We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2375 Market Street, Reno, NV 89702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,243 reviews 1,243 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 319 cities Reviews in 319 cities
523 helpful votes 523 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel near the Reno/Tahoe Airport is a very good value and a nice facility. We stayed here for a conference at the Grand Sierra Resort and it proved to be very convenient for that purpose. I was also very impressed with the service at this hotel as the shuttle driver was willing to transport us anywhere in town.

My colleague and I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the airport and to the conference site as well as the reasonable room rate they offered. Upon arriving on my flight late in the afternoon, I was able to get a ride from the shuttle to the hotel without any problem. The hotel appearance was typical of an HI Express. The lobby area was spacious with a multi-story ceiling. The breakfast room was adjacent to the lobby and quite comfortable. I was checked in quite quickly and efficiently by a very polite and friendly front desk attendant.

My room on the second floor was clean and spacious. The work area was quite conducive to the use of laptop. The WiFi worked well throughout my stay and the amenities were all in order. The bed was comfortable allowing me a good night's sleep and the noise level was not problematic during the course of my stay. Other reviewers had complained about the airport and highway noise but I never experienced a problem.

The location of this hotel off the highway was a 20-minute walk from the Grand Sierra which was reasonable. However, that was the closest access to a decent restaurant. Other than fast food, the nearest restaurant, a Denny's, was about 0.8 miles and there was a Carrow's about 1.1 miles away. Hence, it was a significant hike to get to a decent place to eat. The compensation for this was the shuttle, which was offered to us liberally. They drove us to either do shopping or to access dining on at least three different occasions. This was a great help and a terrific service that enhanced our experience.

The morning breakfast was pretty good and up to expectations based on my past experience with other HI Express locations. There were eggs and either sausage or bacon as well as gravy with biscuits. There were also breads, yogurt, cereals, juices and coffee. It was not elegant but nevertheless quite adequate.

The room rate was very good for the quality of the accommodations. My rate was $116 which was a very good value in my estimation.

Overall, this is a very good choice for a hotel in Reno. The location near the airport is quite convenient and the availability of the shuttle makes up for the lack of conveniences in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. The service is good and the accommodations are quite nice. Overall, for the price paid it is a very good value.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    56
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
43
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for a wedding the same afternoon we arrived and needed a place to change into our wedding clothes. The woman at the front desk was very accomodating and made sure our rooms were ready early. Our room was large and nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. The AC unit was about as quiet as one can be. The shower had good water pressure. The breakfast is definitely a couple of steps up from the norm and the eating area is very large. It's close to the airport and freeway, but our room was very quiet. We feel comfortable recommending this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSN001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear RoadTrip E:
At the Reno Holiday Inn Express, we are always delighted when we read reviews such as yours. We are particularly happy that our attempt at providing excellent service, led to a "nothing but a great experience" for you! We really appreciate you and hope that you will make us your only stop for rest whenever you are in town. Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Sincerely,
Kenny Nagra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I come to Reno often and have tried several hotels in the area.
I'm not one to gravitate to the casino hotels so the Express is a logical choice.
Every time I have stayed at this hotel they have done an excellent job, from the rooms and the staff, to the breakfast and the access in and out.

This visit was no exception. My plane was late getting in and even though the shuttle quit running at 10:00pm that night, the front desk kept the driver over and had him there at the airport picking me up 30 minutes after his shift ended.

It is this service and caring that keep me a Holiday Inn loyal customer!

