We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109 (The Strip)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room + Show Package Steal
Ranked #87 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were able to get a US Air vacation package. It included flight, room and three breakfasts ( $120 value). If this is available when you go, it is a good deal. On the flight out a fellow passenger suggested using the shuttle service to the hotel. Not worth it. You wait for the bus to fill up then wait and hope yours is the first hotel on the stops. As close as the Tropicana is to the airport the taxi fare is $12-15. That is much faster. One other bad thing about the shuttle. They suggest buying a round trip "token" for your trip back to the airport. They never showed up at the hotel. So we caught a taxi so we would not miss our flight.
The package specifies a room in the rear tower. We upgraded to the front tower for a small fee. Plus you get a view of the strip instead of the airport.
We did see one show during our trip.We chose "O" at the Bellagio. It was pricey but featured world class entertainment. It was truly amazing to watch the stunts performed by the cast.
The weather was hot. 104 degrees on some days. Because of the dry desert climate we could walk around and not sweat. Something we were not use to in North Carolina.
Most of our days were spent walking around visiting the other hotels. In Las Vegas, the hotels are the attractions. One tries to outdo the other.
It was a great trip and I look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: There are two towers. The front tower is the best for accessibility to the strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, 797mbtp. I agree and would recommend a taxi over the shuttle. Just ensure the tax knows to take Tropicana Ave to get here. (will save you $10 from going the long way). We hope to see you on your next vacation. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,129
    2,888
    1,371
    492
    279
See reviews for
1,276
3,273
417
1,051
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,044)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A decent hotel in a great location. On the plus side: easy quick check-in, helpful courteous staff, 24 hour room service that gave us the best meal we had during our entire stay, windows in the room that opened for fresh air, local bus stop right outside the hotel, comfy beds and pillows, a good in-room safe, common areas kept quite clean, non-smoking floors that really were non-smoking. On the down side: bathroom showed signs of wear that were surprising given how recently the hotel was renovated (peeling wallpaper, corroded taps, tub re-finish that was flaking off etc.), we would have liked more on-site plain food options, and the casino was a little dull. Given LV's many hotel options, we might choose another location next time, but would do so for variety, not because we found anything seriously deficient about the Tropicana.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, bigmom1998. I am happy to share with you the bathrooms are currently undergoing a transformation to match the splendor or the rest of the room. We hope to show this off to you on your next visit. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed in the Tropicana last week for a couple of nights. I was there for meetings and CES and while this was not my choice for a hotel (someone else made my arrangements), I was very pleasantly surprised. Tropicana is in the process of a complete renovation and they have done quite a nice job with it. Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, but the service and friendliness of the staff were incomparably wonderful. Very polite and genuine -- consistently from the front door to the housekeepers. When the construction is complete, I bet it will really be nice. I'll definitely return!

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk a great distance to your room, choose one in the Paradise Tower at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Rick P. I am glad we met your expectations and look forward to exceeding them on your next visit! Our new Tropicana Theater will be open shortly and I can not wait to share the exciting entertainment we have in store for our guests. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The resort, overall, is clean and nicely appointed. Our room was in the Club Tower at the back of the property which was nice. We stayed in a regular Club Delux Room. The room was nicely decorated, though the furniture definitely had some obvious wear to them. The TV is huge but the cable system is weird insofar as the channels fade in and out. This was an issue when we wanted just relax at night and just watch TV before bed. My complaints with the room are minor. The was a lack of attention to detail. The fire sprinklers in the ceiling poked out of holes that look like there were hand cut and the sink and tub drained really slow.

The resort fees here are $20 per day! This includes internet access in the rooms, use of the gym, free in room calls and some other minor perks. It's definitely not worth the cost. I would rather pay $9.99 per 24 hours to use internet if needed. People have cell phones now and so using the phones in the rooms is not really a benefit. As for discounts on drinks and such is not important if one doesn't drink

I will say that the prices for food and drinks at this hotel are higher than average. Case in point, we went to the Tropicana's Beach Cafe for a late lunch yesterday. $50 for a burger, a Salmon dish, and iced tea. The food court at the resort was equally expensive. We did have dinner at Bacio. Again pricey but the Crispy Seafood appetizer and the Risotto was fabulous and really made the meal!

