We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western theme hotel & casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall to your Saves list
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 S. Casino Drive, Laughlin, NV 89029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Western theme hotel & casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Fun, family owned hotel & casino. Great breakfast buffet and gambling. We especially enjoyed the bar overlooking the river. Just steps away from the river and other casinos. You can't beat the price and location!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
L.A.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We got a great rate considering we brought our dog with us. It was nice having a river view room right near the small beach, so we could take her out for a romp in the sand in the morning. The room itself was okay except it didn't look like the floor had been vacuumed. I called housekeeping and was told to go look for the maid who should be around there somewhere. Luckily, she was just a few doors down and was happy to accommodate my request.

Besides the lack of vacuuming, the room was reasonably clean, but I still wasn't too keen on walking around on the carpet barefoot. I was glad I had brought my slippers! The shower, sink and toilet worked fine, and they kept us stocked up on toiletries and towels, but it's true there was no hair dryer, coffee maker, iron or alarm clock. We had plenty of cable channels on the old tube TV, but neither of us could get a Wi-Fi signal in the room. We also had problems getting a signal in the bar. The bar had a great view of the river, a great internet juke box, and some good microbrews on tap.

The grounds were actually very nice, just dirty. There were used glasses, bottle caps, cigarette butts and miscellaneous trash everywhere. The place would be extremely nice if they would just make of of their *many* employees go around and pick up the trash. We never checked out the pool area. It looked okay from outside. One cool thing was there was a couple of semi-tame skunks running around and several feral cats. Some people might be turned off by that, but I saw a lot of people stopping to look and take pictures.

We had two meals in the restaurant and both were good. The late night "snacks" we had in the snack bar were awful, and the service there wasn't that great either. Overall, the service throughout our entire stay -- at the Pioneer and at the other casinos as well -- was fair to not terrible. But, it's Nevada........what else is there to say? Service here never gets better than "not terrible." The Tropicana across the street, and the Golden Nugget next door, are much better hotels, and if not for the dog, I would've stayed at one of those. But for what we paid, and being able to bring the dog in, I was satisfied.

Room Tip: If having Wi-Fi is important, request a room where you will definitely get a signal. If not, I real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laughlin hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

For starters we knew this was not going to be a great hotel we booked here only for our dog. This was the only hotel that would allow a dog that weighs more then 50 pounds! Quite the bummer our yellow lab weighs 90, so I went with very little expectations... Well this place falls far from that. Bed terribly HARD no sleep at all, shower terrible as well, this place is so bad that if I could find another place for our dog Jack I'd had forgone what I paid here and gladly paid someplace else! No hair dryer, no iron T.V. is from the 80's, several light bulbs are out, no ice machines you call housekeeping and pay $2 unless you want to walk 150+ yards, I asked for non smoking well none available when I got here and they put me in yes smoking room. My suggestion DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coreane68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived early and the clerk was nice and let us check in at noon, which I really appreciated. It is a basic motel. We were on the third floor with a view of the river, nice. The rooms are outdated, but they were clean. The best part is it is in a very good location and you can walk to almost all the casinos from here easily along the river walk. There is security walking around all the time. It seemed like a quiet night, so I am not sure how it would be on a busy night. For the price, it was good, nothing fancy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levelsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights to visit some family and friends. The hotel staff and housekeeping were really friendly and nice. The casino itself was small, the saloon was great! Ordered a drink & wings & not only was it great priced but it was delishious. The room itself was iffy.. The bathroom had holes in the wall of the shower that were covered by door stoppers, the sealing from the tub to the wall was coming apart, the floor itself was coming apart & busted, the corner of the wall was chipped away & the wall paper in the room was tearing off. The only real thing that bugged me was that housekeeping only came once a trip in the morning, so if you're not out of your room in the morning your room won't be clean. We didn't stay in the room all day so it's not like we lived in a mess but it was still a bummer. The price was something no one could beat, $126 for 3 nights? Uhmmm yes!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonpeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a nice place to stay and play small but its not vegas!! foods real good will go back.slots did not pay out good been a long time that i have stayed there walked in and not a lot of players there i think its better at night time to play was like 121 out side butt over all it was nice casino thanks randy. m.

Room Tip: go look at it before you stay so easy to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall is the only hotel that offers a window and walkway just steps away from the river. Our room overlooked the river and beach but the room itself was old and outdated. The carpet was stained and dirty, the sink in the room was set really low, the bed spread was torn, the bed was hard and the bathroom had black mold around the tub. The price of the river facing room was comparable and in some cases more then other hotels in the area so if having access to the river is not important then this hotel might not be a wise choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyndi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.2 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#4 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 stars 2,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#9 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Bullhead City
Days Inn Bullhead City
#1 of 14 in Bullhead City
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
4.0 of 5 stars 4,889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Address: 2200 S. Casino Drive, Laughlin, NV 89029
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with an Old Western theme located right on the historic Colorado River. The Pioneer has earned its well-known reputation as the "Friendliest House on the River". At the Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall, our Guestrooms are being refurbished, and new amenities have been added to our guestrooms....complimentary bottled water, complimentary in-room coffee, and upon request, iron with ironing boards, and mini-refrigerators Our Pet Rooms are all tiled floor. Great Friendly Services, and lots of activities to do in Laughlin, NV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel And Gambling Hall
Pioneer Hotel Gambling Hall
Pioneer Laughlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing