We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carson Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carson Valley Inn to your Saves list
Carson Valley Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1627 Highway 395 North, Minden, NV 89423   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delightfully surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We unexpectedly were required to stay a few nights in downtown Minden this past April. Though the outside of the Carson Valley Inn Casino wasn't flashy or strongly appealing, we were quite surprised with the dining and lodging facilities. We stayed in the motor lodge on the backside away from traffic noise and found our room to be great with an extremely comfortable bed. One night we dined at CJ Steak and had a terrific meal. Since we were staying during the week, our rates were ridiculously low, which added to the lodge's appeal.

We would also highly recommend the Amerikan Ni Sushi restaurant just down the street from the Inn. Food was fantastic.

Room Tip: We always consider road traffic, sun rise direction, and overall business activity in the early morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
54
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Nice room for the price. Clean, not fancy. Stayed one night. Stayed in the motor lodge, short walk to casino.

Room Tip: Motor lodge second floor, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I recently went to a private event at the Carson Valley Casino and Inn. After reading their very good web site, it became apparent that the less expensive rooms were in the CV Motor Lodge, which is owned by the Casino. Check in is at the main casino hotel registration, same as the rooms there.

The unexpected bonus turned out to be multi-fold. Not only where the rooms at the motor lodge a little nicer, more recently renovated and quieter, but the pleasant distance from the casino meant less parking lot traffic as well. We ended up in a King, non-smoking room at the rear corner of the Motor Lodge and it was delightful. The walk across from the motor lodge, thru the RV park to the casino turned out to be no big deal and quite pleasant.

Our only down side was the ice machine being in the middle of the motor lodge complex, which really wasn't a big deal. The bed was a little soft/flimsy, but we still slept well. Immediate hot water and nice pressure too.

We didn't have any neighbors, so couldn't say if the walls were thin or not, but our stay was very enjoyable. Friends that stayed in the Inn described rooms that were larger, but more dated. We also loved being able to park outside our door so we didn't have to lug our gear a distance.

We also discovered that the restaurant in the casino serves an excellent Monte Cristo, a close second to the Blue Bijou at Disneyland.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, rear building of the Motor Lodge is perfect. The odd numbered rooms, (4137 and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Part of the joy of traveling is finding the unexpected gem and being able to share it with fellow travelers. Sometimes, it's easy to overlook the local prize. Such is the case with the Carson Valley Inn. Just 15 minutes from my home, it's a convenient getaway. When my furnace recently went south, it was a necessary one. The hotel offers ample-sized rooms -- smoking and nonsmoking -- in a rural setting. Unlike Reno, where your view is the hotel next door, you are likely to awaken to mooing from the cows in the pasture behind the parking lot. And while it's on a major highway (U.S. 395), it is very quiet. Except for the occasional cow. The casino is large and modern, with the newest games and a cheery staff. Smoke, unfortunately, is an issue, but that's always a downside of a casino. It offers a steakhouse, which is excellent -- on a par with anything in Reno in food, price and service. It is dark on Mondays and Tuesdays. CVI also has a coffee shop which is, well, very, very coffee shop. It feeds you food. There's local entertainment most nights and a general atmosphere of ``we're glad you're here.'' Whenever I stay there, I'm glad to be there, too.

Room Tip: End rooms are huge and face the cows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

CVI is truly a well run machine. We ate, gambled, drank, sang, danced (yes, sang/danced after drinks) without the worry of driving. The hotel rooms were exceptionally clean, tastfully renovated with newspaper delivery every morning.
The food was incredible! We had coffee, smoothie and Danish every morning in the coffee shop, dinner at Katie's one evening and dinner in the Steak House. Again, the service and friendliness of the staff was off the chart excellent. Extended menues and food to die for. Beautiful scenery and fresh air in Minden. We definitely will go back.
Friendliest town in NV! Sheila DeMoss

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel/casino underwent a new owner and complete remodel just in last three years and it is now an off the beaten path gem. Located south of Carson City in the small community of Minden/Gardnerville it is quiet at night, with up scale clientele in restaurants lodging and casino. Staff is friendly, efficient and seem genuinely glad to see you. They even remember your name after only one or two visits. Food is plentiful (splitting is not discouraged) and delicious in Katies Cafe (open 24 hrs) and the Steak House is reasonably priced but romantic and staffed by knowledgeable wait staff and wine pairings are excellent. Newer type video gaming and great pts rewards make the casino a fun spot any time day or night. Entertainment on stage week-nights offers 60's local bands and some jazz singers also. Free comps issued each month for discounted rooms, food credits, and slot reward cash make frequent visits more economical than most other destinations. So visit this gem and see what all the fuss is about---it will more than likely be over you!!!

Room Tip: First floor is smoking rooms but those have little odor due to ionization machines used by staff. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel and casino in march rooms and hotel have all been renovated ,the restaurants are very nice with good food,whether its fine dining or casual they have both.Desserts ( pie and cake ) are made there and are very good.People working there are all nice and friendly.Along with table games and slots they have sports betting also.

Room Tip: If a suite is what you like they have very spacious suits with refrig.,micro ,living room Jacuzzi wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carson Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Valley Inn

Address: 1627 Highway 395 North, Minden, NV 89423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carson Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carson Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Valley Hotel Minden
Carson Valley Minden
Carson Valley Inn Minden
Carson Valley Inn Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Minden, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carson Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.