The best advantage of the Tropicana is it's location. You really can't beat it. It's a few minutes from the airport, it's on the strip with the MGM, New York New York, and Excalibur all on the same corner! You can walk to other resorts on the strip or you can take the tram down the strip to get to the other end.

We're here for an event and unless the event happens to come back to the Tropicana, I don't think we'd would be back. There are too many nice hotels on the Las Vegas Strip that are comparable and have either lower resort fees or offer more perks for their fees.

Room Tip: The room in the Club Tower are at the back of the hotel and away from the casino. It's quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I apologize we failed to meet all your expectations, LocManTony. We have addressed the cable challenges. I am also excited to share with you that each and every bathroom will be undergoing a transformation to match the rest of the room. The WiFi in most hotels, when a resort fee is not charged, is $14.99 per day and the fitness center access is about the same. We have added these, along with some other great benefits like boarding pass printing, into one low fee. You also have the added advantage of earning and using HHonors points at our property now! -Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The room was spotless, good sized, well decorated, comfortable and just beautiful with a beautiful view! The Casino is not huge which for me was nice, I liked being able to get anywhere in a matter a 2 or 3 minutes. What made this rating a 4 and not a 5 was a combo of 3 things. the walls were a little thin if you're light sleeper you may want earplugs for sleeping. Also there was no place to hook my tool when taking a shower. The last and biggest factor in taking a this rating down to a 4 is that there was no cocktail waitress service in the Sportsbook which was kind of a bummer, I bet several times was never offered a free cocktail by anyone in the Sportsbook. On the other hand I sat a penny slot for 5 minutes and always got a free cocktail, so this lapse in service was a little bit confusing. On another note the sportbook here was fabulous, the TV screens are huge and can be split to cover several events at once and for now there was ample seating. Overall it a a great experience and I am glad they did not turn the Trop into a Megaresort like that green one across the the street. Also the location is fabulous also visited the MGM, the Luxor, NY NY and Excalibur and never got in a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, JoeyC4SC. I am glad we were able to meet your expectations but sad we did not exceed them. I will pass on the suggestions for needing a towel hook near the shower. The SportsBook does have a dedicated server and I will address the lack of service. Please know you can always visit the bar that is a few feet away or simply let the attendant know you would like a drink. We would hate for you to be thirsty. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is our second stay at the Trop. That tells you something right there. We went back. It's clean, comfy, and inviting. We took the glass elevator to our corner room this time which was different. The view is worth the trip up. The corner room had a queen bed and the room seemed very large. We enjoyed it. I will say it took extremely long to get any hot water to the 16th floor (but it did come). So no problem. The room was always well cleaned. The staff is friendly. The casino is much quieter than others so if that is not what you are looking for than walk next door. But give the Trop a try. Here is another great perk, it's the first or second stop from the airport on the shuttle. So after your flight your there in a jiffy. Try the restaurants upstairs or the cafe while you are there. The Italian restaurant is very good and the calzones at the cafe was made to order. I see no down side to that.

Room Tip: the corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, jc17oh, and your continued support. I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations on this visit. I must agree, the views from the Club Tower elevators are some of the best in the city! (And just wait until the weather warms and you can see the pool and Day Club full of life!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in mid december, a quiet time on the strip it seemed.
The room was large, the bed was extremely comfortable.
It was very quick and easy to get from our room out onto the strip and it was all modern and clean in the hotel.
We had no trouble parking ourselves at all.
We ate once in the hotel and the service was quick, though it was not busy and quite late.
I would certainly reccommend this hotel as well priced and very accessible. The only 2 minor quibbles would be that it is near the end of the strip and we walked a lot, but thats inevitable in vegas I think and that the casino was small and lacking atmosphere.
Definitely a very good hotel though

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole-TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, Christopher B. I am glad you had a great visit and we hope to see you and your wife on your next vacation. --Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#73 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#73 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The New Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a $200 million complete transformation that provides a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip. With a unique South Beach vibe, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. First-class entertainment includes "The New ILLUSIONS" starring Jan Rouven and "Raiding the Rock Vault" in the all-new Tropicana Theater, Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Vegas.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.