We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyably affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Street, (previously known as the Union Plaza), Las Vegas, NV 89101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Duluth, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyably affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at the Plaza for a week through SHOT Show, partially for the price and for the ambiance of Downtown. The room was far beyond my expectations, very comfortable and all utilities worked without a glitch, even the WiFi - on the top of the far tower!

There were some cleanliness issues, but nothing serious.

The restaurants were not what you would expect on a Fremont hotel. The prices were inflated and the flavor did not live up. It was handy to have a McD's around for a quick bite. The casino was pretty weak, and very understaffed. I just went a block away for that though.

I'd stay here again, but I'll probably run the circuit of Downtown hotels first.

Room Tip: Ask for a south tower room to avoid the majority of the Fremont noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBellerson, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. We hope you consider coming back soon and staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    405
    255
    130
    119
See reviews for
186
412
114
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited from Europe first time staying Downtown had such a great time so much fun the Plaza was perfect great rooms, good food, the oscars steak was amazing. We like to gamble a little but mostly enjoy downtown and the great atmosphere in Plaza. Such helpful friendly people that work there.
Ciao

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBellerson, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are thrilled to see that your first stay with us was so wonderful! We agree that Oscar's is awesome! We do hope it is your first of many stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Such a great accommodation for a very good price! Very good condition for American standards and for that hotel category! It is supposedly loud and lound guests arriving late at night? Come on, this is Las Vegas! Complain about that anywhere else but in a Las Vegas hotel! For our modest budget we felt like in a top class hotel! Also, free parking in the hotel and in all other hotels on the Strip! Really a relief, as free parking is spare in cities anywhere let alone the States.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBellerson, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are so glad you had a great stay with us at the Plaza. The Plaza is located right next to Fremont street, so you are so right, you gotta expect some noise. Honest'y we love to be so close to all the action. We sure hope you'll be back really soon. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Probably the grossest hotel I've ever stayed in. We were there for 3 nights. We had a non smoking room, but apparently in the south tower it is mostly smoking so our room smelled like cigarettes every time another room above or below is was smoking. Our sheets smelled & the room smelled. The fixtures in the bathroom were falling off. The paint on the walls was chipped. & to top it off the second night we have COCKROACHES crawling on the walls & floor. Went to the front desk to move rooms after that & they couldn't do anything about it. Made me fill out a report & now I have to call costumer relations myself. They wouldn't comp the room for the night or give us any compensation at all.

That place is absolutely disgusting & the customer service is awful.

Only nice thing about it is it's right across from Fremont st, but then again Fremont st is gross as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a pretty average hotel. Check in was slow, but once we got to the desk, the customer service was very good. The casino was smoky, but I find that most downtown Vegas casinos are. The room is fine. Nice size. Clean. Not very modern though. Lack of plugs and outlets. The bathrooms are ridiculously small because the vanity is it's own separate area. It is little things that detract from it. The floor is uneven. The carpet bunches in places. The maids use towels to hold the doors to the elevator lobby open instead of door jams. The desk is a little dated. However the main thing for me is noise. You can hear everything out the window and everything through the wall. Upside is it is with walking distance of anything downtown. There is a food court for late night cravings. Nothing spectacular. Nothing horrible.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBellerson, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our customer service satisfactory. We are always striving to give our guests the best service possible. We do hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Allergic to cigarette smoke, I specifically asked for non-smoking room in the reservation. When I arrived, they said they didn't have one, wouldn't upgrade me, stuck me in a smoking room and told me if I cancelled they would charge me anyway. Finally got them to change out the bedding and they were supposed to bring an ozone machine...that never arrived in spite of follow up calls. Room smells like an ashtray....whole floor does...and while I was waiting for the manager, there were 3 complaints on the exact same thing. So unless sleeping in a room that smells like an old bar makes you happy, along with empty commitments, stay away from this hotel. Disgusting! Also.... It's extremely noisy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

It's Fremont, not the strip you obviously know that if you book.
But honestly this isn't worth it. Rooms are dirty, water mixed with vomit came up our drain one night filling the room with a gut wrenching stench. I told the reception and she said it wasn't possible. Sorry, it happened.
Yes the rooms are tiny and so are the washrooms which would be fine if it wasn't so filthy it made you want to shower in bleach.
Honestly maybe if I was desperate to go to Vegas and literally only needed a place to sleep for 4 hours a day I might suggest it but if you want to shower while you're there skip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBellerson, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are surprized to read that your bathroom was so dirty and had such a negative expereince with the drains. We will definitely be looking into it. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Casino

Address: 1 Main Street, (previously known as the Union Plaza), Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#60 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the culturally diverse Downtown Las Vegas, the Plaza offers over 1,000 newly renovated guest rooms, casino, race & sports book, bingo hall, entertainment, five bars and a variety of eight dining options, including our signature glass-dome restaurant, Oscar's, overlooking Fremont Street and a food court offering quick and value-driven meal options. The Fremont Street Experience is a pedestrian mall offering a collection of casinos, dining, bars, attractions and free entertainment - all just outside our front door. Additional dining, attractions and outlet shopping mall are within walking or a short distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel And Casino
Plaza Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.