We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room + Show Package Steal
Ranked #88 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“O.k.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The good points were that the room was a comfortable size and bed. I asked for a quiet room which it was and it was clean when we arrived. The staff for the most part were pleasant to deal with and accommodating when possible. However, they are greatly understaffed and it was difficult at times to get service. Also housekeeping was a bit hit and miss. Most nights the room was made up, but at other times they just made the bed. Not the worst, but definitely not 4 or 5 stars. For the price it was o.k. for a quick stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear pbteach,

We are pleased to hear that for the most part you had an enjoyable stay, I hope you'll accept our apologies for the lack of service you received while staying with us. We strive to always provide the best customer service and we are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. If you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me at Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,219
    2,986
    1,413
    512
    290
See reviews for
1,329
3,379
427
1,073
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,096)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel was nice. The service was good in the hotel, just okay in the restaurant. The bad thing was that the meeting/conference room was extremely cold for the entire three days that we were there. Very cold.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Theresa R,

Thank you staying with us and leaving us a review. We strive to delight our Guests with our service and I am thrilled to know you enjoyed stay with us. I do hope you'll accept our apologies for the air conditioning challenges you experienced during your conference. I have passed on this information to our management for immediate improvements. Please let us know when you'll be visiting us again! Myexperience@troplv.com – Mali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I came in on a complimentary promotion and was charged for my stay without notice. The casino host did not explain to me in detail what was expected of me for the promotion nor did it clearly state it on any of the information that was sent to me.

To top it off he was rude to me from the introduction (which struck me as odd if they were trying to get me back as a player) and continued to be rude and made no attempt to clear up the dispute. To top it off he made no attempt to contact me to explain anything to me during the time there. Considering I was booked to stay there for 7 days I did not have an opportunity to play the average by the end of my stay. To top it off I did not hear from the host during my stay and he cancelled my stay for the remaining of my trip without notice. If Ron Chalk is representative of Tropicana than they clearly do not value their customers if this their standard practice. Yes, I was told I had to play which was no problem with because that is what you are to do when in Vegas.

FYI - It has been explained that casinos expect approximately an average of 4 hours a day or a certain dollar amount of play in order to keep your complimentary status. I did not know you could pull a bait and switch without notification. Is this legal?

Beware of a rude and bad casino host and fine print that is not written. This was not the first time I had a problem at this hotel but my previous casino host was the best and I was encouraged to come back.

Sad because I like the hotel when I need a break but I will never stay there again based on customer service.

- Nice Hotel - Renovations made a difference
- Great door people and valet
- Good slot games
- Great lounge but needs better entertainment on the weekend
- Good restaurants
- Terrible customer service and casino host
- Feels a bit empty and lacks luster on the weekends so if you are looking for a party I am not sure this is the right place

Room Tip: Club Tower is the best. Long walk but nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Alycia30,

