We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet! I love this place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Street, (previously known as the Union Plaza), Las Vegas, NV 89101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sweet! I love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The restoration is nice. Zthey definitely put some money into this place. It's not super
Fancy but it is clean and attractive. Bathroom is small and the beds are firm. Service is excellent...The cafe serves large portions and the food was okay.......Best of all the prices are really good at this place.coupon book gives you a ton of little perks.....have fun!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Freemont street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    554
    341
    179
    164
See reviews for
281
567
147
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My friends and I visit Las Vegas every year, typically spending a couple of nights downtown and a couple on the Strip. We were very pleasantly surprised with the Plaza; this is the first time we've been there. If you are looking for the best Strip-type resort on Fremont, the Golden Nugget is the place to be. Otherwise, for better value, the Plaza outranks all of the others by far. The room renovations and new furnishings were great. Our rooms had views looking south on Main Street toward the Strip, which was very cool. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The bathrooms were quite small, and the towels were thin, but otherwise the stay was great.

We also ate at both Hash House A Go Go for breakfast and Oscars for dinner. Fantastic places; the Hash House monster servings were memorable, and the view at Oscars was memorable as well.

I recommend the Plaza. If you're not staying there but want lunch or dinner, check out Hash House or Oscar's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing south
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Glad you were very pleasantly surprised with the Plaza! Hopefully the next time you visit we will out rank the Nugget.
Hash House and Oscars are great; you definitely need to bring your appetite when going to Hash House. The next time you come you should try Island Sushi or Zaba’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just came back from a free 2 night stay at the renovated Plaza Hotel and Casino in downtown Las Vegas. The rooms are nicely decorated with furnishings from the bankrupted Fountainebleau Hotel project. The check-in process was not as easy as it should have been. There were only 2 people on duty to check you in and 1 of them went on her break as we got into line. Customer service is what it's all about and who ever scheduled the staff needs to rethink what they are doing. The guy who handled the check in was friendly but not apologetic about the wait.
The room itself was nicely decorated (about 350 sq feet) and included a king size bed with a really firm mattress (too hard for my wife's comfort), a love seat, dresser with a wall mounted 32" flat-screen HD TV, 2 nightstands and a desk and chair. The bath area had a vessel sink on a marble countertop with not very much counter space. The lighting must have been energy saver because it was not easy to see yourself in the mirror. The toilet and tub/shower were nicely tiled in a separate "closet" (really small). The water pressure and temperature were sufficient but nothing special. The furnishings are almost brand new but there is already paint damage to the doors and some damage to wall paper and furniture. While the room was clean, there was some mildew on the inside of the shower curtain.
We stayed on the 5th floor of the South Tower facing the pool area. I would stay there again except for the fact that my wife did not get a comfortable night's sleep due to the extra firm mattress.
The casino has been redone as well and the place has much better amenities than it used to have. More and better restaurants, new decor, and very much cleaner than it used to be. They also had an email special that gave use $50 in free play which gave us a $25 net gain. We live in Las Vegas and I feel that it should be said that the quality of the gambling in the downtown area leaves much to be desired. Most of the casinos pay 6:5 rather than 3:2 on black and deal cards from either a 6 or 8 deck shoe and many of the casinos, including the Plaza, are using continuous shuffling machines. Table limits are higher than at the locals casinos as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhs, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I've stayed at the Plaza many times. In the last few years it's been pretty threadbare and tacky, frankly. Imagine my surprise this trip: The casino and rooms have been completely remodeled, and they're gorgeous. I stayed there a week and was extremely pleased, and I'm NOT easy to please.

The good: Rooms are huge, nicely remodeled. Bed was phenominal. DirecTV in the room worked well and looked good. Casino was also remodeled, crisp, and clean. Great value. Service was friendly. Cheap eats in the food court. Great access to Fremont Street. Parking plentiful, although some of it is quite remote.

The bad: Garage is still a mess - filthy and with even worse access than before. Noise from train tracks and bus station. High wind outside caused room to whistle inside, due to ill-fitting exit door at end of hall.

The Plaza is not the best hotel downtown, but is darn close to it. It's a terrific value. You may book here in confidence.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the south side of the south tower, due to noise from the bus station. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I really don't understand some of the negative reviews for this property, post renovation. We arrived there a few days into our vegas trip, our stay was June 8th, 9th, 10th. We had originally stayed at NYNY on the strip which wasn't bad, but we were going to EDC and wanted somewhere closer to the speedway and also I had never stayed downtown before. Upon arrival I was greeted by very friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. We decided to upgrade to a suite and we are very happy with the room we received. Our friends decided to upgrade to an executive suite and they got a fantastic room also, two full rooms with two bathrooms on the 23rd floor with a great view (room 2350). We stayed in room 954 and it was perfect, same view albeit a little lower down! (Both in the newer tower). The decor was awesome, the room was spotless and the location was also great at the anchor of Fremont. All the staff we met there were very responsive and friendly, (which after hitting just about every gaming floor on the new strip is not always the norm!) We took the EDC shuttle every day from the Golden Nugget, it was super convenient! Also everything you need is not only within walking distance, but sooooo much cheaper than on the strip. Me and my Fiancee were so sick of being harassed for timeshares on the strip and paying 14 dollars for a drink. On Fremont, there was $2 drinks and friendly bartenders to serve them! This was my third visit to vegas, so I have seen what else is available, this hotel and area in general is an excellent choice. One morning we returned from EDC at probably 6am, frazzled and hungover, the lady who checked us in was arriving to work, and listening to music. She stopped, took out her headphones and emphatically asked us how we were enjoying our stay and if our rooms were ok. I was blown away! We had stopped in at the venetian and other high end hotels to find out about a stay, and at $300 a night its almost like they couldn't be bothered to even make a call for us. My one biggest regret is that we did not get the opportunity to eat at Oscars, I wanted to so badly but time didn't allow for it. The Next time I'm in Vegas, I will stay here again and get a suite. For the room we got, we still paid less than a standard room in even an average hotel on the strip would have cost us. My advice, stay here, cab it to the Cosmo, Venetian etc. Play like a high roller and come back to your equally nice room you paid a fraction of the price for. Give the Plaza a try, and upgrade to a suite, you will not regret it. Thank you Plaza!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor, or upgrade to a suite. Upgrades start at $20 per night and are wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

They re-did all the rooms, and I think they wasted their money. Even the remodel was done cheaply and was just a polishing. Now I understand why the stay was so cheap. Service was terrible, rooms were like an oven. I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I had a great time at the plaza, the remodeled carpet and building looked great. I even made use of the fitness room. thanks guys

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Casino

Address: 1 Main Street, (previously known as the Union Plaza), Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the culturally diverse Downtown Las Vegas, the Plaza offers over 1,000 newly renovated guest rooms, casino, race & sports book, bingo hall, entertainment, five bars and a variety of eight dining options, including our signature glass-dome restaurant, Oscar's, overlooking Fremont Street and a food court offering quick and value-driven meal options. The Fremont Street Experience is a pedestrian mall offering a collection of casinos, dining, bars, attractions and free entertainment - all just outside our front door. Additional dining, attractions and outlet shopping mall are within walking or a short distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel And Casino
Plaza Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.