We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see the Trop is back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room + Show Package Steal
Ranked #89 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice to see the Trop is back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent several days between Christmas and New Years at the renovated Tropicana. There a number of positives at the Tropicana including its location, the casino and the quality of the rooms. Our trip included some Vegas first timers and the Tropicana's casino dealers and staff were very helpful making the novices comfortable with the casino and all that comes with it. Our rooms were very clean and spacious. The rooms were a great place to regroup after those Vegas days and nights. The Trop also gives you easy access to a number of other facilities including MGM, New York, New York, Excalibur and Luxor. The breakfast buffet is easy to manage and the food above average.

The only negative we had was raised by other reviewers......the check in is a nightmare even as a Hilton Honors member. They really need to get this process improved. We arrived early around noon and our rooms were not ready. Check in was 3pm and the rooms were still not ready at 5pm. We did garnish an upgrade, but it was a frustrating wait.

This did not detract from our overall enjoyment at the Trop. Well worth the stay in Vegas.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if possible. The strip can be loud with the sounds of sirens and emergency vehicl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Ramblingagain,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the renovations and had a great time with our staff! I sincerely hope you'll accept our apologies for any long wait times you endured while checking in. I have forwarded your feedback to the appropriate departments for immediate improvements. Myexperience@troplv.com – Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,893
    2,657
    1,220
    434
    248
See reviews for
1,172
3,030
387
890
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was my seventh stay last year. It gets better and better!
The rooms are comfortable, large, and very South Beach. The rooms have been maintained and are CLEAN! As a Hilton Honours member, I was terribly disappointed when they discontinued the breakfast buffet for us. They've brought it back, and it's great! Go early; the choices are numerous and delicious!
The front desk is friendly and efficient.
I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear arts123,

Thank you for staying with us again and leaving us a review, we appreciate your loyalty! We strive to delight our Guests with our service and I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know when you'll be visiting us again! Myexperience@troplv.com –Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked the hotel through a travel site and upon arriving waited over 30 minutes to be checked in. Once we reached the counter we were told that there was an additional $20 'resort fee' which covered use of the pool and internet access. Since our stay was during January, the pool was closed. I felt that as a 4-star hotel it would have free access to the internet for its guests, especially for the price tag that we paid per night. Well there was no way around the $20 fee which we of course agreed to. The lady was kind enough to 'throw a little extra something' in our room key booklet for us. When we looked it was 2 coupons for free cookies (that was nice) but the place to get the cookies was closed for the winter season...... We enjoyed our 3 night stay and enjoyed gambling in the casino. The rooms were very nice and perfect for a romantic weekend getaway. Prior to checkout we checked our bill on the TV in our room and found that we had been charged nearly $500 dollars for the room. Paying $20/night as a 'resort fee' is one thing but $500 for 3 nights is outrageous. We went downstairs to ask about the charges and the woman behind the desk said that the charges were taxes and fees. $500 in taxes and fees for a room we paid $600 for 3 nights?!?! She gave us an 'itemized' receipt that literally said taxes and fees, but failed to describe what we were paying for. We walked away feeling upset and defeated, but willing to bite the bullet and call it a lesson learned. My boyfriend was a bit more determined and walked up to a different woman and explained the situation again (we already paid for the room online prior to our stay and this seems a bit steep for 'taxes and fees' for 3 nights) She listened, showed concern, and looked into it. Sure enough, we were charged for the room twice! Had he not gone back up there for a second opinion we would have ended up paying the charges.

Room Tip: Ask questions about your bill and make sure you're not being charged for something you're no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Kandise G,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was and I am terribly sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences as a result of inconsistencies with our service, especially in regards to the oversight with the billing error. I am pleased to hear it was resolved after your second visit to the Front Desk, If you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me. I hope that we will be given the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Myexperience@troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Everything was fine, but nothing to write home about. Fairly standard hotel room. Had some trouble getting the two rooms that we requested side by side. apparently one of the towers was "closed" because business was slow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear taili,

We appreciate the valuable feedback you provided us, Our goal is to meet and exceed every guests' expectations and we are terribly sorry we were unable to accommodate your room type requests. We would love the chance to have you visit again. If you would like to further discuss the details we would love to hear from you. Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This wonderful Place open their hands and help us in our terrible deal at the airport was there for 10 hrs they open there door. Excellent front desk or helping getting us a room and making us very comfortable for the next couple of day. The rooms are very comfortable the Casino is very light and airy. Even tho people smoke you couldn't tell, defintelty would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear pgwildflower,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us such wonderful feedback! Our guest's comfort and satisfaction is our number one priority and we are pleased we were able to make you feel at home and accommodate your needs. Next time you are in town please feel free to reach out to us! Myexperience@Troplv.com- Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Other than the lengthy check in with one person in line ahead of me this experience was incredible. I stayed in the bungalows and the service and kindness of the employees of the hotel and the casino floor was amazing. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Darren H,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us such fantastic feedback! We strive to delight our Guests with our service and I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know when you'll be visiting us again! Myexperience@troplv.com –Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My mother always told me if you don't have something nice to say, don't say anything at all. That's why until now I have only written positive reviews of the places I've enjoyed. Sorry, mom, can't bite my tongue on this one. I was in Vegas for a friend's wedding. Upon check in we were satisfied with the cleanliness of the rooms and casino. However, the first morning the mechanism that turns the bath water into a shower stream broke. Housekeeping told us they would be sending someone up right away. After three calls and 40 minutes, an engineer finally arrived to fix the problem. The lack of concern for the delay was appalling. Additionally, it caused us to miss our brunch reservation. Later that day we came back to find our room was not made, which isn't a big deal, except for the fact that it took 2 phone calls and 40 minutes to get towels the next morning! Then 5 minutes after we got the towels the same staff member came back to give us two more, forgetting she had just delivered them. Upon checkout, we were never asked how our stay was. That alone should show the level of service quality of this establishment. I can't recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear NyHiWaCa,

Thank you for leaving us a review and providing us with valuable feedback. I terribly we were not able to exceed your expectations and unfortunately you experienced some inconveniences as a result of inconsistencies with our service. We strive to show our appreciation for our guests and I am disappointed to hear we failed to do so with you.I would love the chance to make it up to you and speak in more detail of your stay. I hope you'll give us a chance to make it up to you next time you are in Las Vegas. Myexperience@troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#69 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The New Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a recently completed $200 million transformation that provides a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip. With a unique South Beach vibe, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. First-class entertainment includes "The New Illusions" starring Jan Rouven and "Raiding the Rock Vault" in the all-new Tropicana Theater (coming November 2014), Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Vegas.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.