We appreciate the valuable feedback your provided us, We strive to make each and every guests' stay comfortable and memorable. We are terribly sorry for lack of exceptional customer service you received during your recent visit. I have forwarded this feedback to the necessary departments so we can strive to always provide exceptional service. If there is anything more we can assist you with please contact us directly at Myexperience@Troplv.com – Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel was extremely clean and well appointed. Our room looked out over the airport, which was not a problem. The room was large with a decent sized bathroom. Staff were courteous and helpful. Unfortunately the pool was too cold to use, so we made use of the garden recliners instead. The location is fine and near enough to the madness which is Las Vegas. .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Orkneycat,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear you had a good time and our staff provided you with exceptional service! I hope you'll accept our apologies for the unexpected challenges we experienced with our pool. We would love the chance to have you visit us again, next time you are in our area feel free to reach out to us! Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After a 10 hour flight and not knowing what we were going to we were pleasantly surprised to find the Tropicana a lovely, well refurbished hotel. However, from the main entrance and a walk through the casino, it literally took about 10 minutes to get to our room on the 14th floor of the 'club block'. Our room overlooked McCarron airport although this didn't bother us as we were out most of the time. Las Vegas has to be seen to be believed, its magic, its noisy and its very hot in summer months; average - 44 degs. A five-minute drive out of town will find prices for meals drop considerably, the strip is pricey! Casino in this hotel is quite bright and buzzing all the time, other hotel casinos appeared dark and dingy. Poolside was great, plenty of sun loungers and music plays constantly. There are no clocks in any of the casinos (they don't want you to leave) and there are no seats on the 'sidewalks', so be prepared to wear comfortable shoes and walk your feet off.
Highlight of trip was seeing Celine Dion, such a fabulous and memorable show. Also, Barry Manilow - who didn't even turn up for his show - saw our money refunded!
Taking a trip to the top of the Stratosphere was an experience - 105 stories high and a magnificent view over Las Vegas together with 'thrill' rides at the top. A must see are the fountains at the Bellagio hotel - fabulous. Plenty places to eat on the strip however, 3 days before we left, we ate in one of the hotel restaurants we'd used on our arrival; this restaurant had been made into a Tapas bar restaurant in the time we'd been there! A few hours after eating there, I was violently ill with sickness and diarrhoea - was ill for 2 days.
If I returned to Vegas I, wouldn't hesitate to stay here even though I was poorly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My family and I are regular users of the Hilton brand. As an HHonors member I expect a certain standard of service which was sadly lacking here. I am entitled to a free room upgrade if one is available but twice I was fobbed off being told that the hotel was fully booked. This was particularly frustrating as behind the concierge there was an ad to pay for a free room upgrade! Also, the two suites below our room were unoccupied and a person who looked strangely like the overall manager of the hotel was seen showing a prospective guest around one of these suites that remained unoccupied. At this Double Tree you are given a voucher for your cookie - not the same as being presented with one at the check in desk I am afraid. Our bungalow pool view room was at best a 3* and this is being generous. I had to ask for a coffee machine and there was no fridge. To me, such basic facilities only warrants a 2* hotel classification. The 'feature' pools were closed for the season, even though there were 3 lifeguards present at the only pool you could sit around and admire. For Brits used to inclement weather, this was particularly frustrating - I have never felt so safe from drowning by a pool I could not use with 3 lifeguards present! The Tropicana casino is strangely brightly lit 24/7 which disinhibits use I think. This was the only casino illuminated this way and certainly was a lot quieter compared to elsewhere on the strip. On a positive note - we were entitled to a free breakfast in a specified section of the restaurant. This was excellent and the 'made to order' omelettes were superb. There was a great variety of pastries, fruit and cereals and plenty of coffee and juice on tap. This compensated a bit for the other disappointments, but for the almost $1300 spent for 6 nights accommodation my suggestion would be to look elsewhere on the strip. Finally, we did enquire about the spa and booking the Biscayne restaurant on site. The spa was very pricey so my wife declined a treatment costing half the price back home. They could not find a table for us in the Biscayne restaurant, but we were advised to check on the desk on the day. safe to say, we took our business elsewhere. My advice would be only stay at this hotel if you get a real good deal - no more than $100 a night and only expect a 3* experience.

Room Tip: Force the issue for room upgrade with a manager I would suggest - especially if you are a frequent u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear KevinVickyHolly,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful breakfast experience! We apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations, we appreciate this feedback as it helps us to further improve in every way possible. We sincerely hope you will visit us again, if you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me at Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week and found the staff so friendly. The restaurants both the buffet at the Beach Club and the Biscayne were excellent. the chef accommodated our son's wedding reception in just one day and the supper was excellent. Thank you thank you . Everyone here was great and we had a wonderful time. We would definity stay here again. The hotel was bright
and clean from the moment you enter . The room was clean and comfortable. Everyone at the front desk were very helpful and friendly and made our stay very nice, Thanks again.


.




NICEhcomfortable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear lindamcc9,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us such wonderful feedback! Our guest's comfort and satisfaction is our number one priority and we are pleased we were able to make you feel at home. We thank you for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion! Next time you are in town please feel free to reach out to us! Myexperience@Troplv.com- Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The New Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today’s global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow®, a Mandara Spa and fitness center. First-class entertainment includes “The New ILLUSIONS” starring Jan Rouven and “Raiding the Rock Vault” in the all-new Tropicana Theater, Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.