We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Laughlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tropicana Laughlin to your Saves list
Tropicana Laughlin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 S. Casino Drive, Laughlin, NV 89029 (Formerly Tropicana Express)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I stayed at the Tropicana Express over the Memorial Day weekend. The hotel was packed. I had a room on the 19th floor of the 2nd tower and this was the most quiet room I have ever stayed in at a casino resort. The rooms have been recently upgraded, but you still feel like you are in an older room. The room was clean and the beds were great. I have no complaints. I would definately stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    217
    144
    84
    73
See reviews for
104
259
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bullhead City, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

My husband and I wanted to get away for a night so we stayed in a jacuzzi suite.
it was excellent and the room was awsome.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Very clean. Nice entertainment. Love the Italian restaurant. Pool and hot tub very nice and very clean. Always stay here and it's always a fun time. Love the view of the mountains from the pool.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

booked trip online for annaversery paid xtra for a room with view up front close to casino do to my wife being dissabled when we arrived they put us in back tower on 20th floor .I asked for a room in front tower due to her dissability and they told me therewould be additional charges and there would be no view so to the back we went long walk up ramp not only was there store closed back there but the coffee shop was allso closed you had to walk to casino area to get coffee or a paper in the morning. what a nightmare that turned out to be you get treated much better at the other casinos to top it off it took the bell service 50 min to deliver our bags to our room I was told they didnt have as much staff working during midweek (wed) since it was so slow. Gene Carter

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Arrived at 10:35 p.m. on a Thursday. It took 1/2 hour to check in (and standing) because they did not have enough personnel on duty to handle the amount of people coming in. At one point, I thought everyone at the front desk had decided to walk off the job because it appeared nobody was helping customers. While waiting in line, I looked around and another person had their eyes closed and falling asleep too! Front desk decor needs updating and better cleaning and not impressive.

Once inside room, we were pleased! Comfortable Sealy Queen beds and sheets were not rough like some can be. Bath and Body Works (yeh!) shampoo and soap provided in room. Modern decor (apparently rennovated) was pleasant. Extra charge for internet service (I think $10.99.)

There is an outside pool area and also gift shops on ground (casino) floor besides the casino. Free parking in the parking garage and free newspapers near the front desk lobby area.

Pretty green lights on hotel outside to help make it stand out from the rest.

Breakfast buffett closes at 11 a.m. and nowhere could we find that information (not in room or other area signs) until we went to the buffett and it said on a sign. That is very irritating! Could not rate because we barely missed the cut off time!

Inexpensive room and good value overall. Shop different websites for best price because it does vary. www.tropicanax.com is their website.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

After the train wreck of staying at the Golden Nugget, this place was a breath of fresh air. The lobby area is a bit frenetic and slightly worn looking. However the room was nice, clean, quiet, and had a wonderful view. Be sure to ask for one of the renovated rooms.

Casino was fun. Buffet was good. Close to everything. Wide variety of dining choices.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Stayed at the Tropicana Express from 3/29 to 4/2.

Check-in was painless. Julia was very cheerful. We stayed in the Promenade Towers which are right next to the parking garage (covered parking in Laughlin is a good thing to have). We were on the west side of the tower which overlooks the garage and the desert beyond. The east side faces the Casino Tower. Don't know how high you have to be to see the river on the east side.

Used the express checkout via TV. Dropped the room keys in the box in the elevator lobby on the way to the parking garage. Pretty standard.

Room was one of the refurbished ones. Very open and bright with shutters instead of drapes. 2 straight back chairs, one sofa chair and a writing table. Bed was a king-size Sealy with 3 pillows. There was a card stating that taking a pillow home would incur a $30 charge but neither my wife or I could figure out why anyone would want one. The pillows were ok but not anything fancy. The bed, on the other hand, was really nice. Nice big TV also. Bathroom only had a single sink but it was bigger than what we expected. The room had a hair dryer and iron, no fridge though. Not much space to hang clothes but otherwise plenty of storage space for clothes. The air conditioning was a little weak, good thing it wasn't really hot because it certainly would take a long time to cool the room down -- this might be a problem when it's over 100 degrees in the summer.

Housekeeping was very efficient. Never ignored the "Do not disturb" sign. We asked for extra towels and got them without a problem every day.

Didn't have a chance to use the pool or jacuzzi but they did have adults-only hours posted but never checked to see it was enforced. No workout room but I was told after the fact that I should have checked to see if they had an arrangement with the River Palms which is an affiliated casino.

Only ate at the Carnegie Dining Car. Had the $9.99 T-bone special with a 12-oz beer. Don't let the picture fool you. The beer came in a plastic water cup and was a Bud Lite. The steak was ok, nothing special. We also had the $4.99 build-your-own-omelete which was very good. For dining recommendations, read the Laughlin forum.

On Sunday when we got there, there were no $5 blackjack tables at night. However, on subsequent nights (M-W), there was at least one $5 blackjack table so that might be just a weekend thing. During the day, there were as least 2 $5 tables. Only 1 craps table was open but it was rarely even half-full. Dealers were for the most part, pleasant. Cocktail service at times was spotty -- we had one waitress arguing with the table about how often she was coming around and it never got better. Fortunately, I only saw her that one day.

Can't help with the slots. Don't play much. Sorry.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Laughlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Laughlin

Address: 2121 S. Casino Drive, Laughlin, NV 89029 (Formerly Tropicana Express)
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Laughlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tropicana Hotel & Casino in Laughlin, NV, we thrive on remaining your number one vacation destination along the Colorado River. Our charming property features an expansive gaming floor, complete with roulette, blackjack, craps and tournaments, clean & modern hotel rooms, and nightly entertainment in our several concert venues. When you're ready to crash, enjoy our two 1500-room hotel towers, newly renovated and tailored to your needs. Splash around in our gorgeous outdoor pool located in our Town Square area, outfitted with plenty of lounging, flat-screen TV and an adorable coffee/sandwich cafe. Cool off inside by browsing our gift shops or sitting down to dine at one of our several restaurants and bars located alongside the casino floor. When the sun goes down and the casino glows green, stick around to catch one of our legendary entertainers at our Caboose Lounge or outdoors in our Victory Plaza, we promise it will be worth your while! Interested in booking a large event or wedding reception? We've got that covered, too! Call or visit us today to inquire about our two spacious private event rooms, accessed by a dazzling spiral staircase and draped in classic decor. Oh, and did we mention free WiFi capabilities in all property buildings?! There's so much to see, what are you waiting for! Tropicana Laughlin is a Tropicana Entertainment Property. Tropicana Entertainment Inc. Owns and operates eight (8) casinos and resorts in Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, New Jersey Aruba and Missouri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Laughlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Express Hotel Laughlin
Tropicana Express Laughlin Nv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Laughlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.