We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful Transformation is going on at one of the last gems of Las Vegas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
It’s Showtime in Vegas
Ranked #84 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a wonderful Transformation is going on at one of the last gems of Las Vegas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I have been a customer of the Tropicana over the years and I have to say that the new renovation of the entire hotel, from the rooms, to the casino to the new gaming area, is such a great delight to see. I believe that the Tropicana will always be one of the last gems of Vegas. I only hope that they put the wonderful pictures back up on the walls of the old Vegas legends and Icons.
The rooms are so comfortable, the beds and linens were spotless, the furniture appropriate and comfortable for the room. Love the wood blinds/shutters.The food was great in the one restraunt that was open. Enjoyed the new games in the casino.
I look forward to going back when the entire hotel is finished. I hear that the new pool area is going to be really great with the private cabanas...can't wait to see!
I will be back hopefully in the next six months.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,271
    3,038
    1,434
    517
    296
See reviews for
1,363
3,432
437
1,093
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inland Empire, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

So, this was our first trip to Las Vegas and I wasn't really sure of a good hotel or location. I did book at the last minute (a night before) and I can see why there was a vacancy. Check-in was quick and the staff seemed nice, but right away we realized the "Island Tower" where we were appointed was really like walking to an Island. The walk from the entrance to our the elevator was a very long one. Our FIRST room was on the 18th floor at the end of the hallway. My husband inserted our room key and two young men were sitting on the bed and watching tv. We were shocked and I'm sure they were caught by surprise as well. One of them comes out and lets us know there was a mix up with the room and the bellhop was due any minute to bring them their new key and take them to their new room. They quickly got their bags and left us in the room. Needless to say we both felt kind of uncomfortable that two complete strangers had already been in our room for who knows how long. At first, we decided to make the best of it and just chalk it up to bad luck.
That was until I went to the bathroom and saw the dirty bathroom floor. When I mean dirty I mean PUBIC HAIR on the floor, dusty, and what looked like to me haphazardly (if even) swept/mopped. I guess they don't expect people to walk barefoot in it or at least that's how it was cleaned. That really pissed me off and my Husband and I decided to call the front desk for another room. They apologize and say they will send a bellhop up to give us a new key.
While waiting, the previous bellhop comes knocking for the previous "tenants" room key. We were annoyed, but finally we get a new key. My husband tells the bellhop that because of their mistake we're now late. He continues walking away and says, "I'm just here to bring your key, I don't know". Anyways we get to our room on the 14th floor. Bathroom floor still dusty, but we're over the room situation and get ready to go out.
We come back around 2am and after the long trek to our room realize that somehow the SECOND key is not being read and the door wont open. My husband calls the front desk and they say we'd have to pick it up because the only bellhop working is unable to take it to us. So we're tired as hell from walking and drinking the last 6 hours, but my poor husband has to make the trip back and forth. We didn't have enough energy to make it a big deal.
PROS:
Bed is comfy (most things are when drunk)
Easy to find
Close enough to a Monorail Station (MGM Grand)
Flat screen TV (we probably watched 30 minutes total)
Hotel/Casino looked clean
CONS:
Walk from lobby to Island Tower
Staff was unhelpful
Unorganized and understaffed
No fridge

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We have left a message on your room and I hope by time this response posts we are able to ensure you check out with a better view of the Tropicana Las Vegas. I apologize you were mistaken checked into an occupied room and we have already coached the team member to ensure this does not occur again. I also apologize for the lack of proper cleanliness in the room. We are currently in the process of re-training our staff to ensure this is not a common occurrence as there is no excuse for any lack of cleanliness. The Island Tower is about a 7 minute walk from Registration. This tower is better suited for convention guests, families and Nikki Beach and pool goers due to it's proximity to these venues. On your next visit, please also let the front desk know you would like a fridge in your room and they can assist you in having one brought up. I hope you consider these instances not to be our intended levels of service, and, again, I hope by time this response posts we have been able to connect in person. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Booked for the Rugby 7's and this hotel choice was perfect. They hosted a pre-match party that was well attended and buses from the hotel to the stadium. The only downside was they only had one member of staff from the RFU 7's on the desk so we had to que for the bus tickets for some time and missed the start. If the hotel is going to do this next year then this needs to be sorted out.
The hotel was bright and airy which was so refreshing as a lot of the other hotels are dingy and dark. It will be a fantastic hotel when the building work has been completed but this did not spoil our stay.
Breakfast is definetly worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the issues with the transportation. IN the future, we will work more closely with RFU 7's personnel to ensure this does not occur again. I am happy that overall you had a great stay and hope you will visit us again! Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystrad Mynach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights during the Rugby 7s last week - chose the Tropicana as it was one of the 'partner' hotels for the Rugby and we got a very good deal.
Front of house staff were super friendly and efficient. Check was a 'breeze' - Allocated connecting rooms (as requested) in Paradise Tower overlooking the MGM. Beds & pillows were super comfy but the constant sirens, road & advertising noise from outside were not conducive to a good night's sleep.
Rooms were a nice size ,well decorated and functional. Bathroom area was adequate, tiles were not new which seemed a little strange against the rest of the refurb going on. Toilet had a habit of 'running' continually and on occasion the shower took ages to heat up.
Room was only cleaned 2 days out of 5, only once was a card left outside indicating that our room had been 'missed' due to us being in. As there was only me - it wasn't an issue as I had plenty of towels & did not make a mess.
Loved the tropical smell in the corridors, hated the cigar/cigarette smoke everywhere else.
Casino was light and not at all intimidating for a first timer, though we never once saw a cocktail waitress whilst playing. Great place to people watch. Ambah Lounge had a great atmosphere too.
My real bug bear was the dining. Firstly no coffee makers in the rooms. If you are not going to provide the facility PLEASE provide somewhere to grab a cup in the morning!? Five times I trekked to the Island Tower coffee stand, only once was it open. No opening times posted, no 'back in 5 minutes' just the lights on but nobody home - very disappointing.
Cafe Nikki - ate breakfast there one morning & were not made aware there was a breakfast buffet by hostess or server. Same thing happened at dinner, we overheard the server at the next table making reference to it after we had ordered.
Aside from the restaurant the staff here were excellent, doormen, gift shop, even just walking around - everyone was friendly and approachable.
Not particularly happy about the resort fee for no facilities either. We had 2 rooms and it cost us almost $130 for no pool, did not use phone or internet or fitness center or need boarding cards printed (which we mentioned at check in).
Would I stay here again? Probably, but after the refurb has finished and I would pay a visit to Walmart for a cheap coffee maker. For a value hotel it is a great option, rooms exceeded expectations but the dining options came no where near.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

