We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with a beautiful lobby and pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Nugget Laughlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Nugget Laughlin to your Saves list
Golden Nugget Laughlin
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2300 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89028-7111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF OUR DAILY RATES!
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Roseville, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value with a beautiful lobby and pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Good service and clean rooms my only complaint would be only 2 coffee pods per day (Keurig system) and housekeeping was kind of mix and match someday perfect, some days no wash cloths or things like that. Overall good experience

Room Tip: Ask for east tower better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    286
    144
    64
    45
See reviews for
119
354
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We used to frequent Laughlin years ago, stayed at the old Flamingo. Been back, stayed at the Edgewater and this time we decided to stay here as my mom was staying here as well.
Valet was out front, ready to take our bags and car as soon as we pulled up.
Check in was fine but had to pay 10$ upgrade to be able to be in the same tower ( only 4 floor tower here) as my mom, she was in the tower facing the river. Our room was decent, nothing fancy but clean. They have free wi-if which makes it very nice to use tablets and etc. Rooms have a bottle of water and a coffee maker with a couple of coffee pods too.
Took the kids the pool, small and shallow but great for them. Towels and plenty of chairs and sunbeds to choose from. Music piped out there, wished we had more daylight to enjoy it!
Did a little gambling....we stayed a Sunday night so table games were at a complete minimum, there are lots of slots to choose from, new and old and a cocktail waitress taking care of the whole floor was always around promptly every few minutes.
I would possibly stay here again if the price is right and we return to Laughlin.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

It is a very pretty hotel and casino but the staff is very rude. I have stayed at the Golden Nugget in LV before and truly enjoyed my visit but no so much in Laughlin. I would not stay or play at this casino/hotel.

Room Tip: Find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days mid-week in April 2014. Chose the Nugget because it was the highest-rated hotel by TripAdvisor in Laughlin. The property is quite small compared to the other towers along the river, but it has a rather convenient location (towards the south end of the row of hotel/casinos, and it was easy to get to everything.

The room was basic; clean and functional, but the same generic layout and features you find at most mid-level hotels. The rooms windows lacked sheer curtains, which was annoying because we were right by the pool, and had to choose to either 1) seal off the daylight with the opaque curtain, or 2) let everyone by the pool see in our room.

The guest WiFi worked well. The beds were a tad hard, but we slept on them well enough. The lock on the door required about 3 tries on average to read our keys -- perhaps they are getting old. Climate control was effective, but not particularly user-friendly. When we attempted to increase the temperature, we accidentally switched it to Heat mode, and it created a burning smell.

The pool is quite small - an oval maybe 30 feet (10 meters) long; the water temperature was comfortable. There were adequate chaise lounge chairs around, as well as a few sun beds that were good for dozing.

The pool deck is also set above the River Walk, so you don't have passersby intruding on you. Towels are available at a set of cabinets by the entrance to the pool area, and can be accessed using your room key.

Parking in the garage was easy, and a short walk to the hotel. The casino floor is modest, but features all the major games, and a medium level of smokiness.

The hotel showed some signs of wear and tear -- walls with poorly-spackled repair jobs, mismatched carpets, oxidized paint, etc., but was clean safe and pleasant. I would probably try the Aquarius (a larger hotel casino up the street) next time I visit Laughlin, just for variety's sake, but in general the Nugget was a good experience.

Room Tip: East Tower on 3rd or 4th floors, odd # room for a river view without the people from the pool lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you have to be in Laughlin this is your best bet. The Nugget was once a Steve Wynn property and still shows some of his touches. It is owned by Landrys and they have spent quite a bit of money on improvements and maintenance.The rooms are clean and well appointed. Ours was a riverview and had a Keurig coffee maker and free coffee. The hotel has three restaurants: a steakhouse (didn't try it) a Claim Jumper (always solid) and a Bubba Gumps which was awful. We decided to try Gumps because we had never been to one and now we don't have to bother to go back. I guess it's great if you like greasy fried food. If you like walking the hotel is located right on the riverwalk and is convenient to the other properties.

Room Tip: 4th floor river views are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have always wanted to try this hotel in Laughlin. The main entrance is absolutely gorgeous! It has real plants and water and a skylight, quite impressive! Probably one of the prettiest main entrances we have seen, especially in Laughlin. The registration area is also very nice as well, however, the rooms do not even come close to the first impressions we had of the entrance. First, it is decorated in golden tones which makes it look worn and outdated. Second, the room we had faced another guest room which is so close, you need to keep your curtains closed because it is so easy to see into the other rooms. This was a big turnoff!! Who wants a dark room in March when most of us are escaping the winter from somewhere else and we want to see the sunlight and have the curtains open! The desk clerk was just ok, gave us a double bed room when we had requested a king room on our reservation, so we had to go back down to the desk to request a change. It was clearly stated on our confirmation, but she chose to ignore it at check in. We are glad we tried this hotel and we will not be returning. We were not really impressed with this hotel or the service.There are many other better choices in Laughlin

Room Tip: If you choose to book at this hotel, ask for an upgrade since the "cheap rooms" face each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Golden Nugget now seems to be one of the smaller resorts on the strip, but I guess that means that it's easier to get around compared to other "mega" resorts, right? Free parking was nice and convenient.

In my experience, the lobby area in a casino resort is where most properties spend lots of dollars and attention. While the display of the Hand of Faith gold nugget was cool http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hand_of_Faith, I was a little surprised to find that the lobby of the Nugget otherwise seemed quite dated and locked in time, circa 1975. I started to wonder why this place was rated so highly here and on Yelp. I now know that it's because of the rooms. They are nicely sized, recently renovated, tastefully appointed and very clean. The bed was probably the most comfortable that I experienced in my week-long trip through Arizona.

However, all of the rooms in Laughlin do NOT have a river view. This is especially tricky at the Nugget. Please see my tip below. To summarize, what you want is an odd numbered room in the East Tower. My even numbered room had an amazing view of the parking structure...I didn't even know that was possible!

Unlike many Vegas resorts, the pool is not an outdoor nightclub for the under 30 crowd with a large cover charge. This pool area was nice, unpretentious and seemed to be most popular with the 55+ crowd. It had nice beach towels, landscaping, palm trees and a nice view of the river. Large hot tub with powerful jets. It also allowed you to contemplate the stark exterior of the property. Its stark, plain white walls are in need of an update and some enhancement. Perhaps painting the trim might add some visual interest?

i was able to find the Starbucks hidden deep below the rear of the casino. Otherwise, we didn't eat on the property. Instead, we enjoyed dinner a the Passagio at the Tropicana across the street and lunch at Bumbleberry Flats at the Pioneer next door.

Room Tip: Room selection is critical here. Only one of the four banks of rooms have a river view. What you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Nugget Laughlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Laughlin

Address: 2300 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89028-7111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Laughlin
#4 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Nugget Laughlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with a tropical rain forest atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Nugget Laughlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Laughlin Hotel Laughlin
Golden Nugget Resort Laughlin
Golden Nugget Hotel Laughlin Nv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Nugget Laughlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.