We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the Reno Strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Save Saved
You added Eldorado Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Eldorado Hotel Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   345 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 66 hotels in Reno
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the Reno Strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We looked for a hotel in Reno that offered a roll away cot and the Elderado was the only one we found that could accommodate us, nice!

We also arrived before noon and they were able to get us into the room! The staff were very polite and friendly!

Spent the afternoon by the pool, spa and the pool bar. Megan the bartender was very courteous and friendly. She didn't have any souvenir glasses at pool bar...she could have nade a quick call to take care of it, but instead recommended that we head downstairs to there premier bar to get set up!

Casino was very nice and clean and rewarding (if you know what I mean).

You can't go wrong with the Elderado, for location and price!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    303
    136
    56
    54
See reviews for
113
372
68
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in Reno for the Best of the West BBQ cook off competition in Sparks. We chose the Eldorado for its central location downtown, close to the other casinos & restaurants. Reno ISN'T Las Vegas, but that's the fun of it. Reno is small, family friendly, & not at all pretentious. Just about all of the Eldorado staff we encountered were fun, friendly, attentive & helpful. Our room was on the small side & did not have a view, but we weren't there for a "view", just a lot of fun. The bathroom was kept clean & amply stocked, and seemed more spacious than the room itself. The room was clean & promptly cleaned every morning. Lots of security staff around. Several restaurants and bar areas to choose from, some OK & some very good. Absolutely loved the Roxy Lounge piano bar. It's a true hotel lounge, with an extensive martini menu & great "old" music. We made a "meal" from appetizers and martinis one night---just having too much fun to leave! It looks like a lot of the "locals" frequent the Roxy Lounge for the music, drinks & dancing. From the Eldorado you can walk to the other casinos & restaurants downtown. You can self park, or use their valet service, which was excellent. The casino was fun & had lots of games to choose from. For the price, the Eldorado is a good value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place! Clean rooms, comfortable beds and a casino that had loose slots ($.01). Close to other casinoes and restaurants. Food at buffet not great but average.
Front desk very helpful. We wanted to dance and they helped us with that request

Room Tip: If you don't need a view just take the hotels choice, other people we talked to we're as hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Of the 3 connected hotel/casino's, the Eldorado is the best of the trio (Eldorado, Silver Legacy, Circus Circus for accomodations, but I am not sure that is saying a lot. The rooms are always clean and adequate but I guess I've gotten a little too used to Las Vegas hotels. Reno is an inexpensive getaway but I wish the rooms were a little more updated, with a little more pizzazz, to get you excited about being in a gambling town.

It's always my standard location, but only when I get a great "promo" deal. Be sure to check the web for deals and call the reservation line rather than using the web. I often find you can get a better deal if you mention the online promo you are considering and simply ask, "are there any other promotions available?"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful facilities, great casino staff, great food and entertainment outlets.Location is very good, "Hot August Nights" was surprisingly good not being too crazy over vintage
cars. Hotel next door "The Silver Legacy" was very good too. Circus Circus great for kids. We really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed Aug 8-11 (Wed-Sat). Never been to Reno before and didn't know what to expect. Got a package for flight and hotel through Allegiant. Chose the Eldorado as it was one of the more inexpensive options (not the cheapest) and the reviews were good on Tripadvisor. Not disappointed with the choice. Central location for the "main strip" of downtown Reno. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Room was decent and very clean. Restaurants were good and moderately priced. Ate breakfast at the buffet Thursday and Friday. Saturday was too long a line and the price was jacked way up for the same food on the earlier, cheaper days. Had breakfast at Tivoli Saturday instead. Pretty much ate our dinners at Tivoli as well. Food was good and prices were cheaper. Tried to get into Brew Brothers and Prime Rib Grill but didn't have reservations and the wait was too long (60 mins or more on Thursday and Friday evenings). No more than 5 mins to get into Tivoli, 10 mins for breakfast on Saturday.

As we were there for HAN, it was a great location for the car show on the strip during the day and the cruise at night. We ventured a wee bit off the strip to visit the National Automobile Museum, which we recommend. As for the other events at Peppermill, the convention centre and the Grand Sierra resort, had to cab it there. Not within walking distance at all. Did chat up some police officers who were standing by us during one of the car cruises and they gave us plenty of warnings about where and what to avoid. Mentioned we were thinking of bussing it to the other places for the various car things, and they warned not to. Also warned us not to stay at the Sands and that Circus Circus was getting a bad reputation now too. Said the Eldorado and Silver Legacy were good choices, and they preferred the Eldorado personally. Lots of closed buildings and some hotels in that area. Unemployment rate is about 28% in Reno. Very sad. Tip well for good service!!

Bit of a screw up at check out. The bill slipped under our door the last morning had the room charge which we already paid for with our package. After a quick phone call to the front desk, it was removed with an apology. Shuttle service to and from the airport/hotel was quick and easy. We had asked about a shuttle to some of the other events for HAN and were told there wasn't one but we could cab it there. So we did that. While waiting for the shuttle back to the airport, we saw one pull up. Assuming it was the airport shuttle, we were surprised to learn it was the shuttle to take hotel guests to the convention centre for the Barratt Jackson auctions. It was an Eldorado shuttle and not a private one. We were a little ticked we had to spend $35 on a cab to and from the day before when this one was in operation the whole time. Could have been more money to gamble with! Oh well, lesson learned to ask two different people to make sure.

Long line at the airport for security, so make sure you get there well in advance and pre print your boarding passes to avoid having to wait to check in as well. Computer and printer to the left of the hotel check in desk so you can do just that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you are looking for a place downtown, look no further. For the price, this is the best place to stay. I like the rooms better than the Silver Legacy and Harrahs. Easy to park and the service is very welcoming. The casino is a little smaller so we usually gamble over at Silver Legacy. Rooms have a good view of Reno and there are numerous bars and restaurants nearby. We always stay at Eldorado if we are staying downtown!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eldorado Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel Casino

Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel
Eldorado Hotel Reno
Eldorado Resort Reno
Address: 345 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#13 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldorado Hotel Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience timeless luxury and friendly, personal service in the heart of Downtown Reno. Escape to the Eldorado Hotel Casino, named "Best Rooms and Suites" by Casino Player Magazine, where every detail has been considered in order to provide you with the stay of a lifetime. Lose yourself in the nonstop excitement and elegance of our luxurious Reno hotel casino. Choose from our nine award-winning Reno restaurants, including the world-renowned La Strada and Roxy. Browse for one-of-a-kind memorabilia in our shopping boutiques, or check out a Broadway-style performance in Reno’s newest showroom. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Eldorado offers the ultimate choice among downtown Reno casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Eldorado Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.