We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, boring, and overpriced restaurants” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off + Pool Seating
Ranked #78 of 271 hotels in Las Vegas
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice hotel, boring, and overpriced restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

The rooms were very nice. Staff were friendly. The rooms were quite far from the
check in desk. Not very good for older people or those with problems walking.
Restaurant prices were high compared to other hotel/casinos especially
the downtown hotels( golden nugget). No buffet. Don't buy a drink at the bar
as it is very expensive. Cocktail waitress spend most of their time looking after
the table game players. A better time can be had at the downtown casinos or some
of the smaller strip casinos (casino royale).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,716
    2,372
    1,045
    367
    223
See reviews for
1028
2720
348
793
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed four nights in Jan. 2011 and it was just perfect for good, new, clean rooms, about three star on my rating scale and the staff was outstanding at all levels. Disliked:
No coffee or frig in our rooms, we had King Beds very nice sheets and covers, at the Island Tower they are new and very nicely furnished. Coffee available at a Starbucks near elevators. If you save your cup all refills are $1.25 so use this for your entire stay. We Rented a SUV from HOTWIRE, $60/day, and drove to RED ROCK CANYON 30 Mins and then to Mt. Charlston where they still have snow and ate at the Hotel. From the hotel to Vegas is about one and a half hours.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you for your review. I apologize for any lack of communication over the fridge and coffee maker amenities. The suite do have these standard, but you can request these for the Deluxe Rooms at check in. I hope to see you on your next visit. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Many other comments on the Tropicana by others were very accurate: VERY smokey resort, more so than others on the strip. Also few food choices during this construction phase and no shopping to speak of.
That said, the Trop is a nice alternative to the huge crazy resorts up the street. Rooms were nice and clean. Street noise in the tower by the Strip was evident but not overwhelming. Windows needed to be washed!
The "resort fee" was joke. When we booked our trip through Allegiant we understand the $10 daily fee was optional but we were told at the hotel it was mandatory. You got nothing for your money -- the WiFi was spotty, the fitness center closed and meal/drink discounts non-existent because nothing was open.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you for your review. I apologize over any misinformation from allegiant as the resort fee is not optional. The resort fee covers high speed WiFi in your room, fitness center access, 2 for 1 signature cocktails with your meal in Bacio or Biscayne, local calls, (limited) domestic long distance, 800 calls, 10 incoming faxes and 10 outgoing faxes per day, 10 free color copies per day and printing of your boarding pass. Also included is seasonal use of the main pool. I also apologize over any misinformation about the fitness center. The fitness center is currently open 24/7 but the spa is closed for transformation. I would love to assist you with your next stay and ensure that we meet all your expectations. In the next few month, we will also have 5 more eatery choices as well! Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

First time staying at the Trop, but won't be the last.
All employees were friendly and made sure our expectations were met.
There still is some renovations going on, and it wasn't an inconvienience for us.
What's completed looked great.
Pro's:
Great Value
Excellant staff

Con's:
Long walk to Island towers
(Paradise towers much closer to entrance/casino)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad that we met your expectations and hope that on your next stay we can exceed them! Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

The New Tropicana is beautiful! The rooms are spacious and comfortable with all the amenities you would excpect from a world class resort. I look forward to my next vacation at the Tropicana. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to your next visit. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed in the Tropicana for 3 nights and had no problems. It's not the most dazzling casino or most extravagantly themed, but it had friendly staff, great location and clean rooms (all at a great price). We were upgraded to a suite after being told we were located on the first floor and we requested a higher level, which I thought was very accommodating. Internet was free, as was the TV. It's Vegas, so we spent most of our time out of the hotel exploring the Strip, so I wouldn't see the point in spending significantly more on a more 'luxury' hotel. Tropicana was very satisfactory. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad that we met you expectations and hope that on your next stay we can more then exceed them with the opening of the Las Vegas Mob Experience as well as Nikki Beach. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