My wife and I and another couple spent four nights at the Tropicana in January. We got super rates (approx. $40-50/night) via a Southwest Airlines package deal. I don't understand the $10/day resort fee but at that rate I don't care. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is small compared to some other places but there is a fair assortment of fresh fruit, bakery goods, eggs, breakfast meats, etc. and the breakfast room (Cafe Nikki) is bright with big windows and very quiet compared to some of the other mega-buffets. (If wanted, a large, luxury buffet breakfast (with the usual big crowds) is easily available at the Mandalay Bay, just a short walk and tram ride away.)

We were not at all bothered by the construction going on around the hotel. It is visible but not noisy or obstructive.

When we return to Vegas the Tropicana will be our first choice -- assuming the rates do not sky-rocket when the construction is finished.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. I apologize over any confusion over the resort fee. The resort fee covers high speed WiFi in your room, fitness center access, 2 for 1 signature cocktails with your meal in Bacio or Biscayne, local calls, (limited) domestic long distance, 800 calls, 10 incoming faxes and 10 outgoing faxes per day, 10 free color copies per day and printing of your boarding pass. Also included is seasonal use of the main pool. I am so glad that you had a wonderful stay and I would love to assist you with your future visits to ensure you always have the best rate. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Arrived February 6, Super Bowl morning. I asked nicely if I could check in if they had a room available, and was told sure. Great!

They only had Island Tower available. The "long walk" that everyone seems to complain about is not really that bad. My opinion is that elderly persons and persons with disabilities should get first shot at the Paradise Tower. Seriously, after all the walking a person does in Vegas, the walk back to the Island Tower is nothing to complain about.

The room was great. It was nice to have so much "new" and the bed was very comfortable. The room wasn't anything fancy, just very nice. The bathroom, while not remodeled, was also something that wasn't worth complaining about. It was large, clean, and had good hot water. I had to fix the chain in my toilet to keep it from running all night, but again no biggie.

All of the (hotel) staff went out of their way to be helpful. Housekeeping/ room service/ front desk/ doormen-- all of these contacts were extremely positive.

As for the tropical odorant-- I was really looking forward to this as it is one of my favorite scents. I'm not sure it is going to work, though. I think it is because of it mixing with the odor of smoke in the casino, but every time I walked in the door, it smelled like-- hate to say it, but, farts.

The sports book-- I have to have a good sports book at my Vegas hotel-- was a complete catastrophe. I have probably visited 90% of the sports books in Vegas, and I am always my happiest when there. Now I know that Tropicana's is a brand new operation, but every single experience I had at this one was a mess! The people did not know what they were doing, they had terrible hours (don't want to hear about the construction, they have a remote station but didn't open this at the promised time, either). I could go on and on with the negatives, but I'm getting mad and I don't want to. My friend and I took most of our gaming business elsewhere because of this.

Also, I contacted Nicole Marshall by e-mail prior to my visit to ask two simple questions. After not getting a response in two weeks ( gave her the benefit of the doubt, I know weird things happen in cyber-space) I very carefully typed in her address again and waited patiently. No response. I mentioned in the email that I got her name from TripAdvisor, so I thought she would be motivated to respond. Because so many people on here sing her praises, I would say that my biggest disappointment in the Tropicana would be that she didn't respond to my simple questions.

So, overall, worth going to the Tropicana. Steer way clear of the sports book. And if you see Nicole, don't say hi from me.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, I appreciate the feedback. I would first like to apologize for any lack of response. I normally respond to an e-mail in 48 business hours or less, and it appears that I have failed you. Can you please share with me your e-mail address so that I can see what happened? I will also see if I can check my Spam filter. Again, please accept my sincerest apologies. I do also apologize over any issues with the Sportsbook and please know that we are in the process of addressing everything. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The Tropicana Hotel just made a 161 Million Dollar renovation to its' facilities. The rooms are inspired by South Beach decor and furnishings. The room was beautiful! I was fortunate to have a corner room that had a beautiful view of The Strip.
The Casino is well lit and has very bright decor and carpet as well. The staff were very accommodating and friendly.
I highly recommend this as your next Hotel while in Las Vegas. I sure look forward to returning there in the near future. Of course I will be staying again at The Tropicana!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you had an overall great visit and enjoyed seeing the new Tropicana Las Vegas. I hope you will visit us again soon to see the Las Vegas Mob Experience when they open in a few weeks and Nikki Beach in May! Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#79 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 10,278 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites on the Las Vegas Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#26 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 12,260 reviews
Bally's Las Vegas
#82 of 269 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 9,777 reviews
The Strip
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#72 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The New Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today’s global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow®, a Mandara Spa and fitness center. First-class entertainment includes “The New ILLUSIONS” starring Jan Rouven and “Raiding the Rock Vault” in the all-new Tropicana Theater, Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Otel so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.