year old facility!
We hope to get back to Reno this year and plan to stay at the ElDorado again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool, which was great. Nice & quiet with a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    462
    199
    74
    71
See reviews for
195
562
102
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trevor-wa
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I've been going to Reno for 30 years and these days the Eldorado seems to be trying harder than any other casino/hotel to get your business. The rooms have been nicely updated as best they can with 30 year old rooms (ie the bathrooms still have low counters and a basic shower tub with curtain)

The staff is all very nice .

If you join their slot club and gamble a bit and are over 55 the buffet (which is very good) is $5 sunday-thursday for lunch or dinner. And if you gamble a bit more they send you decent offers (I went to see Dolly Parton on a free ticket and a free room)

The El Dorado is connected with a sky walk to the Silver Legacy and the Circus Circus so you don't have go outside in the winter to go to all 3 properties.

When you look at the room rates remember there is the now common rip off $12 "resort fee", that includes internet

Room Tip: I alwaystay in the tower above reception, this time in room 1907
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Every time my husband and I head to Reno, we check the ElDorado first, and 99% of the time that is where we stay, and we go to Reno 3 or 4 times a year.
We always valet park and those guys and girls are great at check in and on check out Sundays those folks are busting their humps to get everyone out in a timely manner.
The front desk staff are always pleasant and helpful.
The rooms are always clean and the beds and linens are comfortable and nice quality. The bell hops are extremely helpful offering to get ice for the room, or checking to see if we need anything else before they leave.
We usually sit at The Ringside Bar in the casino downstairs and our favorite bartender is Chaw (spelling ?). He always remembers us and our drinks and treats us like regulars.
We are smokers so a smoke filled casino doesn't bother me like it might others, but I think there are other casinos close by that have worse air quality.
We haven't won much in the casino lately so we do walk around to different casinos to try our luck. But the nice thing is, it is centrally located to most of the Reno casinos so it's easy to wander.
Love Tivoli Gardens Cafe, the buffet is very, very good.
The comps with a club card are good too. Stay in the Skyline Tower it's the best!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

They could only say their resort fee ($8 Which is about average, some go as high as $20 in Reno/Sparks so ask first) was so one could get 10% off at the gift shop and for the pool (which was closed)! In fact no hotel has been able to explain what a resort fee is - some say for the Health Club, for Valet parking etc etc.. THE FACT IS IT IS A CHARGE THEY DON'T SHOW OR TELL YOU ABOUT, UNTIL CHECK-IN, SO THEY CAN QUOTE YOU LOWER PRICES!

PROS: Large clean rooms with great beds-pillows, large flat screen tv (around 46"), furniture in excellent shape and bathrooms perfect (towels, toiletries etc). Short jaunt from parking from garage to casino/rooms very convenient.

CONS: Cheezy snack bar (with prices marked up 500%) with a bunch on snacks on a tray and a price list. Thermostat does not show the temperature in the room, one can only adjust it to what temp you think would be right for you. The air comes in at an angle (see picture) across the window so the room was 10 degrees colder near the window than in the middle of the room! Fan rattled all night and never went off like normal when the desired temperature was achieved.

Securit was the best of any hoel we have ever been to. They check your room key everytime you go to your room - excellent!
We ate Breakfast at the buffet and the fruit was not ripe and all but the freshly made omlet was cold or luke warm. Buffets don't work for breakfast as a rule and I understand their Lunch and Dinner is one of the best in Reno.

We have stayed at 5 hotels in Reno and they rank as follows:
1. El Dorado ($8 Resort Fee)
2. John Ascuaga's Nugget $7 Resort Fee) Inside Pool
3: Harrahs (no resort fee) Great Steak House
4. Grand Sierra Resort $20 Resort Fee) Walk a mile after you park.
5: Circus Circus - this is far down the list from the 4 hotels above

Good luck

Room Tip: Go to room and listen for heater/AC to see if it makes loud noises (vibrations, clatter etc).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have stayed at the Eldorado several times over the years. Frankly, I was never too impressed in the past. It seemed like they didn't really want you to spend any time in your room. It has been awhile since I stayed there, so was pleasantly surprised this week when I stayed there on business. First, the rooms have been updated and are very nice! Felt like a new hotel. Bed was very comfortable and I did not hear noise from surrounding rooms. The wifi worked well (free) and the room was set up for doing some work. Also, the old tvs have been replaced with large flat screen sets with Hi Def programming. Nice work Eldorado!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

It's so foul, there's actually a haze in the air. I tried to determine the nuances of the odor in the casino- I guess aside from the smoke, it reeks of Lysol, some other sickening cleaners, and unwashed bodies (locker room, and 'not' in a good way). I had to leave. Yes- all casinos here are smoking, but this is hellish. I did not have a room here, and the ratings for the hotel are above average- but the casino is another story.

If you want clean air in downtown Reno, gamble at Circus Circus. For some reason the there air is clean and odorless, no doubt in deference to the gigantic children's area on the second floor- otherwise all the smoke would go up there. If CC can keep their air breathable, even though its hotel rooms are total dives, than what's the excuse at Eldorado?

Another is Diamond's casino at Ramada- the air is routinely replaced with outside, clean, cool, mountain air from outside- but the casino is a dive, full of homeless folks (for the penny machines and restroom access), and the staff within 'will' ignore you (as in you won't be offered free drinks, etc.) you if you are not a local, even though the hotel guests are the ones spending money and keeping that place alive.

-Two cent's worth from a former smoker that now values his lungs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Manager at Eldorado Resort Casino, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
On behalf of the Eldorado Hotel Casino, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your constructive comments. We appreciate your candid concerns.
We realize that all of our guests deserve nothing less than to receive superior service and the ultimate in dining entertainment and gaming needs. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to accommodate those needs.
We have forwarded your comments on to Housekeeping and Management; constructive comments from our guests give us the opportunity to improve!
Again, we apologize and hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you better in the near future.
Sincerely,
Eldorado Hotel Casino
Reno, Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have stayed here several times and each time had an excellent experience. The rooms are updated and comfortable and the casino area is clean and bright. We especially like the dining offerings and that you can easily walk between adjacent hotels. Along the connection walkway there are many dining and entertainment options. We will certainly stay here on future visits to Reno,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Eldorado Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Resort Casino

Address: 345 North Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#12 Business Hotel in Reno
#14 Family Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldorado Resort Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience timeless luxury and friendly, personal service in the heart of Downtown Reno. Escape to the Eldorado Hotel Casino, named "Best Rooms and Suites" by Casino Player Magazine, where every detail has been considered in order to provide you with the stay of a lifetime. Lose yourself in the nonstop excitement and elegance of our luxurious Reno hotel casino. Choose from our nine award-winning Reno restaurants, including the world-renowned La Strada and Roxy. Browse for one-of-a-kind memorabilia in our shopping boutiques, or check out a Broadway-style performance in Reno’s newest showroom. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Eldorado offers the ultimate choice among downtown Reno casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Eldorado Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Reno
Eldorado Resort Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Resort Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.