We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Charleston Lodge

Mount Charleston Lodge
1200 Old Park Rd, Mount Charleston, NV 89124
(702) 872-5408
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Niles, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I made our annual trek to the Mt. Charleston Lodge outside Las Vegas, NV. As always, the scenery was fantastic, without alot of snow.

This year, however, I was not as impressed with the dining room. The floors were especially dirty. Dropped food items were visible. The chair I was given had a wet fabic seat; wet enough that it seemed as though a large quantity of water had been dumped on it.

Service was very good, as usual and the food was good. I had a 1/4 chile dog, which was a meal in itself without the fries. Everyone in the group liked the food. I'm sure we will return next year!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    24
    36
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven away from Vegas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My hubby and I spent Christmas in one of the lodges a few years ago so this was a reunion. The restaurant was as lovely as we remembered we had a lovely lunch and the famous charleston coffee. The Christmas shop within the lodge is amazing as is the gentlemen who owns the shop. I would highly recommend everyone who visits Vegas to pop up the mountain and enjoy the views and the hospitality. We shared a sandwich and some fish n chips. We asked to sit my the window where we could be inspired by the most breath taking scenery. The lodge is a hidden gem. If your brave you could also pop to the ski resort,,,,,,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After spending a few days conferencing in Vegas it was time to get into the mountains and breathe some clean air. The restaurant is rustic by city standards, however, is perfectly adequate for its setting in a mountain reserve.
It had just finished snowing by the time we got to the Lodge, so was bitterly cold (did not come prepared), so walking was not an option.
We headed for the restaurant, and were warmly greeted by our host and shown a table with a great view.
The service was friendly and helpful, the food tasted superb, and the wine was good quality for a fair price.
The huge fireplace in the center of the restaurant adds to the ambiance.
There is currently (Nov 12) quite a lot of construction work going on in the village, so drive carefully.
A pity that we did not have more time before heading back down the mountain.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Thanksgiving Meal for 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a family meal at the Lodge for Thanksgiving this year. All of us live outside Las Vegas. So, in order - reservations for a table were fine, we were in the dining room at our appointed time, we were seated in a nice little private "circle" area (off from the regular floor traffic), moved our way through the food line (I assume Thanksgiving is the busiest food day of the year), had a great mix of nice food. Service was good, considering how busy they are. Overall, everyone did a great job, and we had a nice meal. The Executive Chef stopping by was a nice touch also. Well done to all the crew for Thanksgiving - everyone earned their pay that day. We'll be back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good meal after a great hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

visited in the afternoon with a large group. We were seated immediately despite a very busy dining room. The service was ok, but the food was very good. We had salads and pizzas. The veggies were fresh and crisp. House made dressings. The live music was a very nice touch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Charleston Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Mount Charleston Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Charleston Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.