My wife and I along with another couple booked two rooms for three nights at the Tropicana for what should have been a relaxing weekend. Upon entering the rooms we noticed our room had no towels and our friends room had only one dirty towel, a used bar of soap and trash in the ice bucket. We called for house keeping and the bathroom oversight was corrected in a timely manner. We also called and requested our luggage be brought up and were told it would take 20 minutes. Over an hour later, and only after placing a second request did our luggage finally arrive. This was after 10:00pm on a Friday evening, and very few people were checking in or out at that time so it seemed rather peculiar that our luggage would take so long, never-the-less we brushed it off.
Trying to sleep that night was not easy. we were very tired from our long trip so we chose not to request that the bed be re-maid due to the fact that the bed was short sheeted. Also, because all the pillow cases were too small for the pillows a good portion of the pillows were exposed. Just imagine how many heads laid on those pillows without a clean, proper pillow case - gross! Sleep that night was fitful at best. The second night I got up at 3:00am to use the bathroom. Upon returning to the bedroom I noticed something on the bed and turned on the light. It was a bug so I grabbed a napkin that was on the nightstand and picked it up. This was a bed bug, and it was filled with fresh blood that left a very large stain on the napkin when I squished it. To say the least, my wife and I were in utter shock! What happened over the next three hours was almost surreal. The clerk at the front desk told me "to be honest with you we've had many complaints like this in the past, before the remodel." The security supervisor said "we can't control the bugs." and the security officer assigned to us couldn't get his camera to focus when he tried to take photos of the bug, so I took the photos for him! I was then told that the only way I could report this If I filled out an accident report, so, at 4:15am I filled out the report including describing the incident in "my own words." We were then offered a new room and a reduction of one night off our 3 night stay. Wanting nothing more but to go home - but being exhausted, we accepted the new room. So - we then had to go back to the room pack up all our stuff and wait for the bellman. After the security man called a second time for the bellman he finally showed up - without a cart. Eventually by 6:00am, we left our 6th floor room with a view of the strip, and got settled in the first floor room with the roar of the ventilation fans just outside the window. This room also had pillows sticking out of the ill fitting cases - plus - the TV in this room would not bring in most the of the channels!
The last night we just couldn't sleep because we kept on checking for bugs! Three nights at the Tropicana without sleep, without relaxation & without satisfaction from management! We were told by every employee whom we encountered that they have done everything they can for us and to talk to Heather Katz risk manager. When we checked out at 10:45am and asked for her we were told she was at lunch so we had to leave a phone message for her as nobody else was authorized to help us in her absence. Heather did call us at home the next day. she actually had the Gaul to request that we send her the bug! She clearly was not interested in putting our satisfaction first, her concern seemed only in analyzing the bug. We asked for nothing in compensation from anyone at this hotel, and what they gave us was the big run around, and one nights refund for a ruined 3 night stay. What totally pathetic customer service!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. As Mrs. Katz informed you the day prior to posting this review, the room and all surrounding rooms were confirmed negative for any bug activity. I also apologize that you feel we have not communicated with you. According to our phone records, Mrs. Katz called Mr. G less than a minute after the first voicemail was left and later that day Mrs. Katz did speak to Mrs. G for about 20 minutes.

I am glad that while you were in house you did decide to accept the room change. I am also happy that our Security went above and beyond by escorting you to the new room and even dismantled the bed to show you it was clean. Again, I would love to be able to reach you so that we can do what we can to keep you a happy guest. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#66 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#69 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised! The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a recently completed $200 million transformation which provides a true resort experience. In addition to a vibrant and exciting motif with a South Beach, Miami rhythm and vibe, the transformation of the hotel, resort and casino includes a fresh redesign of every best-in-class room and suite, the casino, the conference center and exhibition hall, several new restaurants, bars, the race & sports book, and Glow(R), A Mandara Spa and fitness center. In spring 2012, Tropicana Las Vegas introduced a new comedy club, Laugh Factory Las Vegas with first-class entertainment from performers like Murray the Celebrity Magician. Starting in May 2014, the Tropicana Theater will be home to the smash hit musical MAMMA MIA! Tropicana Las Vegas is not affiliated with any other property or brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.