We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL AND CASINO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carson Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carson Valley Inn to your Saves list
Carson Valley Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1627 US Highway 395 North, Minden, NV 89423   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boonville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL AND CASINO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel and casino in march rooms and hotel have all been renovated ,the restaurants are very nice with good food,whether its fine dining or casual they have both.Desserts ( pie and cake ) are made there and are very good.People working there are all nice and friendly.Along with table games and slots they have sports betting also.

Room Tip: If a suite is what you like they have very spacious suits with refrig.,micro ,living room Jacuzzi wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
62
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
2,449 reviews 2,449 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 447 cities Reviews in 447 cities
1,406 helpful votes 1,406 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Carson Valley Inn has large hotel rooms. The hotel has been going through renovation during the past two years. The rooms are very large. Some (not all) have new furniture. These are very nice. The standard room has comfortable beds; large swimming pool. There is a large indoor swimming pool - it has good hours from about 6 in the morning till 12 at night. Katies, which is one of their restaurants there, has 24 hour service. Portions are large; prices are very good. There is also a steakhouse. Casino is nice size (not super large) but large enough to have a wide variety of slot machines. Many locals play there as well. There is live music on several nights during the week. Free parking service; or you can also valet. Baggage help is available.

If you do play in the casino, they do monthly offers. Given your level of play, you can get reduced rates for the room; and sometimes free stays.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are great if you want to go swimming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The hotel gives excellent answer to a one night during a road as well as a good place to gamble (gambling lobby, Vegas style) and drink a cold beer. The room was very big and the beds where large and comfortable. There is air-condition and coffee machine in the room. Recommended

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

There was nothing really wrong with the hotel, nor was there any outstanding feature of the hotel. The main problem for me is that the smell of smoke permeates the hotel. I am from California and I know the smoking laws are different in Nevada and so this may be why and it wouldn't bother a "Nevadian". The staff was very nice, the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Bathroom was huge, lots of counter space. It was one of those kind of rooms that you can hear the shower from the room above in the wall, the loud water noise. Also the walking around from the room upstairs was noticeable. I would stay on a to floor if I went again to avoid this.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor to avoid noise from room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were visiting Lake Tahoe and found this location to provide lots of activities and amenities away from the lake. When we were ready to go to the lake it was a short and BEAUTIFUL drive! The room was newly remodeled and very nice with lots of electrical outlets to charge all your devices in the evening. The room was also a nice size (no tripping over the corner of the bed to get around).

We were pleasantly surprised by the restaurants on the property as well. We had expected to eat outside the hotel, but after the first evening at CV Steak and breakfast at Katie's we had all our meals there. The menus had a lot of diversity with something for everyone!

By far the best place to stay in the valley!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Minden is a small town, there is little to do. Staying in this hotel will give you stuff to do at night. It is also very conveniently located next to nice restaurants and a winery. Food from the hotel restaurants was also cheap and not bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have been coming to the Carson Valley on and off for 7 years or so to visit family. Up until the last few years, when the fine Holiday Inn Express joined the hotel scene, the Carson Valley Inn was just about the only decent hotel option while visiting family. And you got both what you paid for and the lack of decent local competition would imply: a smokey, smelly, worn and depressing casino hotel with decrepit furniture, cathode-ray televisions, and the very cheapest bathroom and amenities. Recently, no doubt to address the challenge presented by the clean, modern, smoke-free Holiday Inn, with pillow-top beds and complimentary breakfast, the CVInn has been renovating their property. Unfortunately, even as return guests we were unable to secure one of these renovated rooms on our recent holiday stay.
The room was advertised as 'non-smoking'. But when the CVInn promises that, it promises just that. The strong smell of tobacco smoke (and indeed, possibly the smoke itself) frequently wafted into our room from the main hallway. While the old bed and television has been replaced, even in the 'non-renovated' rooms, our room remained sub-par.
The staff and service of the CV Inn is friendly and competent enough. But if your main focus is on local recreation or a family visit and if you are even mildly offended by, or allergic to, cigarette smoke, I caution you to investigate other options. The Holiday Inn, as I mention, is a good alternative, though it does tend to come in more expensive than the CV Inn. You may not regret paying up for it, though.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently renovated rooms, away from smoking rooms and as far away from the casino...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carson Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Valley Inn

Address: 1627 US Highway 395 North, Minden, NV 89423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carson Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carson Valley Inn is a full service hotel/casino located in Minden, Nevada 15 miles south of Carson City and 20 minutes from world class skiing at Heavenly at Tahoe. We are 25 minutes from the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. The Carson Valley Inn has been completely remodeled in the last 5 years. Our casino features table games, live poker, 600 slots and Race and Sports Book. We have two lounges, one with free live entertainment nightly. Our main hotel features a pool, spas, business center and fitness facility. WE have free Wifi. For our value conscious guests we have a motor lodge adjacent to the main hotel. We also have an RV Resort featuring full hook-ups and shower facilities. There is a laundromat. Restaurants: In CV Steak, enjoy great dining, exceptional value and a comfortable atmosphere perfect for a special occasion, casual gathering with friends, or a let's-not-cook-tonight escape. Katie's Country Kitchen, our 24-hour coffee shop has a comfortable atmosphere, generous menu selections, and value-packed specials that makes this restaurant a favorite among locals and hotel and RV park guests. Katie's Nightly Dinner Specials. Stop by Job's Perk for morning coffee, pastries, sandwiches, afternoon snacks and wine. The Carson Valley Inn has 6000 square feet of meeting space and TJ's Corral is our concert venue featuring some of the biggest names in country and rock & roll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carson Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Valley Hotel Minden
Carson Valley Minden
Carson Valley Inn Minden
Carson Valley Inn Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Minden, NV

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carson Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.