We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad - Cheap and on the Strip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Excalibur Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Excalibur Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4300 (The Strip)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed!
Ranked #94 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not too bad - Cheap and on the Strip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a reunion and enjoyed myself. The room (Contemporary King) was spacious and comfortable even though it had a bit of a "worn" feeling - furniture a little beaten up, wallpaper in bathroom peeling, etc.). Some of the things I didn't like was the lack of an additional lock on the door (deadbolt, chain lock, etc) and the EXTREMELY POOR internet reception in the room. The pool was okay, but had weird hours; there are four pools, two are open around 9am, one at 10pm and the main one opens at noon. All pools close at 8pm, but they closed earlier while I was there. Security was pretty good and the public bathrooms were okay but could have been better. It wasn't too crowded in the casino area and the local band in the lounge was okay. If you're looking for a comfortable place that is inexpensive and on the strip, this place is for you. If you're looking for a WOW factor, this place is not for you - it's pretty plain.

Room Tip: Ask for Tower II and an odd number room. The odd numbered rooms past the 30s (last 2 digits) face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Excalibur Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Madhawk,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found your room spacious and comfortable during your stay. We apologize that some areas of your experience fell short of your expectations. We value your feedback as it helps us improve and provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail we invite you to contact us at guestrelations@excalibur.com. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hearing from you in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@excalibur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    2,811
    1,789
    583
    432
See reviews for
2,029
2,550
354
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is my second time to the Excalibur and it has not changed much in 9 years apart from a much bigger pool area.

We booked this hotel as it was very cheap compared to the others on the strip (we paid £150 for 3 nights Fri-Sun inc whereas most of the other big names were that per night) and the location is OK....it is at the end of the strip, just across the road from New York, New York so good for exploring. A taxi to/from the airport costs about $20. It can have long check in queues at peak time ie the weekend.

The rooms are adequate but lack a fridge and decent curtains to keep the light out (we had a badly fitting blind but I still managed to sleep and I like a dark room). The beds were comfy as were the pillows and the air con worked a treat. Bathroom was spacious but no tub, only a double walk in shower.

We started out in room 2369 (Tower II, Floor 3 room 69) – avoid at all cost as it had a brick wall outside the window so you see NOTHING! We then moved to floor 22, room 59 which had a pool view and was much better. We had some road noise as the window wasn’t a tight fit but it was OK as we were so high up, plus you could hear the pool music but that finished at 8pm.

The hotel itself is better suited for kids I guess due to its theme....the other hotels (if you’ve not done LV before) are more about shopping, with lots of shops, restaurants etc but the Excalibur is more about the whole knight thing...we didn’t venture around our hotel as we didn’t want to, unlike with all the other hotels that had more to see/do. The pool at Excalibur is now much better with an adult only one, 5 jacuzzi’s and 3 other main pools BUT do not go for a snooze as the pool music is LOUD. I found the pool quite cool and they do provide towels.

Getting around: I advise using the Deuce or SDX bus - $6 for a 2 hour pass or $8 for 24 hour (same pass for either) and it stops right outside the hotel coming back which is great when you’ve walked your legs off!.....or the mono-rail which is $12 for 24 hour pass but you have to walk through the MGM to get it which is a pain and it does take you behind the strip as opposed along it but this avoids the slow traffic that can build up on the strip. Walking the strip involves lots of walkways over the roads so comfy shoes is a must and expect to pay up to $3 for a bottle of water from the shop in Excalibur and about $2 on the strip in most places.

Things to do: We spent our very hectic 2 days seeing Freemont St (which I didn’t like last time but preferred this time as it was quieter than the strip) and got the bus door to door, souvenirs are cheaper here, this is old style Vegas and we looked at the Wedding Chapels along the way which was “entertaining”; shopping at the North Outlet mall – saved a fortune on Nikes, Levis etc (again door to door on the bus); seeing the hotels and wandering the strip. We only had 2 full days this time so a limited event programme for us.

Recommends/highlights: See the fountains at the Bellagio – love them; go inside the Venetian to the Grand Canal shops to see the roof, grab a drink at Coyote Ugly in NYNY, eat at least once in Denny’s (we chose the one off strip near Freemont St) as it is such good value and the pancakes and maple syrup are yummy, oh and we ate at Bubba Gump’s Shrimp which was very yummy and the smoothie was very tasty.

So in summary, not the best hotel but its cost makes up for its age and lack of wow factor, plus its location at the bottom of the strip makes it a good option if budget is a factor. I would have rated it Good overall and for value, sleep quality etc but it seems Average and Very Good are the only choices on Trip Advisor.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid 2369 (Tower II, Floor 3, Rm 69) as it looks out onto a brick wall! Ask for a high floor as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Excalibur Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi GlobeTrotter_n_Kid!

