We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stayed here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off + Pool Seating
Ranked #77 of 274 hotels in Las Vegas
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night while passing through vegas, were glad we did. We booked a two bed room in the paradise tower and were upgraded to the club tower penthouse (I'm a hilton Diamond Member.) I was actually annoyed that we were upgraded because i requested 2 beds for a reason but we made do with the one king bed. The room had a sauna, steam shower and was huge! Checkin was slow and i was ready to pass out from the wait. The diamond check-in lounge was closed at 8pm which is very annoying for the diamond members that happen to arrive late. If you get a room in the club tower have a bellhop take your bags to your room.

Room Tip: suite 2169.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Dwoody83,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us! We appreciate the feedback as it helps us to know where we have room for any improvements! Next time you are in our area please feel free to reach out to us! Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,704
    2,341
    1,028
    365
    218
See reviews for
1008
2695
345
791
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at the Tropicana for a conference and stayed 4 nights. We arrived at about 1:00 and went directly to the Hilton Honors Diamond check-in area which we had learned about via an email sent by the hotel. The woman there gave us an upgrade to a mini-suite as Diamond members but said that our room would not be ready for two hours (perfectly fine since check in is supposed to be 4:00) so we left our luggage with the bell man and headed out for lunch. She took our cell phone number to call if it was ready earlier. When we returned after the 2 hours and inquired, she checked again and said it wouldn't be ready for another hour. We waited in the casino (not being gamblers or smokers, this was not the best circumstance for us as we very tired from traveling from the east coast.) Again, no call on our cell phone and when I went back after the allotted hour, she was no longer at the check-in area. A gentleman asked to help me, I indicated we were still waiting for our room, so he checked the computer. Our room still was not available, so he upgraded us further to a suite on the 19th floor of the club tower facing the airport. The room was very nice, spacious, did not have any odors whatsoever and was remarkably quiet. The only thing missing that would have made it perfect was there was no desk. My husband was going to be working while I was at my conference so it was difficult for him to sit at the bar rather than a desk.

Food: We ate 3 times at the breakfast buffet in the reserved Hilton Honors section. The food was good, the omelet station outstanding. The one complaint here was the breakfast sausage that my husband ate had a bad taste and smell. He avoided the sausage after that and later that night was not feeling well. Might have been the sausage, but we are not certain. Service was pleasant and quite attentive for a buffet. We also had an evening meal at the same restaurant and it was good too. I ordered a chopped salad with a change of the cheese and dressing that is normally how it is served. When delivered, it had no cheese or dressing. The waiter took it back immediately and the error was fixed. Delicious.
We also had dinner early before a show on Sunday night at the Italian restaurant. Not especially good for the price of a pasta dish. Few choices and no real variety of sauces or pastas. Would not recommend.

Spa: I booked an appointment for my husband for a beard/mustache trim based on the pricing on the menu in our room. The technician did a marvelous job and I loved the finished product on Jim. I left to go get our table for dinner while Jim paid. When he joined me he told me what the price was: $45.00 for a beard trim. I went back the following day with the menu and pointed out that the service was supposed to cost $25.00, and they fixed it without question and with a smile. I appreciated this.

Pool: Coming from the east coast where it was 30 degrees, we were really looking forward to spending a few hours at the beautiful outdoor pool. There is a $20 per day resort charge at the Tropicana and we were unable to access the pool area because it was closed. And it was 75 to 80 degrees every day we were there. Very disappointing for us.

Conference space: The conference space was very good. I especially liked the abundance of elevators right outside the venue so that when the ballroom emptied, 300 people were able to move through to their rooms or out to other spaces quickly and efficiently.

Overall, this was a good place to stay, we loved our roomy suite, the public areas in the Club tower were clean and well maintained. The casino and public spaces in that area were very smokey and stale. The check in procedure was not well governed or timed, but eventually we were taken care of. The pool is not heated, but perhaps the lovely surroundings could have be accessible regardless.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear debonvine,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us such wonderful feedback! Our guest's comfort and satisfaction is our number one priority and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your suite and our delicious Beach Cafe! Please accept our apologies for any shortfalls you experienced and thank you for you for providing us the details so we can acknowledge your experience and use your comments to improve our service. Next time you are in town please feel free to reach out to us! Myexperience@Troplv.com- Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went to visit family and wanted to stay in a hilton property close to a good spot with lots of action. The hotel is remodeled and so are the prices. I'm still waiting for them to credit my hilton rewards. For some reason the computer systems don't talk to each other. If I had to do it again, I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Marc_and_Kim_Z,

