We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap, what more can you ask for?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin River Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Virgin River Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Virgin River Hotel & Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Pioneer Blvd., Mesquite, NV 89027   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mesquite
Strathmore, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap, what more can you ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just went through on a quick one night stop on the way to California from Canada. Booked about a week in advance, and got the advertised $24.99 rate. The room is very basic, but very clean. Water pressure somewhat iffy, could possibly even be the shower head itself. Beds comfortable, pillows are fine. Heat works well in the room.

Ate at the a la carte restaurant for dinner. I had the Asian Chicken Salad, great size portion for the $7, my older son had the $6 Prime Rib - HUGE portion, my younger son had the $7 burger, he said it was very good, and my husband went all out with the T-bone and shrimp combo for $12.

Breakfast next morning was also very good - $3 for 2 huge pancakes, 2 eggs, and a choice of bacon, sausage or ham. More than filled us up to start off the day.

We didn't use the pool facilities as they are outside, and it was just too cold to go for a swim.
It did look super clean, and would be a great place to sit during the day when its warm out.

All in all, a great place to stop for a night, and we will do it again as we travel that way quite often now. Be sure to book early as they do not have many rooms for the $24.99 promo if you know you'll be stopping there.

Room Tip: Pet rooms are the ones with no carpet. Regular rooms are carpeted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyBlackSrCOO, Owner at Virgin River Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. I totally agree with you, all in all a great place to stop for the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    165
    127
    69
    81
See reviews for
127
151
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at Virgin River for 1 night on our way to Zion. The room cost $17 and was simple but clean. No frills, but the price was right!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night as we were passing through on our way to California, after having driven nearly 2,000 miles of our road trip. I have to say, the rooms were much better than some of the reviews would have you believe. The rooms were basic, but VERY clean. Not overly spacious - but if you're staying at a hotel connected to a casino, odds are that you probably won't spend a lot of time in the room. And you sure can't beat the price! Good move on their part to not have carpet, since pets are allowed. We were told that someone would have to come and inspect the room prior to check out; that process was quick and very smooth - someone was to our room within just a few minutes of calling. We had dinner at the buffet located inside the casino... excellent selection and even better food! I would most definitely stay here again if I was in the area, and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed one Friday night in July 2009 while driving from Canada to Vegas. Staff were great, Players Club a good deal and the room was fine for what we paid. My wife thought that it was like what Vegas was like back in the day. The casino was fine and the buffet was at least as good if not better than any in Vegas. The restaurant had a delay on my meal so they comped both of our meals. All in all a fun stop.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyBlackSrCEO, Owner at Virgin River Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
I love when a guest compares us to Vegas! Glad you were able to experience the great value of the Virgin River! See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

we stayed here as part of a golf and stay package. This is a simple motel type establishment. The check in has a line up but the wait was not long. We stayed the 16th and 17th of November 2011.
The room was large, we had the second floor near the stairs, there was some noise but not bad. Sink area is apart from the tub and toilet area,. The room loosed rather worn, but seemed reasonably clean.
The two beds were different - one was new and had a pillow top - comfortable,. The TV was an old smaller tube style. The room had new carpet and paint.
There was a table and chairs near the window.
I would cerainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyBlackSrCEO, Owner at Virgin River Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
I am glad you were able to take advantage of our great stay and play package! Hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Like most, I was intrigued by the $29 room Rate. I had stayed here twice before. Check in was a breeze, this facility seems well managed. Parking is great, the Casino is small but I do not mind that, gambling is gambling. The WORST part is the fact that I consumed a months worth of second hand smoke. It actually drove me out of the Casino. The Buffet was a good value, the food fair. The room was average, no complaints really other than the Smokers in the Casino. So 29+50 lost gambling $79 room after all. I hung my clothes outside that night to air out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the casino, the fresh air will do you good. Oh, and they charge ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyBlackSrCEO, Owner at Virgin River Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Great value, breezy check-in, great parking, good food... that's the Virgin River!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

10 dollar charge for dog, 50 dollar deposit for dog, room has to be inspected before you check out. Rooms are bare bone. No coffee pot, no iron, no hair dryer, no microwave, no frig, small room. nothing. Beds are very old, pillow very uncomfortable. 10 dollars for internet which is user unfriendly. Stay at Best Western.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyBlackSrCEO, Owner at Virgin River Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virgin River Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin River Hotel & Casino

Address: 100 Pioneer Blvd., Mesquite, NV 89027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Mesquite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mesquite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Virgin River Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 722
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Virgin River Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin River Hotel Mesquite
Virgin River Hotel And Casino
Virgin River Mesquite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin River Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.