We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet for a casino” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avi Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avi Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Avi Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Aha Macav Pkwy, Laughlin, NV 89029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Morro Bay, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quiet for a casino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was very apprehensive when I discovered that, in a panic to find a room in our "goal-city" of the travel day, we'd booked ourselves into a casino on a reservation way south of Laughlin. We neither gamble or smoke.
Happily, the room was smoke-free, and after requesting a quiet room on an end, the employee delivered. True it was a Monday night and the resort was only about 1/3 full, but I didn't hear a sound all night.
It's fun how they made a man-made beach complete with thatched umbrellas right next to the river.
So, if you find yourself in need of a cheap, clean and quiet room on the border between California and Arizona, The Avi is not a bad choice even for those who are not partiers.

Room Tip: On an end in the north wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    147
    86
    51
    54
See reviews for
130
143
19
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I will never stay here again. I booked the beach tower room. I get there and they don't have my room & said it wasn't in there notes. Tried giving me a smoking room after I told them I don't smoke. Then tried giving me a room with one bed. Saying it was a upgrade because it had a jacuzzi. I said I have a 9 year old with me why would I want a jacuzzi. Then they called security like I am the bad guy. Out the blue security just stood next to me. They seen I wasn't doing anything wrong so they left. I never once raised my voice or cursed at any of the staff. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived Friday just after dinner time. Checking in was quick and easy at the front desk. We ate dinner at the buffet and found it to be pretty good. Food was tasty and had a good variety of options available. After dinner we went to our room and found it to be quite suitable. Beds were comfy and clean. (Personally I really liked the beds.) The shower was a little on the small side but it worked and wasn't really a big deal. Casino was smokey. :( Kind of wish they were none smoking with a smaller smoking area...again not a big deal just not pleasant for me to be forced to breath the smoke. Pool area was really great and we spent all day Saturday there with the 4 kids (aged 5-15) hot tub was in perfect working order and the water was nice and hot!! Kids went Saturday evening to see a movie at the theater that is onsite while the little one went to the Kids Quest (sitter service). Overall we had a very pleasant experience and we would definitely come back for a weekend stay. We did find out while we were there that the ArrowWeed Lounge was not going to have live music anymore...so sad! We love a good band playing live music!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

While staying in Bull Head City/ Laughlin, we decided to try this place out. It's a short drive from there and we wanted a change of casino scenery. Not a bad casino at all. Plenty of variety, ample parking, courteous staff. I guess I have a warm spot for it because I walked out with $600 of their money, even though they got some back on another trip. Be aware that there is a lot of old coin spitting machines here which I found out by accident. It can be a real pain if you cash a jackpot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is an ok hotel! it's got a bit of everything that you could need! restaurants, casino, bars! its comfy and clean but a little smoky which is weird for me being English! drinks are very expensive though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The rooms are of average size and furnishings are typical. Beds are full size but comfortable. TV worked fine, a/c worked fine, table and chairs provided seating. No extra's like refrigerator or microwave. There is a small safe in the closet although we didn't use. The bedding was clean, no yucky comforters just a patterned throw at the end of the bed for decoration (which we removed). The towels are small and "older" but sufficient. The bathroom and room was generally clean however, the often missed places were kind of scummy. The light switches, the hair dryer, the lamp switches, the drawer pulls, the remote control... I don't think they ever wipe those down. The non smoking room on floor 2 didn't really smell like smoke as stated by Jeffrey T, but the whole place is full of smoke so it would've been hard to tell. I'm sure it's hard to keep it out of places it isn't desired. Had a perfectly accommodating breakfast at Feathers. Get your AVI card so you can enjoy the $2.99 breakfast special. Being it is January and we were only there one night we didn't use the very lovely looking pool or the beautiful beach cove area but if you plan of staying during warmer months, you'll enjoy the grounds. Staff was helpful and pleasant at the front desk, housekeeping (we asked for extra pillows) and Feathers (their restaurant).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The rooms are not very clean. The non smoking rooms smelled like smoke. The air conditioner/ heater sounded broken. It was like a 2 year old banging a pan with a hammer. The employees at the Avi are all nice, it was just the facility that was lacking.

Room Tip: don't get a room near the front of the building. Unless you want to smell cigarette smoke all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avi Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avi Resort & Casino

Address: 10000 Aha Macav Pkwy, Laughlin, NV 89029
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Laughlin
#3 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avi Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the mountains on the Colorado River you will find an oasis escape. . .The Avi Resort & Casino. A perfect retreat for your next conference, meeting or incentive program. Or a perfect escape for a weekend or a vacation getaway. The Avi staff will strive to surpass all your expectations. The Resort has 452 rooms, 29 spa suites, an action-packed 35,000 square foot casino, the largest beach lagoon on the Colorado river and its own championship golf course! RVers enjoy our 260 space full service RV park as well as our large FREE RV dry parking area. The casino is the main attraction of the Resort with over 1,100 state-of-the-art slot machines, including the latest penny slots and ticket in-ticket out machines. The casino also has over twenty table games, including Let It Ride, Three Card Poker and Hold 'em Fold 'em. plus a sports and race book, Live Keno and daily Bingo sessions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avi Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avi Resort And Casino
Avi Resort Casino
Avi Hotel & Casino
Avi Hotel Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avi Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.