We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a stop from Phoenix to Vegas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avi Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avi Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Avi Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Aha Macav Pkwy, Laughlin, NV 89029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just a stop from Phoenix to Vegas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I'd hoped to get there in time to golf Mojave, but no luck.
Saught basic room which is what we got. Initially they had us on the main floor, I was disappointed when I asked we be placed up a few floors and the clerk sticks us on the top floor, in the room furthest from the elevators...almost like it was intentional.
But is was a hotel wher internet access was incldued. The hotel/casino was very busy for a Monday night. Having the theater on site is a neat touch and they have quality seating and sound.
We had a view of the parking lot / SW mountain view...next time to ask for a view of the pool / river area.
The pool-section looks pretty inviting...too cold to use while we were there but a good size and lay-out. It also has it's own beach area built from a inlet off the river....good looking set-up.
Given the golf resort is right there, I would recommend it to anyone with kids and a golfer or 2 in the family, who could also enjoy the resort poll atmosphere.

Room Tip: Seek a river view or pool view room, consider upgrade as basic room is quite basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    475
    289
    138
    112
See reviews for
606
383
45
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

If you are planning a trip to the Avi next year, their room rates have increased tremendously, you get get a much better deal in Laughlin or even Vegas! They are boasting redecorated rooms but you are dearly paying for it!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Ioved the casino, staff and location. Resort has it's own private beach and free docking area! Restaurants are very good with great prices. Rooms could use some updating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The reviews on this place are very mixed so I was hesitant to stay here but I'm so glad I did. The room was above average... hey this is not a luxury hotel so I don't know what people are expecting, but it's no motel six either. Those awful duvets that are in someone's pics here are long gone, all white lines, spacious room and a large flat screen. It is an older facility but they are doing a decent job of maintaining it and keeping it clean. The pool is not quite as large as it looks in the pictures but it was beautiful and refreshing. The only disappointment was the river at the beach area because it looked like an oil spill! The staff was beyond friendly and accommodating and the Moonshadow Grill was very impressive. Doesn't look like fine dining but the service was impeccable and the food excellently prepared. Please try this place for yourself. Also, my kids loved kidquest (the on site babysitting/kids camp). I will definitely stay here every time I go to laughlin! Oh just a note for anyone who doesn't know - this resort is about 15 minutes (and a forty dollar taxi ride I heard) from Laughlin, and about five/ten minutes from Bullhead city, but that's okay because everything you need is on site, including a movie theater :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This review is about the casino and the buffet only I did not stay in the hotel.

Upon a recent trip to Laughlin we rented a car and decided to take a trip out to the Avi for the Buffet and a little gambling. Now I have eaten at this buffet before in past years and always found it very good. That is not the case anymore. Four of us went and we all have the same feelings, we would not go back. Every hot item was cold and I mean very cold. When we went back up to try and find something hot to eat I saw a lady standing at the fried chicken bin that had about 10 pieces of chicken in it and I asked her what she was waiting for. She explained that the chicken was stone cold and had asked over an hour ago for some that was hot. So I went back to the table and told the others that hot fried chicken was coming out and we all went and stood there waiting on its arrival. It took at least another 15 minutes before it came out. I will say the chicken was hot and it was very good but if it hadn't been for the lady who waited so long for it we would not have had anything hot to eat of that buffet. Not a pleasant buffet experience.

As for the casino when you walk in the front door an overwhelming smell of dampness grabs you in the throat. It smells like a flooded building that has not been dried out properly. I just wonder how much mold is around. The bathroom was in terrible condition and smelled of bug spray. The floor people are just going through the motions of collecting a pay cheque and have no people skills what so ever.

So needless to say the Avi is off our list of places to visit in Laughlin.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had to attend a funeral in Needles so we stayed here for one night. The rooms are basic but very clean. Our room overlooked the colorado river and the pool area. Very nice pool with an adults only section. If you are looking for a good value and clean rooms than the Avi is a good stay. There is several places to eat including a panda express, subway and a couple of others. There is also a movie theater on site.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have stayed here for an 'event' every May for the last 8 years & they are finally updating the original central tower. The most recent room additions, the Beach Tower, opened about 6 years ago & still have the original bedspread & decor. Most hotel/motels have gone away from these filthy things & Holiday Inn Express even uses them in their ads as a "what not to do". The plumbing is old & works poorly, but at least we didn't find a cockroach under the trash can like we did a few years ago. They could really improve the rooms by getting rid of the bedspread & updating the blankets, linens & decor; putting in a small refrigerator & updating the plumbing & bathroom counters. The bathroom counter space is huge - which is the best thing I can say about the rooms. The pool area is beautiful, the buffet so-so & the casino smoky - but then it is a casino on an indian reservation, so not much hope stopping the smoke smell..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
11.0 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#3 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
10.5 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#8 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
10.6 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
9.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bullhead City Inn
BEST WESTERN Bullhead City Inn
#2 of 14 in Bullhead City
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
9.6 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
4.0 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avi Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avi Resort & Casino

Address: 10000 Aha Macav Pkwy, Laughlin, NV 89029
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Laughlin
#4 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avi Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the mountains on the Colorado River you will find an oasis escape. . .The Avi Resort & Casino. A perfect retreat for your next conference, meeting or incentive program. Or a perfect escape for a weekend or a vacation getaway. The Avi staff will strive to surpass all your expectations. The Resort has 452 rooms, 29 spa suites, an action-packed 35,000 square foot casino, the largest beach lagoon on the Colorado river and its own championship golf course! RVers enjoy our 260 space full service RV park as well as our large FREE RV dry parking area. The casino is the main attraction of the Resort with over 1,100 state-of-the-art slot machines, including the latest penny slots and ticket in-ticket out machines. The casino also has over twenty table games, including Let It Ride, Three Card Poker and Hold 'em Fold 'em. plus a sports and race book, Live Keno and daily Bingo sessions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Avi Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avi Resort And Casino
Avi Resort Casino
Avi Hotel & Casino
Avi Hotel Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avi Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.