We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall to your Saves list
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 S. Casino Drive, Laughlin, NV 89029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cheap!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

For the price you can't expect the Hilton. Beds are a little on the hard side and room is dated. They DO NOT have hair dryers, which sucked! Price is cheap and hotel is centrally located ... Not much more to say.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    75
    48
    40
    54
See reviews for
53
108
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I didn't stay at the Pioneer, but did stop in for the first time while in Laughlin. Our first stop was to Sassy Sue's Saloon. We played at the quarter machines at the back end of the bar, where you have a chance to win a $25 free play bonus if you hit a 4 of a kind on "Beat the Deck." For more information on how this works: http://www.pioneerlaughlin.com/sassy-sue.htm

We each hit an open card & won the bonus! We then ventured into the casino and played at the bar. Both of us got a hand pay there!

This is a blast from the past, as all winnings come out in coin. My hand pay was for $400.00 due to the machine not having enough coins! lol

We went back a second time on a different day and hit Sassy Sue's once again. It was a nice surprise to find that they were serving free hot dogs during the football game. The bartendar even gave us each a free koozie for our beer. Beers are served in cans. There was a raffle at the end of the game, although we didn't win. The raffle tickets were given every time a drink was ordered (which is comped while playing).

We've been to Laughlin three times, and this is the first time we've been to the Pioneer. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at the Pioneer in laughlin this time, I always stay at the belle, but since the passing of my husband a year ago, it just doesnt seem the same, and it seems to be impossible to win at the belle anymore, and they've taken out a lot of their machines, I dont' know why, but I've seem to win at pioneer so thought i would stay there for a change, and i always eat breakfast at their buffet, very good, and the rooms were very nice, and the best thing about the pioneer is when your in your room they have cable tv, which the belle does not, they only have about 10 channels, so that was great, the only thing i didnt like is that all the riverview rooms are smoking only, and I like to have a view of the river and dont want to smell smoke, so next time i will be back at the belle for that reason only.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I LOVE the Pioneer. This is my 4th visit - I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Full moon over the Colorado River, complimentary first cocktail for ladies, and the friendliest staff around. Can't wait to come back and jet ski on the river!

Room Tip: ask for river view - definitely! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I enjoyed the cozy atmosphere of the casino and sportsbook, as well as the western theme of the hotel. Everything was reasonably priced from the room to the food. Beat view of the Colorado River in Laughlin. Beach on property was awesome and convenient. The landscape was great, I appreciated the convenient parking... Very close to my room. I highly reccomend the Pioneer for a weekend away whether you're traveling with family, your wife/husband, friends or by yourself!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banning
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

our second trip to THE PIONEER was just awful, no ice in any of the machines ,the room was horrible stained carpet mis matched furniture beds were older than dirt and hard, whom ever made the beds had no idea how to make a bed, leaking toliet, and the toliet seat was old with splits and bubbles in it,the sink dripped constantly and there was stains in the sink also .Also the TV was so small you had to sit directly in front of it in order to see it.Curtain had a rip in it. Just to say we will not be back to that place again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

the pool is nice, you don't see it from the street very sunny and nice! The gambling hall was great! Food and evening staff in Boarding House were helpful, entertaining and pleasant. Service and food was great for the price. We had all you can eat ribs, tender, juicy with Sweet Baby Ray's sauce and the fixin's were also good.

Room Tip: nothing to say here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Address: 2200 S. Casino Drive, Laughlin, NV 89029
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with an Old Western theme located right on the historic Colorado River. The Pioneer has earned its well-known reputation as the "Friendliest House on the River". At the Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall, Our Guestrooms are being refurbished, and new amenities have been added to all guestrooms....Complimentary bottled water, complimentary in-room coffee, and additional items will be available. Our Pet Rooms are all tiled floor. Great Friendly Services, and Newly Refurbished Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel And Gambling Hall
Pioneer Hotel Gambling Hall
Pioneer Laughlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.