We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff was awesom! Loved it and hope to return soon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall to your Saves list
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 S. Casino Dr., Laughlin, NV 89029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Henderson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the staff was awesom! Loved it and hope to return soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Don't forget to try Grannies. Great gormet room. I was surprised at how quiet the rooms facing the river were. Closed the door for a nap and didn't hear a thing. Service was always spot on and friendly, like Vegas used to be. A good old fashioned hotel. Really enjoyed my time there.

Room Tip: Pack a hairdryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    63
    40
    35
    49
See reviews for
43
98
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff is friendly and sociable. The view is breathtaking with a clean and clear lake, the pool is also enjoyable. Very clean. Lots of machines to play on. A fun and sassy bar. The restaurant, Granny's is a must. (The salads are to die for) The food is amazing, the employees are incredibly friendly. Boat rides, clean river, and a beautiful sandy beach. It is a amazing get away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Excellent room, spacious with a great view of the river. Clean and well maintained. Billie our waitress in the coffee shop was the best.

Dinner at Grannies is a must. Excellent food and entertainment.

We'll be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a riverfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I went to The Pioneer with a group of friends and we loved it. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean, well priced and spacious. The gambling hall had great food and the dealers were friendly (probably because i was feeding them my money, haha). I would go back in a heartbeat. It is also in a great location. Would definitely recommend this place for a get away with family or a group of friends. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent a few days at the Pioneer Hotel this summer. Great people all around. Very helpful, excelent service.
They seem to know the true meaning of Customer Service through out the casino, restaurants and hotel.
We highly recommend the Pioneer and look forward to our nex visit.
Thanks,
-A. Meza

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, AZ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were going to a concert at one of the other hotels and decided to stay at the Pioneer for the night. Got reservations the day before we were going to stay. When we got there to check in the girl in reservations remembered talking to me and she had put the date in wrong! She had made it for the night before and our card had already been charged. She said that the only rooms she had left were suites and she would upgrade us. We thought terrific! She couldn't get the computer to cooperate and asked the girl next to her for help. The girl whispered something in her ear and we were then told that the last suite had been sold but we were still going to get an upgrade just not a suite. When we got to our room it was exactly what was described as the standard room we had orignally requested except that we had 2 double beds instead of a king. When I called back to reservations I was told that was all she had and the hotel was sold out. We were disapointed and the room was discusting! The carpet was filthy (burns, spots, stains, etc), the toilet wabbled, the wall paper was pealing, the beds were on some kind of built in platform about 6" off the ground. The bed was terribly unconfortable. We both woke up stiff and sore. We had dinner in their buffet dining room. They don't even have buffet there! Probably a good thing. Our dinner was not good at all. I couldn't even eat mine. We waited for the bill and had to finally go up to the cashier and ask for it. When asked how was our meal I told her that it was not good at all. She never said a word. Would we go their again? Never!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just wanted to get out of Vegas for a few days on the river. Pioneer is perfect for families on a budget looking for value rather than luxury. Nice pool. Small, private beach area for my three pre-teen children. Jet-ski rentals on property. All they need is an outdoor riverside deck/bar!

Booked a mid-week riverfront suite for less than many standard rooms at the newer resorts. Beautiful Victorian decor. Looking forward to going back before summer is over!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Address: 2200 S. Casino Dr., Laughlin, NV 89029
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with an Old Western theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel And Gambling Hall
Pioneer Hotel Gambling Hall
Pioneer Laughlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.