We appreciate the valuable feedback you provided us, Our goal is to meet and exceed every guests' expectations and we are terribly sorry we failed to do so on your visit. We would love the chance to have you visit again. If you would like to further discuss the details we would love to hear from you. Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at this resort hotel for three nights in September. On arrival, we were dismayed to discover a line of approximately 20 people waiting to check in. There didn’t appear to be enough reception staff manning the front desk to cope with the number of people waiting, but soon after additional staff were freed up and after waiting for approximately 30 mins, we were quickly processed by a friendly staff member. We requested a room in a quiet location and were pleased to be accommodated in the Paradise Tower. Our attractive room, which overlooked the Las Vegas Boulevard, was spacious, had comfortable beds, had more than adequate storage space, and was furnished with a room safe, ironing facilities, unfortunately no bar fridge, but an ice bucket was provided. Ice was located easily on a number of floors. The bathroom was of a good size and provided with the usual toiletries. We ate breakfast at the Beach café on a couple of occasions. The menu was extensive, the service was good, and we had no complaints with the quality of the food presented. There was an attractive outside dining area overlooking the pool, but you would need to be early to get a table.
The resort was located towards the southern end of the strip, but was well serviced by the local bus company for both north and south of the strip, with stops located just outside and opposite the hotel on Las Vegas Boulevard. Alternatively, the centre of the strip was a 15-20 min walk, and there was a continuous flow of taxis at the main entrance.
Although the reception area, which is co-located with the main casino, is fairly noisy with piped music and boisterous clients, at no time during our stay were we disturbed by any unwelcome noise in our rooms. At all times, the resort staff were friendly and helpful, and we would have no hesitation in recommending this resort.

Room Tip: A room in the Paradise Tower seems to be a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
paula67Adelaide,

We appreciate the time you took to provide us such wonderful and informative feedback. We strive to delight our Guests with our service and I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know when you'll be visiting us again! Myexperience@troplv.com –Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpnupe85
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Hilton Tropicana for two nights. I stayed in the renovated portion of the hotel that does not have air conditioning. Good thing it was November. They provided a $100 food and beverage credit due to this issue. The Beach restrauant is very good. Good food and drinks.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear corpnupe85,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed dining at our Beach Cafe! Please accept our apologies for the unexpected temperature challenges you experienced in your room. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve and provide the best possible experience. We hope to have the chance to better serve you in the future!
Myexperience@Troplv.com- Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Frustratingly, we checked in at 4 PM after being told rooms would be ready at 2. No excuse provided, in fact a rather surly attitude, told to come back in another hour. With tickets for the biggest show in town and no place to change until the very last minute, an experience that showed us that the Tropicana is a lower end hotel. So many other choices, we will not stay here again. Also, rooms were surprisingly noisy. No noise deadening windows on the strip side.

Room Tip: If you chose to stay here, avoid the strip side unless you like noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Baytraveler11,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I'm terribly sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate experience especially in regards to the guest service that you received following your arrival. We continually strive to provide the best possible service for our guests' and I apologize that we fell short of our standards. I have passed your comments along to the staff to make sure this does not happen again. If you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me. Myexperience@Troplv.com- Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Other than pool area -- enjoyed the stay! The staff is super and the restaurants outstanding. The Biscayne was my favorite -- the appetizer "Lamb Tacos" are one of a kind. I have not eaten lamb for 50 years but these morsels we so good -- in the eggplant shell, that I went back for seconds. I'm not sure I'll eat lamb again UNLESS I'm at Biscayne. I'd go back. The only real draw back is the "noise of Las Vegas." Sirens blare all trough the night but all visitors to Las Vegas experience that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Francis S.,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Many of our guests enjoy our restaurant Biscayne and I am thrilled to hear you agree. Next time you are in Las Vegas please feel free to reach out to me, we would love to have you visit again! Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#65 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#67 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised! The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a recently completed $200 million transformation which provides a true resort experience. In addition to a vibrant and exciting motif with a South Beach, Miami rhythm and vibe, the transformation of the hotel, resort and casino includes a fresh redesign of every best-in-class room and suite, the casino, the conference center and exhibition hall, several new restaurants, bars, the race & sports book, and Glow(R), A Mandara Spa and fitness center. In spring 2012, Tropicana Las Vegas introduced a new comedy club, Laugh Factory Las Vegas with first-class entertainment from performers like Murray the Celebrity Magician. Starting in May 2014, the Tropicana Theater will be home to the smash hit musical MAMMA MIA! Tropicana Las Vegas is not affiliated with any other property or brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.