We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room + Show Package Steal
Ranked #89 of 272 Hotels in Las Vegas
houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at the Tropicana for 3 nights and was very pleased with everything there except the Casino. The check in was short, the room was perfect (had a bungalow balcony overlooking pool)and the pool was great with plenty of chairs. I ate at the Beach Café and Food Court and food was excellent. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I would have given the hotel a 5 star but I like to gamble at the hotel that I stay at and The Tropicana did not pay out at all. I didn't see any winners around. I did venture over to New York New York and MGM Grand and had much better luck there. However, if you aren't there to gamble then I highly recommend the Tropicana.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,893
    2,658
    1,221
    434
    248
See reviews for
1,172
3,032
387
890
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,861)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

our 6th time in vegas and 6th different hotels 'got a great deal on vegas.com for this hotel; lovely room awesome view of the strip from the club tower great pool a good location can not fault it another perfect holiday in vegas and hot at 47 degrees we will be back!

Room Tip: we had a room in the club tower with 2 queen beds giving us a strip view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is called the NEW Tropicana because everything has been completely redone. The casino area is great, the lounge area with live music is great, the hotel room was great, the pool was great and the fine dining restaurants were AWESOME. It's not super luxurious but it's a fun place and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Being a less expensive hotel you will find this catering to many young people. Great value, nice room, friendly staff, fantastic location! Music at the pool is louder than you may like. No coffee in the rooms. $3 for a coffee in the lobby. It's a nice hotel but not like the big Caesars style. It is clean and recently refurbished but not glitzy if that's what you want.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRAINTREE
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. A bright and airy option in Vegas with lots of natural light. Lovely pool area. Buffet breakfast was a great option enough food to keep you going all day. Friendly staff and a great hotel lay out, did not get the lost feeling that you get in some Vegas hotels. Great option for people visiting vegas for the first time. Great location on the strip. Would return here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Check in went fast but they forgot to register my as a Hilton Honors member so i did not get the points a should have received. I had to send an email to Hilton and this is still pending.
We had a king room with stripview.....to the south so basicly the wrong side. But room and bathroom where very clean! Valet guys where lightning fast! The Tropicana has not a large gaming room and game tables as for example MGM or PH but it was ok. The pool was abfab!!! But only one person was there to serve drinks...2 or 3 would be better.

Overall it is a beter then average place to stay and we for sure will book here when we will return to Vegas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

First ever visit to Vegas and we booked Tropicana with Avios points.
After a flight from Miami it took us about 5 minutes in a cab from the airport. Check-in took about 10 minutes and we were allocated a strip view room on 18th floor. Quite a walk to back of hotel to get elevator but no issue.
Room large and clean with views out to the strip.
Only ate one meal at Tropicana and $20 for buffet breakfast was good value.
Got regular drinks from cocktail waitresses when gambling (even though we tended to play low end slots mostly), more than we got at any other casino when visiting them.
When we return to Vegas we will return to Tropicana where we were happy with the overall stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#70 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The New Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a recently completed $200 million transformation that provides a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip. With a unique South Beach vibe, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. First-class entertainment includes "The New Illusions" starring Jan Rouven and "Raiding the Rock Vault" in the all-new Tropicana Theater (coming November 2014), Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Vegas.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.