We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino royale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Resort Casino

Save Saved
You added Eldorado Resort Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eldorado Resort Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   345 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 65 hotels in Reno
St Louis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Casino royale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Though I am not a fan of casinos and gambling, we found ourselves staying in Reno for 2 nights and chose the El Dorado. The lobby of the hotel is very nice and the staff was wonderful. The rooms are clean and well done. With the connections to the Silver Legacy it opened up more restaurants and bars. There was a connection to Circus Circus, but that was awful over there. There was free parking and easy to get in and out of the hotel. We took a day trip around Lake Tahoe that made the experience even better. A surprisingly nice venue to stay in.

Room Tip: Make sure and upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Resort Casino, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello TravellerStLouis,

Thank you for posting a review of the Eldorado Hotel Casino on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at the Eldorado as well as that you had great experiences with our staff. We aim to give our guests the most satisfying stay with us possible, so it is always fantastic to hear good feedback! Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Sincerely,

Eldorado Hotel Casino
Reno, NV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    336
    146
    58
    55
See reviews for
130
404
73
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodfish, California, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked a luxury room for two nights for a family event in Reno. Got a great deal for a room that normally, in any other town or hotel, would cost over $150 a night. Twenty-first floor with a great view of snow-covered mountains. Super comfy bed with fluffy pillows. We loved every bit of the room. Staff was the friendliest we've met in a long time from the front desk to the valet. Clean casino even though we are used to non-smoking buildings - they really tried to keep the air fresh!! Room was definitely NON-smoking. Thanks again for a great 2 days!!

Room Tip: Twenty-first floor is quiet with excellent view. Go the extra $10 for the luxury room. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Resort Casino, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello Nancy P,

Thank you for posting a review of the Eldorado Hotel Casino! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us, that our staff helped give you the experience you deserve and that you were able to get a great view of the beautiful Sierra Nevada mountains - we love our view too. We hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Sincerely,

Eldorado Hotel Casino
Reno, NV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Eldorado and took advantage of the Room/Show package when the Jersey Nights show was there a few weeks ago. We asked for a room with a king bed but they said that there were none available when we checked in and they gave us a room with 2 queens. When we arrived at the room, I looked at the "queen beds", walked around them a couple of times sizing them up. The beds sure appeared to be two double beds to me. I'm not whiny and wouldn't normally change rooms if they were really queen beds but I knew that these "small sized queen beds" would not be working for my husband and I. My husband called down to the front desk and the front desk manager found a king bedded room for us immediately and we moved to it.

We enjoyed the fact that we could walk from hotel to hotel and snoop around and explore the adjacent hotels without going outside.

Downtown Reno is "run down" and yes there is quite a homeless population there....just know that before you go outside your hotel. However, I can say that we walked on the Truckee River pathway and we walked to the Harrah's Car Museum from the Eldorado as well and didn't feel unsafe at all.

I am not sure that I would go back downtown to th ehotels there, I would probably stay at the GSR or the Nugget again the next time I am out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Resort Casino, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello rubyskymom,

Thank you for posting a review of the Eldorado Hotel Casino on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, as well as that our Front Desk staff was able to rectify the situation with your room and get you the king size bed you had requested. We are however sorry you did not think much of Downtown Reno. That being said, we do thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have you back as our guest again!

Sincerely,

Eldorado Hotel Casino
Reno NV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, West Lothian
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Mu husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Lake Tahoe and the surrounding area. We choose the Eldorado due to it's fairly good TA rating and cheap room rates. This was our first time in Reno so we were a little unsure of what to expect - we had been to Vegas twice before so maybe our expectations were a little high. The area around the hotel is run down with quite a lot of homeless people. The hotel itself has the horrible smokey smell which is vaguely disgused by some type of air conditioning - Vegas hotels seem to have managed this problem quite well. Queues at check-in were long and the staff were not very well-informed and not particularly friendly. We were given a room on the 7th floor which had twin beds even though we had specifically requested a king bed. The bathroom was extremely dated with the veneer of the bath flaking and a rusty, awful shower head. The windows let in a terrible draft and there was a large wet patch (not sure what it was -didn't really want to check too closely!) under my husband's bed. As is standard, we had to pay for internet access, water, mini bar etc. The hotel itself was fairly standard with a large casino and various shops. The best thing about the hotel was the Brew Brothers Bar - we went to watch the world series and had some great classic bar food and tried some of the mini brew samplers. I would never stay here again but I guess you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Resort Casino, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello KC0311,

Thank you for posting a review of the Eldorado Hotel Casino on TripAdvisor. We appreciate getting our guests' feedback so we can try and meet all of their expectations! That being said, we were disappointed to hear we missed the mark with you and your husband. We are particularly sorry for the state of the room you were placed in. We know it's frustrating to even have to ask, but our Front Desk would have been happy to find another room for you in better conditions. The Eldorado's highest goal is our guests' satisfaction and so we are sorry we missed the mark with you. We are however happy you enjoyed The Brew Brothers! We hope to have another chance to improve your impression of the Eldorado Hotel Casino one day!

Sincerely,

Eldorado Hotel Casino
Reno, NV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lkv
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

this is not an adult show by any means of measure , i have never wanted a show to end so much . not much there for the kids either around $25.00 each , go see a movie. it was the poorest show i have ever seen. shame on the hotel for this ..

Room Tip: spa tower rooms are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, Califorinia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had first stay at the Eldorado after several trips to the adjacent -- and newer -- Silver Legacy. Found it to be at least on par and slightly less expensive. Fautless trip....may have helped that it appeared to be a slow weekend between 3-day Veterans Day and 4-day Thanksgiving weekends. Check-in and bellman quick and efficient... room (deluxe with 2 queens) spacious and well appointed...good separation of shower/toilet and wash basin/counter. No line at check our and prompt bell service. The Buffet -- one luinch, one dinner and one breakfast -- was excellent each time and the 24-hour coffee shop was fine, too. Only minor glitch was self -parking. Included in your "resort fee" but you still have to get your gate ticket validated at the desk each time... why not just show your room key/card to the attendant? And can get dizzy circling up to the eighth floor (of 10) to find an empty stall on Fridayi and Saturday night.

Room Tip: Spring for the extra $10 or so for a more spacious "deluxe" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at the Eldorado on November 11th for a concert. Only reason i stay at the downtown casinos is becuase they are really close to the Reno events center. The front desk staff was professional not all that friendly but not rude. The room was clean and somewhat small. I requested a room near a elevator but instead was given a room as far away from the elevator as i think is possible. The hotel is older and is not geared towards family as much as the Atlantis casino or the Peppermill casino which are both located at the sound end of Reno. The price was right and came with one free buffett. If you have to stay downtown its not a bad place but all the downtown casions are showing their age.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eldorado Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Resort Casino

Address: 345 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#12 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldorado Resort Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience timeless luxury and friendly, personal service in the heart of Downtown Reno. Escape to the Eldorado Hotel Casino, named "Best Rooms and Suites" by Casino Player Magazine, where every detail has been considered in order to provide you with the stay of a lifetime. Lose yourself in the nonstop excitement and elegance of our luxurious Reno hotel casino. Choose from our nine award-winning Reno restaurants, including the world-renowned La Strada and Roxy. Browse for one-of-a-kind memorabilia in our shopping boutiques, or check out a Broadway-style performance in Reno’s newest showroom. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Eldorado offers the ultimate choice among downtown Reno casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Eldorado Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Reno
Eldorado Resort Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Resort Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;