Thank you for your review and welcome back! We are happy to hear that you found the bed in your room comfortable during your recent stay. The location of the hotel is very popular with our guests and we are glad that you found it convenient. We apologize that some areas of your experience fell short of your expectations. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail we welcome you to contact us at guestrelations@excalibur.com. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@excalibur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

When I went, the budget hotel choices on the strip were between Excalibur and circus circus. Having heard that this may have less kids, we went to Excalibur. For the amount we paid it was fine, the tournament of kings show was fun, and the arcade was a nice way to spend some time. However two gripes. First, the rooms are in real need of an update. Dark and gloomy might be in keeping with the themes but is not what I look for in a hotel. Second, I got really annoyed by being asked for ID by some jobs worth when I entered. I am mid twenties so can understand being asked. But we had walked in off the strip, pulling our suitcases to go check in. Getting stopped on the way (PULLING OUR SUITCASES) to show ID which required rummaging around in travelling bags was high,ply annoying and unnecessary. Ironically this was the only time in vegas that I was ID'd....

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Excalibur Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi Greg R,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are happy to see that you were able to experience Tournament of Kings and enjoyed the Fun Dungeon during your stay. We apologize that some areas of your stay fell short of your expectations. We value all of the feedback we receive from our guests as it helps us improve and provide the best possible experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@excalibur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night as our tour was picking us up on premises very early in the morning so I thought it was a good idea to be there to get the bus.

When we arrived there was a HUGE line to check in which moved ok however there could have been more attendants on the desk to make it move faster.

We stayed in tower 2 and there was only 2 lifts working at the time. We had to wait for up to 20 mins at a time to wait for lifts and then had to wrestle other guests who kept pushing in being loud and rude. This experience really did put me off this hotel.

The room was basic but it was clean. The casino floor was average and there was only one poker table going at a time. I had stayed in 5 other hotels on the strip and I would not go back to this hotel to stay or gamble.

It was value for money as the rooms are quite cheap but you are getting what you pay for. I would pay the little bit extra and stay somewhere newer that is nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Excalibur Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello Carlystar,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience fell short of your expectations and invite you to contact us at guestrelations@excalibur.com if you would like to discuss your stay further. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve and provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hearing from you in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@excalibur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Staying in Vegas for two nights, we decided to go for this hotel, as it was one of the cheapest options that was near the Strip. Although the prices in Vegas are all low due to casinos funding them, we were a bit worried that due to the lowest price it would be a bad place to stay. It turned out that it was not that bad at all.

The rooms were quite spacious and very clean, and at night we were not so much bothered by the noise of the Strip. We did have lights blinking outside all night that the curtains could not keep out completely, but it was dark enough to sleep.

Overall, this hotel is very decent. And a brief word about the accompanying casino: it is very much like any other casino in Vegas, in that it is crowded, noisy, many blinking lights and swallowing all the money that you insert in the machines.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, be sure to take a non-smoking room, as the smoking rooms really have a terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Excalibur Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi thijsmm!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your room during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@excalibur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed in 4214.Will not stay here again. Mirror in bathroom needs to be replaced. Broken. Tv did not work with remote. Had to call front desk each time we turned TV off. Engineer came and told US to unplug the TV in back of console and plug back in, to view tv. "That will reset it," he said. I'm not getting shocked! No coffee pots. Hard beds. Hallways smelly. Front lock on door missing screws. Did not feel secure in room. Shades in room very old and did not block out daylight. Entire hotel needs updating. Floors so sticky in Dinner Theatre , shoes stick to flooring. Security at hotel elevators, not paying attention to 'weird people' getting on elevators. No one ask for hotel keys for more secure entry after hours.

Room Tip: Replace lock on entry door. Add screws . Repair so that you don't have to pull lock mechanism o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here Friday 31st May 2013
Cost in total $160.16 Friday and Saturday nights most expensive, unfortunately for us it was a Friday we arrived during our trip on Route 66; if you can stay on the other nights as then its good value..
The size of this hotel is massive, check in and check out is a queuing system..
No breakfast, No coffee making facilities or water in room and No Wifi!!! The latter was more of a problem for us due to travelling and needed Internet .. We have stayed some remote places that one wonders whether God was called away when making our world and hasn't got back there yet... But they had Wifi... Starbucks just up the road from here does have free wifi tho..
Our room was very clean and large, considering the size of this hotel along with the amount of people it holds we had a very peaceful nights sleep..
The location is spot on central for everything...
Las Vegas wasn't really for us more of a "you just gotta go and see it".. Which we did on our trip, maybe if we did a different type of holiday it would fit in better who knows... However we would make sure we got there on the cheaper nights.. When you can save nearly $90 ...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Excalibur Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello step324,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you were able to relax during your stay. The location of the hotel is popular with our guests and we are glad that you found it convenient. We apologize that some areas of your experience fell short of your expectations and appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve and provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@excalibur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excalibur Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excalibur Hotel & Casino

Address: 3850 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#79 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Excalibur Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 3981
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelot-inspired Hotel with 4 towers & storybook-style "castle" gates, multicolored spires & a modified medieval theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Excalibur Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excalibur Hotel And Casino
Excalibur Hotel Las Vegas
Excalibur Hotel Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excalibur Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.