We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aquarius Casino Resort to your Saves list
Aquarius Casino Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029 (Formerly Flamingo Laughlin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Livermore, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed three nights and thought the room was nice, quiet, roomy and clean. The parking garage was very easy. We didn't pay for a river view room, it didn't matter to us. You walk outside and the river is right there! We walked along the Riverwalk and visited a couple other casinos... the Aquarius was by far the nicest and seemed to have fewer smokers. We are non-smokers! The only complaint was that they charge $12 a day for internet. We choose not to use it in the room and discovered that the Starbucks inside the hotel had free wi-fi! We just went down, got a coffee and hung out there for awhile. That worked great! There is an Outback inside the hotel which we enjoyed one of the nights for dinner. We also ate outside at an Italian restaurant there. It was very good.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    590
    346
    156
    151
See reviews for
311
714
71
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pelizarraraz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

The valet people were awesome. I can't say the same thing for the rest of the staff. No matter how simple my questions were, such as where is a specific restaurant?, because I was already being told in a extremely RUDE manner I don't know. It is sad that the people that are supposed to be nice and set a good example are not. The rooms are nice but very very dusty. I was sneezing most of the time. I asked housekeeping to dust the room and when I came back it was not done. Overall I would not recommend staying here and I would not recommend for any of my family to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Laughlin should really not be at the top of anyone's travel itinerary. With that said, I've been to Laughlin dozens of times back in college and now for business meetings.

I gave the Aquarius better than average ratings because it is the best hotel available in the area. I've stayed at just about every one of them, and sadly, they all fair no better than a Holiday Inn off an Interstate in the middle of nowhere.

The Aquarius has been recently remodeled, pretty clean and modern in room appearance. The property used to be the Hilton Flamingo.

After reading previous postings, especially the one about the property not family-friendly, here is my opinion. Anyone that comes to Laughlin usually is a person interested in gambling. Yes, there is the occasional break to eat and sleep, but for the most part it is a destination for getting down and dirty to gamble. There are no fancy spas, big headliner shows, glitzy nightclubs or world-renowned chef owned restaurants. If you're looking to bring the kiddos in hopes for something "disney-esque", turn-around, drive home and unload the mini-van. The pools are NOT a place to see and be seen, but rather exactly what they were built for 20 years ago, and that is to cool off for a few minutes between rounds at the poker table. Along that note, there are no strip clubs or streetwalkers. The only walkers you'll see are those the elderly folks getting off the tour bus are pushing into the casino.

Bottomline, don't expect to find similiarities between Laughlin and Vegas other than gambling. As for the Aquarius, it's clean, newly renovated, flat screen LCDs in room and great location to casino-hop along the riverwalk. If you're hoping to find something else, it's just a mirage and could probably be found at the Mirage in Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed here a year ago, visit Laughlin quite often, and won't even go into this hotel to eat because of our experience. We were offered a "free" room, but upgraded to a river view (practically ALL the rooms are riverview, so this was a ripoff), for $$. Construction was being done in the rooms both ABOVE and BELOW us, and when we tried to change rooms, they were only going to move us down the hall. You could still hear the HAMMERS down the hall!! When we complained about the noise (at 7 pm), they said they were supposed to stop, but didn't for a few hours, and they started again the next morning around 6 am. We complained about that, and were told the 'room was free, so we had nothing to complain about'. I guess they forgot we paid a premium for a river view room, so it wasn't free. I emailed them about our treatment by the RUDE front desk staff, and no one ever bothered to call us back or even say they were sorry. If they care so little about people ever coming back, I have no use for them at all.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We arrived at the Hotel early and they let us check in without a problem . The very friendly clerk at the check-in desk couldnt have been nicer and actually was happy to see us almost as if we were somebody special. We had just come from Las Vegas and were ready to get away from the crowds and boy did we hit the jackpot with this wonderful hotel. We made the way up to our room and when we opened the door we both looked at eachother like we had stepped into the wrong room. The room was so much more than we expected, emaculate and the linens were actually crispy clean.No musty smell.and the view was so refreshing to see instead of more hotels and busy streets . I actually couldnt wait to take a nap and snuggle on the soft pillows. I was sad we were only staying 1 nite ,but placed a bet on the superbowl just so we had an excuse to come back superbowl sunday.. The employees were so friendly everywhere we went, from the servers at the buffet to the guy who scooped me up some ice cream at midnite at the dreyers stand that is open 24 hrs !!! i thought i had died and gone to heaven. he was a young man who was so pleasant and happy just to give me 1/2 scoop vanilla & 1/2 scoop rocky road ,in closing i will go back to The Aquarius in Laughlin instead of Las Vegas every chance i get.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson nv
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

My husband and I took our boat down to Havasu but wanted to stay in Laughlin. I had read that the old Flamingo had been renamed and renovated. I gave it a try. Everything was great and we even won a lilttle money! Good place to stay.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

First, we get into the hotel room, paid for a river view, and only one window was partially facing the river, the rest were facing the top of the casino and fans.

Second, there was no fridge as advertised in our room.

Third, we got all ready to go to the pool and make it down there, and the pool is TINY and packed full. People were less than arms length from each other. Needless to say we didn't get in. I called the health department, as I personally am afraid someone might get sick since so many people were crowded in the pool.

Fourth, after the pool disappointment (kids were upset), we decided a bath was in order. Did I also mention the bathtubs are extremely small, our two little ones barely fit, much less a full grown adult.

Fifth, the wifi would cost us $12 for the night to use... I'm not sure about the other hotels here, but I do know this is the first time I have stayed in a hotel in a long time where wifi wasn't free.

Sixth, the "champagne brunch" was terrible... especially for the price.

We only needed to stay the one night and the Aquarius was the only one who offered just Saturday night alone. Next time we will gladly pay for both Friday and Saturday night just to stay elsewhere. Our previous stays at Harrahs, Colorado Bell, and the Tropicana Express, were much, much more pleasant, even though the casino areas are not as nice.

So I guess it's great if you're not planning on going to the pool or staying much in the room (ie an Adult vacation which involves most of the time spent in the casino)...
but I don't understand why people would even want to do that... the off strip hotels in Vegas offer so much more, more to do, cheaper hotel rooms, huge beautiful pools, better casino atmosphere and a wide variety of tasty food.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aquarius Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Casino Resort

Address: 1900 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029 (Formerly Flamingo Laughlin)
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquarius Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1907
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven't seen the newly renovated rooms here, check out this photo of our "Luxury" room. This is a standard room, and costs just $20 more than one of the rooms that is not renovated yet. All 1907 rooms will be completely renovated this Fall (one entire tower will be complete by the end of June, 2008). Like we've been saying...it's the "New Laughlin"...come check us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Aquarius Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Laughlin
Aquarius Laughlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.