Room Tip: At check in, look for fresh baked cookies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSN001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest
Wow! Your review does nothing but bring us great satisfaction and motivation to keep working hard and being a excellent for our guests. Thank you! We appreciate your "gushing" because this inspires us to keep giving our best in all our service. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel, thank you for your kind comments, and thank you for taking the time to write this review for the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Reno Airport. You are truly appreciated!
Sincerely,
Kenny Nagra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the nicer Holiday Inn Express locations which I've stayed at across the US & Canada. Clean, modern (new!), high ceilings in the rooms and common areas, generally above-average for this chain. Service was helpful and conscientious from the front desk staff to the breakfast buffet attendent. Location is a bit tricky to find from RNO, however, only ~ 5 minutes from RNO airport once you find your bearings and offers convenient access to local freeways (N-S and E-W), both the I-80 and 395/ 580. Highly recommend this property and will stay here again next time in Reno. Great stay :)

Room Tip: Away from vending machines and elevators always a good idea. These rooms tend to be quieter. This ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSN001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear valued guest,
Thank you very much for writing the very kind review for the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Reno Airport. We appreciate your feedback and comments. We will use them to spur us on in providing a excellent experience for all our guests. Thank you once again and we do hope you return to stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Kenny Nagra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As frustrated as I am with the IHG Rewards program, I have to say the Holiday Inn Express in Reno delivered on my most recent stay. The hotel is convenient to the airport, and is walking distance to the Harley Davidson store, but a care is definitely a plus if staying there. The breakfast staff was setting up early so I was able to grab a couple of items to snack on as I went to the airport.

This stay was a contributor to the current IHG promotion, making this the second of three Holiday Inn Expresses to stay at, and the second of eight nights for another part of the promotion. The Holiday Inn Expresses have become the best brand in the IHG program, in my opinion. This property was relatively new, well cared for, and very presentable. The fitness center was a couple of notches above the typical treadmill, bike, and elliptical with a couple of weight machines which are always welcome when travelling.

I was upgraded to a King Suite, which provided some additional space and a nice touch. The room had a refrigerator and microwave, so for planning purposes, you should be good if you're looking for those amenities.

Room Tip: The hotel faces I-580/Highway 395, so rooms on the opposite side of the hotel will probably be less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSN001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your kind review for the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Reno Airport. We are glad that our goal to provide an excellent level of service and accommodation to our guests was achieved during your stay. Reviews such as yours warm our hearts and spur us on to keep doing what we do, and do it better. Please come and visit us again soon. Thank you once more.
Regards,
Kenny Nagra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A top quality motel to stay. Arrived in Reno 2 days earlier than expected so booked in at another motel down the road, then moved to Holiday Inn Express on the 3rd day. This motel is very good, rooms huge and beds, pillows extremely comfortable. There are 2 choices of pillows on the bed, soft and firm so take your pick. Lots of choices for breakfast. Very clean motel, cannot fault it. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSN001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear MillieW:
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Reno Airport. We truly appreciate your very kind comment and Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you found the beds and pillows to be comfortable and breakfast meets your need! We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you for your business.
Sincerely,
Kenny Nagra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Holiday Inn has bulit a nice-looking new unit but made a huge mistake in location. It is very close to the airport, but it faces the elevated Interstate just in front and at a point where motorcycles and trucks seem to nee to accelerate. The noise is so loud that standing right next to my Subaru I could not here it beep to confirn that the doors had locked. The staff in the hotel said that the nise was bad in the front facing rooms and they tried to place me to the back. They could not have been more willing or flexible. Even at the very back the noise was there as a level that would make sleep impossible for at least me. Is they had cooling/heating units that would operate for more that a few minutes, that would have helped, However, heir laudble energy efficient units were of no white noise help,

Beware. Holiday Inn Express made a siting error with this unit. Don't let that mistake deprive you of a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSN001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Value Guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback for the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Reno Airport. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We are apologize for the inconvenience the noise may have caused you. We appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Kenny Nagra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno

Address: 2375 Market Street, Reno, NV 89702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#7 Family Hotel in Reno
#8 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new in 2008, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Reno is just minutes away from the Reno Tahoe International Airport . Nestled at the base of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, the hotel is conveniently located off US-395 and a half mile south of I-80. he hotel features complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet, a meeting room, a hot breakfast buffet served daily, a health and fitness center, business center, guest laundry, indoor pool and whirlpool. The Reno area will keep you fully entertained with a variety of activities such as skiing, boating, golfing, snowshoeing, hiking, mountain biking, and kayaking. So Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Reno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.