We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clams were astonishingly good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Ridge Winery and Bistro and Olive Oil Market

Tahoe Ridge Winery and Bistro and Olive Oil Market
1644 Highway 395, Minden, NV 89423
775-783-1566
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Minden
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Nevada Winey and Bistro,serving Lunch and Dinner, Full Bar and Happy Hour,Local food,smallplates,sandwiches,pizza,full dinners. Free Wine Tastings. Olive Oil and Vinegar Market with 36 flavors with Free Tastings. Gift shop,Outside Deck.
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clams were astonishingly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Who knew? I drive this stretch of 395 all the time and zoomed right by. Had some great cheap wine from NV grapes and the best clams in wine and garlic...ever. We sat on the back porch and enjoyed sun. Could not even hear the traffic. Really nice service staff- super friendly without being intrusive. I'll be back cuz I hear the pizza is great too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Like the Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We search out wineries on our trips. This winery was directly across the street from our room at the Carson Valley Inn. While we went for the wine tasting, we stayed for the Happy Hour Small Plates dinner & a glass of wine. Just what we wanted after a day on the road. Bought some wine for the friends we were visiting. Came back later for wine to take home. Only complaint was that the white wine we really liked was not yet for sale waiting for the legally required labels. Might have to order some.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close but no cigar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Because of the lovely exterior you hope for a good experience but unfortunately it falls a bit short. The food is good, but overpriced for what you get. The wine is ok. The noise level is horrendous if you are there when there is a crowd. If you want intimate - pass.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good but not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Easy drive from Reno area. Extensive olive oil tasting. Small wine bar with fee to taste. Wines OK, some better than others. Also some sweet reds (not my thing but interesting). Some of the wines need abit more aging for my particular pallet. I had lunch, an eggplant stack which was drowning in sauce but was not spicy enough so was a bit bland despite. It was served with mashed potatoes (perhaps the need for all the sauce?) which seemed an odd pairing to me. I will admit I dropped a small bundle on birthday gifts as they did have some nice merchandise. All in all a good visit for a lazy Sunday afternoon, very friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Some people really like it, but not for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Some people really like this place, but we wouldn't recommend it. Small portions, and expensive.
Some of the food is good, and some we don't care for. We lived in Sonoma county and know good wine, and the wine here is lacking and overpriced. $12 for a half full glass of so-so wine is not for us.
But if you like this place , continue to go. It is just not for us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Ridge Winery and Bistro and Olive Oil Market also viewed

 

Been to Tahoe Ridge Winery and Bistro and Olive Oil Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Ridge Winery and Bistro and Olive Oil Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.